We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff and service are unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #23 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel because of other reviews on this web site. The service and staff are unbelievable. Some 5 star hotels should learn from them. You are greeted with fresh cloths, tea and warm smiles. When you are at the pool you are brought fruit, peanuts and more tea. People take the time to talk with you. They are very accommodating and make planning the trip to Anghar What easy. The prices are very reasonable for their food (at least in the old menu) and their massages. When something happens they take it personally. We mentioned in passing once we had a cricket in our room and it was like it was there fault and we had so many apologies. I felt bad saying anything. The resort is a little tired in places but it is really clean and very relaxing. I heard the cooking class was good. Our tuk tuk driver was so funny. It was like we were in the Amazing Race with him. We ate most of our meals at this resort but did get to Haven in the city. It is number one and has an interesting story. Make sure you book early. The place is packed and the food is top notch. If I was returning to Siem Reap I would definitely stay here again mainly for the people and the proximity to the main town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool and higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripPlanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,763 - 1,769 of 3,790 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Its like being at home surrounded by friends. The staff are amazing, professional, fun, caring and open if you talk to them you will hear all about their lives in Cambodia and their dreams for the future. The hotel is about 30 mins from the airport, we were picked up from the airport by our amazing tuk tuk driver. I am very sorry I have forgotten his name but I have added his photo so you can find him as he only works for the Golden Temple Hotel. The most honest tuk tuk driver we have had in Asia. Once we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a drink, some banana snacks, and taken to our room and shown the facilities. The pool is excellent as are the gardens around the pool The restaurant was being upgraded while we were there so much of the menu was unavailable so I will not comment on the food. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk for Bar street and the markets. The computers in the front area are good for downloading your photos and every time we sat down we were given banana chips and cold tea. The decor is lovely and upon departure we were given a t-shirt and scarf and we had our photos taken with the staff. These photos were later sent to us with a note saying they hoped we enjoyed our stay. The bed was a tiny bit hard but overall it was a great stay.

Room Tip: The room in the corner closest to the restaurant on the ground floor is very private as it has its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nglenjarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the friendliest places at which I have ever stayed. The staff are not only friendly, but are fun, happy people and it makes for a great atmosphere in the hotel. We had a couple of spa treatments here which were all very good and I particularly enjoyed the 2-hour cooking course that we also took. All very well priced and all very enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank snakelocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Everything was more than I could have expected, all the little personal touches and the way the staff make you feel like you are part of their family without overcrowding you. So helpful, caring and kind. The tours and tuk tuk drivers were very professional. Thank you making our stay an unforgettable experience. Fantastic value for money.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Laurenstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Beautiful oasis of friendly staff, good food and refreshing pool. Free massage, lunches, breakfast make this the perfect stay for Angkor Wat treks. We were never overcharged and the staff was nothing but helpful. They never failed to accommodate us, the epitome of hospitality. We don't plan of coming back to Cambodia soon but this place was a great value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed at the Golden Temple from 9-13 April. Airport pick up arranged by the hotel- very appreciated. Arrived at the hotel and initially felt like we were bombarded with arrangements for our dinner, tours, massages etc etc. But later appreciated the 'arrangements' had all been taken care off. The hotel is in a perfect location - walking distance to the old market, night market, Pub Street etc. There is a lovely pool area for relaxing after a long day at the temples. It would be good to have a few more deckchairs - as sometimes there was not enough seating around the pool area. The dinner at the hotel was lovely, as were the poolside food and drinks. For me however, the strength of this hotel is their STAFF. They are lovely. Nothing is too much trouble. They take the time to get to know your name and try and remember it. They take an interest in what you have planned, what you are trying to do - and always want to try and help make things less stressful. Everything is done with a smile. I think that the staff overshadow any little 'niggles' people may have with the hotel - and make the stay worthwhile. Would I go back? Yes - without a shadow of a doubt.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The first impression is deceiving: this boutique hotel is located on a dusty noisy street next to a hostel and across the street from a private home construction site (which is hopefully temporary). But once you walk inside, you are transported into a magical world. Beautiful artwork scattered on the grounds and along hallways, sensitively lit at night. A lush green courtyard with scattered seating and lounges surrounds a lovely pool and whirlpool, cordoned off the street with trees and a waterfall. The room was spacious, furnished in the local style that gave it a sense of uniqueness and quirkiness. Some rooms have balconies with a view of the pool but may be noisy, I was first disappointed with my balcony facing a (decorated) back wall of the hostel but learned quickly to appreciate how quiet the room was. A reasonably good massage, an excellent dinner in the restaurant overlooking the pool, and a decent (although not spectacular) breakfast. Computers with free Internet access are located in the lovely decorated lobby area. It's an easy 5-10 min walk to town center and various markets, or a pleasant walk along the river with a new complex of nice-looking restaurants and cafes at the corner. But the absolute highlight is the service and attention to guests. The moment you set foot on the waterlilly-filled path from the street, you are welcomed by staff with a cold towel, a refreshing cup of tea and a genuine interest in your daily adventures. Staff is still learning about western-style top amenities but they are eager to learn and this is more than offset by the personalized attention. I felt like a princess, pampered to the utmost.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#9 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#4 of 374 in Siem Reap
417 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
2 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#31 of 374 in Siem Reap
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $68 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing