We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Siem Reap
from $22.00
More Info
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
3
12
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
12
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews angkor thom terrace series tower ruins
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

It’s a interesting place, in many years ago Cambodia have a system to settle people’s case, I learn from my tour guide, very impressed about the history.

Thank cattloverss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018

This is one of those lesser-visited sites in the Angkor Park which may not appear to have much to offer, but which has its own beauty and charm. It's just across from the busy terraces of Angkor Thom but a world away from the guided groups, the coaches and so on. At the ruins of these twelve towers you may possibly find one or two other people ...

Late afternoon is the best time to go to catch the golden light on the stones and the two reflecting pools - a bit low in dry season but just enough water to make for some nice shots.

Who knows the purpose of these towers? Reception halls for visiting dignitaries? Buildings to house those engaged in legal disputes? Homes for concubines? An area for tightrope walking? No one knows - and the answer could easily be something completely different. In the meantime, a rather secretive and magical place ...

Thank j1954g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018

It is a series of twelve towers spanned north to south lining the eastern side of the Royal Square in Angkor Thom. The towers are made from rugged laterite and sandstone. The towers are located right in front of Elephants Terrace and Leper King Terrace, flanking the start of the road leading east to the Victory Gate, on either side of which they are symmetrically arranged. Their function remains unknown. The current tower’s name in Khmer means, the towers of the tight-rope dancers, a romantic name derived from local belief assuming that they were used to support a high wire stretched between them for acrobatics purpose during royal festivals. This belief however, is irrelevant. A historian describes in his records that the towers are used to settle disputes among Angkorian people.

Thank Mehul_Kirit_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

I found this series of 12 towers rather enchanting and walked around them and the lake on the back side for some picnic. They may not be as grand as the rest of the complex, and lying on the other side of the road from Angkor Thom they mostly get neglected but I liked these towers for their landscape and symmetry

Thank Satyabrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017

Wouldn't go out of your way to see them - they are towers rather than temples - although they are close to the Terrace of the Elephants, so you can pop in while you're in the area.

Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

While you're doing the Angkor Thom tour, you can make a quick stop at this temple group. Get some pics and get on your way.

Thank cjschreiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016

鬥象台 (Terrace of the Elephants)對面的就是十二生肖塔(Suar Prat Tower), 都是散落的一些磚造建築.
行了半天, 來到這裡, 已經是午餐時候, , 司機在招手著我們上車. 沒有時間去細看.

Thank pollychu114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016

These are within the Angkor Thom city but aren't much compared to other temples. We didn't have a guide but from what I understood from our driver these 12 structures were bulit to represent the 12 Chinese Zodiac years eg, tiger, ox but according to what I have read since returning home the purpose is not known so I'm not entirely sure that is the case. Still another great piece of history

Thank trinamoore74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2016

Our tour guide took us to Bapuon, then Phimeanakas, the Royal Palace and the Elephant Terrace and Leper King Terrace. These fantastic temples/sites are located in a very close proximety. From the top of the Elephant Terrace you can view the Prasat Suor Prat towers and have a good vantage point to photograph them. I was on a 4 day tour with 36 temples/sites on our schedule so we opted to get our photos from the Elephant Terrace and move on. If you have time you may want to go across the short distance (100-200 yards est.) to view the towers close up.

Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2016 via mobile

We visited here after visiting adjacent Preah Pithu. Nearby are the Khleangs also.

Not that much to see - 12 towers but undecorated.

Thank highburychampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews