We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #54 of 341 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We've just come back from spending 4 nights at the Siddharta - we booked after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. We were very pleased and it turned out to be just as good, if not better, than the reviews had said. We were picked up on time from the fabulous new airport and driven the short distance to the hotel. We were greeted with a welcoming smile by Sona and shown to our rooms. We had two adjoining rooms, one for the kids and one for us. The rooms were large and clean and the beds had quality bedding and mattresses. The hotel arranged a tuk-tuk which was included in the price and Taea, the driver, was a lovely, cheerful man who took us around Siem Reap each day, including being on time for our sunrise departure to Angkor Wat. The breakfast on the rooftop was excellent, Sophie was very friendly and great with the children. We had lots of different fruit, croissants as well as omelette or eggs and bacon. The children loved the pool - as there weren't too many other guests around they had the pool to themselves. A massage was included in the room rate and the massage girls were terrific. We are used to having massages as we live in the Philippines and we can say we thoroughly enjoyed each one..we had kept going back for more! At the end of our stay, Sona was there to say 'goodbye' again with a happy smile. Thank you to everyone at Siddharta - we loved our stay with you.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Gwyndaviesmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    243
    20
    1
    1
See reviews for
275
442
68
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

great new hotel, excellent staff who are always helpful. free tuk-tuk with with best service. the jams they serve for breakfast is homemade (i bought some directly from the hotel to take home). you will not regret your decision to book here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dino2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The stay in Siddhartha was a great experience. When we entered the hotel, we got a friendly and excellent introduction about the location, and how we could explore Angkor. The hotel has 24 rooms and is well maintained and very personal. We traveled with extended family and had two rooms joined together, which was highly appreciated by our daughter (family suite). The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated, and super clean. Each of the rooms has a wonderful sit-out and the Swimming pool was just a delight. The roof top terrace is a beautiful place to have breakfast and we really enjoyed the homemade jams, croissants and cakes in the morning. We liked the idea that the hotel provided opportunities for artists to hang their photographs and admired the well-selected Cambodian collection of art and statues. Oh, we had a great tuk tuk with guide taking us out the whole day and his knowledge about history and Cambodia and his English made our stay just perfect. I hope we come back to Siddhartha very soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandrarothboeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I have travelled extensively in Asia staying at everything from fleabag shacks to five star hotels. The Siddharta is a real gem. It is elegant in its aesthetic: the rooms are bright and attractive. It is in top working order: the showers are strong and hot, the air-con effective, the Wi-Fi fast.. The staff could not be kinder and helpful and the extra's, such as hotel tuk-tuk to see the sites are inspired. Good situation too between the sites and the centre of town, so it is quiet yet convenient. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SearcherafterTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
211 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Angkor Watt is daunting! There are so many temples and magnificent spots to visit and a sense of not wanting to miss anything. Having your own tuk tuk and driver is IDEAL!!!!! We were able to go everywhere by tuk tuk and had our own expert to advise us. We went to some early, some late, some lunchtime, back to some spots for better photo light in late afternoon, exploring the villages around Bantey Srei, to some less visited spots.....wherever and whenever we wanted. We returned when it was hottest to swim and rest at the hotel and then went out again. Our fantastic driver, Panh, helped us maximize our visit and carried ice water for us. The Siddharta Boutique Hotel is perfect. The rooms are comfortable, have good beds, plenty of hot water, great AC, free wifi, and good lighting. The hotel restaurant is on the roof in a very breezy cool spot with nice views and a mac computer for guest use. The breakfasts are very good, the staff is quite helpful, the gardens and plantings create privacy, and there is even a good masseuse. The hotel library had excellent books we read about the history of Cambodia while there, adding to our understanding of this lovely country and its delightful people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank larktrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I was very taken with the Siddarta Hotel in Siem Reap. I was here with extended family, and we paid about $60 US per night per room single occupancy, and about $80 per night double occupancy. So you'd expect a flea pit, right? Or maybe not that bad, but certainly nothing special. How pleasant a surprise then to find a hotel of this quality. We were directed here by the staff at the Pavilion D'Orient when we tried and failed to book our accommodation with them. The two are sister hotels, although PO is meant to be more upmarket, I think. Siddarta is no backpacker's hovel however. They pick you up at the airport in a spacious people mover and bring you to the site, a bit outside the main part of the town and on a short, dusty road surrounded by a few small houses and a decrepit, tumble down structure or two. You walk through the gate and are immediately in a courtyard, with the reception desk in front of you and a lovely seating area to the left of this, all covered with a roof but otherwise open to the elements. Behind this small rooved area is the lovely garden and pool making up the rest of the courtyard, and the rooms, spa and rooftop restaurant are housed in a three storey L-shaped building surrounding two sides of the courtyard. At night this is all prettily lit. So the point I am making is this is a very attractive property, and you immediately have a sense of having made a good choice.

The rooms are big and the decor has some funky style as well as a few touches of local flair. The bathroom is nice, too - everything is in this pink-brown plaster, if I recall. The shower was a problem for two reasons - my shower did not have much hot water, although my family said this was not a problem in their rooms. Also, the drain was inadequate to the task and the water soon flowed out of the wet room style shower area into the main bathroom, where it ran down the drain next to the toilet - so no big flooding issue, but a wet bathroom floor every morning. Outside each room is a semi private seating area overlooking the courtyard, so if you don't mind the heat (and you have on your moz repellent) you can enjoy a minibar drink out there in the evening.

Several times I was woken during the night by a chorus of dog barks from the neighborhood. Once it carried on for a half hour. Obviously this is not the fault of the hotel, but something to note. Sleep quality was affected by the surroundings.

You get your own tuk tuk driver during your stay - ours was able to take us to the pharmacy as well as to restaurants and temples, as one of our party had a bad cold. Most sources say a $5 tip per day for your tuk tuk driver is appropriate.

The restaurant is on the roof terrace so not air conditioned, but very, very pleasant. Breakfast was generous. Coffee was excellent, there were two juices to choose from, there were excellent pastries as well as some Cambodian options, and you can also order any style of eggs. The only issue was we ate too much. Even when we asked for a small serving of eggs, we were brought a large plate. Which of course we then consumed.

The spa was very nice and a massage cost as little as $15 US, but be warned - three of our party felt quite bruised after their massages, so be sure to ask for gentle pressure, and let the masseuse know if they are causing pain. Also, be wary of the head massage, if you are prone to headaches. One of us suffered a sinus headache after a head massage and had to sleep for 12 hours. I think the males of our group did not want to admit to the lady masseuse that she was hurting! It is all about communication. My massage was brilliant and quite gentle - in fact I was happily dozing during some of it. I suggest a tip of between three and five US dollars, depending on how long the treatment was.

Bring lots of small bills of American currency with you to Cambodia. Oh, and sorry to mention this, but remember to use bottled water to brush your teeth, and say no to ice in your drinks. Only common sense.

Our guide was sourced by the hotel and although he was pretty good, and we personally liked him, he rather abandoned us on the final morning of our stay to take another group for the full day, even though we had agreed we would go on a dawn elephant ride the final morning. This was disappointing. The staff was unable to help us find anyone else to take us, which was also disappointing. They did not seem to even understand what we were asking for. Their english was a little spotty.

Generally I suggest a ten dollar tip per day for your guide. We had planned a larger tip for the final morning, but obviously that didn't happen.

In spite of the few glitches, this is a good establishment and you get so much more than you pay for - a four star hotel at 2 star prices. On a previous visit to Siem Reap I stayed in a five star hotel which I will not name here, and it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in, BUT it cost more than ten times what Siddarta charges. Don't expect a flawless experience like that here, but I still recommend it highly for those who need to be a little conscious of what they are spending, eg most of us. The Siddarta deserves to be a success.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beauchamptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I had a great stay here....great help and advise on planning my temple trips. Wonderful landscaping and overall ambience. Nice pool. Car driver and tuk-tuk drier were great. Liked being a bit outside the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trad_Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#43 of 341 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#53 of 341 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#56 of 341 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 341 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siddharta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siddharta Boutique Hotel

Property: Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Address: Jean Commailles Road, Siem Reap 17253, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 341 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Siddharta Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siddharta Boutique HOtel located in the midway between the center of Siem Reap and the Angkor temples, in a quiet and green area, the Siddhartha hotel is warmly welcoming you in an intimate and refined setting. This brand new charming structure, twenty-eight rooms only, while simplicity and elegance meet the colonial and secular Cambodian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Siddharta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing