We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #22 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 in 2 rooms for 3 nights. The staff were exceptional always helpful every time we walked in we were greeted with a cold towel and "how was our day". We felt like part of a family from a great massage to a cooking class and drinks by the pool they catered well. The location is also great just a short walk or tuk tuk to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back on the upper floors. Front rooms were a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,269 - 2,275 of 3,748 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a wonderful four-day stay at the Golden Temple! There are many nice things to say about this place, and only one negative (which can easily be avoided with a little advance planning).

First, the positives:
(1) Friendly staff. The staff were attentive to our needs and they helped whenever they could. They were always courteous and warm. When we wanted a different room to reduce noise from the surrounding buildings, the staff did their best to accommodate us, even though they were heavily booked.
(2) The tours. The hotel provides a list of tour options with guides and transportation. We did the Small Tour in a car with a guide for the first day, and the Grand Tour in a car with guide for the second day. Both were great days. But for our third day we wanted to visit temples further out. So they arranged for us to visit Koh Ker and Bang Balea. This was our favorite day! There were few crowds and the temples were beautiful. On our forth day, they secured a car and driver for us to visit a few places nearer to town. We enjoyed all of the guides, but were most pleased with Johnny Roth John.
(3) The rooms. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The bathrooms are not luxurious, but they are pleasant, clean and functional. The rooms are decorated beautifully and they include free wi-fi. The beds are Asian style (hard), but the staff provide extra cushion-tops upon request.
(4) The meals. Without question, the Khmer food here was the best food we had in Cambodia, Thailand and Nepal. It was DELICIOUS. Even the pizza was great! The breakfast food was plentiful and tasty.
(5) The pool. A month has passed, and we are still talking about that pool every few days. We loved it! It is large, and it is surrounded by comfortable seating and pavilions. The water is cool at first, but after a hot day at the temples, it hits the spot! We could not get enough of the pool.

Now the only negative:
Like most hotels in Siem Reap, this one is close to the street. It is also right next door to a hostel. So there was significant noise on Christmas night, and we could easily hear traffic noise night and day. BUT, you can avoid the noise issue completely by booking the right room. We stayed in a twin room that was not overlooking the pool... this was a noisy room. We stayed in a double room that overlooked the pool... this was a quiet room. So if noise is an issue for you, be sure to book a pool-view room.

Overall, we loved our stay at the Golden Temple. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Choose a pool-view room for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My sister and I stumbled on this gem of a hotel on our first visit to Siem Reap. We were overwhelmed by the amazing service we received. From our check in (cool towels, traditional snacks, tea and iced drink), free massage, a number of included services and the friendly staff. Nothing was too much for any of the staff. Their priority was always to ensure our comfort and that we had an enjoyable stay. The girls at reception always greeted us by name on return from our days out. They even went out of their way to help us organize our onward journey doubling as travel agent/translator. We are sad to be leaving and highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isabela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our group decided to stay here on our first visit to Siem Reap. We had a pleasant stay at this hotel and were happy with our choice. The location is great, as it is only a few minutes walking distance from pub street with a wide variety of restaurants, bars, shops and cafes. It is a busy place as it is a popular place, so if you're looking for seclusion this probably isn't the place for you, but since we were a group of 4 girls that keep busy this place was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

After climbing all over the temples, we still managed to walk just a two blocks to the Old Market and Night Market. This location is so convenient. The staff was wonderful. A cool cloth when we arrived from a tour. We stayed three days so we got a free dinner and massage(they were wonderful). We did additional massages which only cost $7.

There was a dvd player connected with the TV. They had a disk about the whole Angkor area. We really enjoyed watching the program.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool which was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at the hotel. Am all praises for this particular hotel, from round trip airport transfer in an air con Toyota Camry, cold towels and cold tea whenever you enter the hotel, welcome drink made of tamarind fruit along with a tray of salted peanuts and local sticky rice with jackfruit, each of us getting a free Khmer traditional massage for an hour, free picnic snack on a long day tour and dinner on local Khmer foods from two types of appetizers, soup, Amok fish, curries, and two kinds of desserts. Please note that all of the above were given FREE.
Aside from being polite and courteous from the bellman to the manager, what impress me most was when we came back from a temple tour and our flight was still at 10pm, we were given a vacant room where we were able to freshen up and had a shower. The hotel with the Best Service I have ever stayed in!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over New Years and had the most wonderful time. As all reviews have mentioned, the staff are the friendliest and welcoming we have ever come across. The "extras" are a lovely gesture and I loved the free Khmer massage treatment that was offered. The pool area is very nice although the sun does leave the area at approximately 3pm. We had food by the pool on two occasions and it was delicious. Free wifi was a bonus and the location was perfect only a very short stroll to pub street. The staff were also very helpful in creating an itinerary for us to see the temples and arranged a tuk-tuk for us for the day. Our room was quite spacious and nicely decorated however in future I would ask for a pool side room as our room was facing the wall of the youth hostel with the building site to the right. Not the best of views and it was noisy during the day time. We had our laundry done and it was very cheap and returned to us the same day. Wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aoifedebeefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#11 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#4 of 365 in Siem Reap
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#36 of 365 in Siem Reap
5,363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $69 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing