We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look past this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #20 of 357 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't look past this one!”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This hotel has been amazing. We only stayed two nights and wish we had more time to enjoy the relaxing beauty of the place. On arrival we were greeted with warm smiles and great service. Our room was available straight away and the decorations on the bed (done with flower petals) were amazing. The rooms are a nice size and have everything you need. My only gripe is the design of the bathrooms (the water from the shower ends up wetting the whole bathroom floor and makes quite a mess) but this is minor when considering the effort this hotel goes to.

We were welcomed with a complimentary drink and some snacks. We then booked in for a complimentary 1 hr massage each at the hotel spa. On arrival to the pool area for a swim we were brought a complimentary light lunch (don't know if this is standard but it was delicious!)

The pool area is worth some time. It's well laid out and the decor generally around the hotel is excellent and very modern. The tiles around the pool can be a little slippery so watch your step. The staff here are always willing to help out. If anything they are just too eager to please ... but this can't be a bad thing. They have made our stay very enjoyable. Make use of the restaurant for dinners too if you don't want to venture out. The food is good and very reasonably priced. Internet access is easy with free wi-fi and 8 computers set up in the reception area.

We booked this hotel after reading others reviews on this site and we sure are happy we did. An excellent choice when staying in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TankHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,207
    356
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
608
1,884
267
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I had picked our hotel on Agoda.com because it was relatively cheap ($45) and had received great reviews (rare). We were bowled over when we arrived. First there was a great drink and sticky rice (they called it cake) steamed in banana leaves. Then after a long day at the temples (we left the hotel at 5AM to catch the sunrise at Angkor Wat), we were relaxing by the pool (stunning area) and the staff wanted to know if we’d like to try some Cambodian food. They then proceeded to bring us a huge meal to eat (vegetarian, for me) all complimentary. Oh, and they also included 2 massages to relax our tired muscles. Our room was amazing, too. The bed was covered in this intricate flower design (I originally thought it was a pattern on the duvet, but it was actually real flowers). So we can’t say enough about the Golden Temple Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleentom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed at the Golden Temple Hotel for three days and we had a truly memorable and enjoyable experience. We arrived in Siem Reap by the Mekong Express bus from Phnom Penh and the tuk-tuk driver sent by the hotel was there promptly to pick us up. When we reached the hotel we were greeted by the staff, who was very friendly and helpful. The welcome drink is particularly refreshing and the khmer cake with the sugared peanuts were a good combination. We were offered a complimentary massage, which was an excellent addition to our trip, and a chance to try out the Khmer massage. The staff also recommends the different sightseeing options that can be done given the number of days you stay at Siem Reap which is extremely nice on their part. The rooms were very well done (although, the orange maybe a bit of an overdose - it overall fits well with the theme). All the rooms overlook the pool. The interiors are very Angkor carving/sculpture theme, which adds on to the whole experience. The icing on the cake is that the location of the hotel is perfect to walk down to the famous Pub Street and the Night Market. Also it is only about 20-25 minutes to the main Angkor attractions by tuk tuk. Great value for money is just another aspect combined with great service! Two things about the service which i found particularly impressive - 1. We had a flight at 7:50 am and we were getting a bit late to go down, so we got a call from the reception to make sure we are up and getting ready to leave to the airport. 2. We just got an email from them, thanking us for staying there, making us feel nicer about the whole experience! Thank you Golden Temple Hotel for this very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelluster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

The hotel is ideally situated with just five mins walk to the old market. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. They even provide DVDs of the history of Angkor - a good supplement for those who wish to know more.
And the staff is excellent. They know you by name; goes out of their way to sort things out for you when things go wrong. There is always a smile on their faces...

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This place is amazing in terms of its staff, service and decor. The best things about it are the staff are here to help you with everything and anything. In fact I am sad to leave the place. They helped teach me Khmer language and gave me a great insight into local life.

The pool, restaurant, reception areas are incredibly beautful and should be featured in an interior design magazine.

The complementary massage, arrival drink, snacks and endless cups of tea really make this place extra special.

Thank you to Leahkanah, Tavi, Katna, Nary, Vichair, Leah and Kim San for their personal approachable and professional service.
These guys ROCK.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyManwaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed at the Golden Temple for four nights in January 2011. The hotel staff's service was unsurpassed by any other hotel I have stayed at - they go out of their way to make you feel looked after. The hotel is very new, neat, clean and tidy, and it is located very close to the river, market and pub street - everything is within a 5 minute walk. The two biggest negatives were: 1.) the tiles around the pool are very slippery when wet and a number of people slipped and feel; 2.) the staff was unable to tell me how much an international call to Canada was - but it turned out the cost was only $0.20 / minute. Overall, I would gladly stay at the hotel again, and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarfieldGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This was our first time visiting Cambodia, and we weren't sure what to expect, but we were blown away by the friendliness and smiles of the Khmer staff and the general level of service we received. The hotel's tuk tuk driver met us at the airport with a sign, a big smile and two bottles of water, and it just got better from there. Our welcome was warm - free drinks, fruit, cool towels and an impromptu Khmer lesson - our room was comfortable and spacious, and the restaurant was consistently delicious. The free wifi was great - other hotels could learn a thing or two from Golden Temple.

The hotel is in great location - just a five minute stroll to town centre, with two wats (Wat Bo and Wat Damnak) in walking distance. If you're heading further, the hotel can organise transport and tour guides, or you can wave down one of the many drivers on the street.

We recommended two improvements to the hotel: improve the temperature and pressure of the shower, and install fans in the room (a better alternative to the air con when it's not too hot). That said, we would stay here again whether these changes were made or not :-)

A few tips:
1. Street noise is hard to avoid in Siem Reap, and if it's a concern for you, ask for a room further back in the building.
2. The Khmer cooking class was a lot of fun, and Nary was an excellent teacher.
3. Take up the offer of a free massage - much needed after a long day at the temples.
4. Tour, guide and driver costs can be added to your room bill, but meals and drinks, massage and the cooking class must be paid for at the time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topsie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 357 in Siem Reap
1,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 357 in Siem Reap
5,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#3 of 357 in Siem Reap
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Property: Golden Temple Hotel
Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 357 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing