We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if in siem reap the golden temple is a must”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #23 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great hotel, great location, great staff. The hotel is in a cracking spot just away from the main road but close enough to travel around. A major bonus is the hotel can provide tours to all the local attractions at a very reasonable price. I would highly recommend the ankor tour.

The hotel has a lovely restaurant and will provide an excellent base for your cambodian adventure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewish20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,442 - 2,448 of 3,785 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Golden Temple for six nights. We booked a relatively long stay both to recover from our flights from North American and to serve as a home base for visiting the temples at Angkor. We picked this particular hotel on the basis of its good reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed! We were met as promised upon our arrival at the airport and transported the relatively short distance to the hotel via a tuk tuk. We were warmly greeted at the hotel and served fresh juice while we were registered. Our room was quite nice and very quiet. After the first night, we were moved (as previously arranged) to a poolside room on the first level. It was a wonderful location, especially after trekking at Angkor during the day. We were able to return to our the room, change to our bathing suits, go for a refreshing swim, and then order drinks and snacks which were delivered to our private patio overlooking the pool. The service in both the restaurant and at the front desk was exceptional and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Overall, we had a very pleasant 6-day stay at the Golden Temple.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muntz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The only semi bad thing I can say about this hotel is that our room was $70. On our backpacker's budget (and since we were traveling for 2.5 months), this was a lot for us. Even so, this place was totally worth it! We just got in from 40 hours of flights and layovers and this was exactly what we needed for our first couple of days in SE Asia.

If you book two nights or more directly with the hotel, you get:

- Free airport pickup and drop off

- Welcome drinks served to you the minute you arrive

- Free one hour massage

- An enourmous free breakfast every morning (get the pineapple pancake!)

- One free dinner or lunch in the restaurant

- One free to go lunch (although the rest of their food was very good, this was pretty skimpy and strange)

In addition to all the free stuff, the food, drinks, and spa are all really cheap. I think a two hour massage was $9! The staff is always ready to help you in any way possible. You sit down at the pool and a minute later someone is bringing you complimentary tea and toasted peanuts. All around great service.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We loved the golden temple the staff are wonderful!!!! The hotel is paradise and the massages were awesome. This hotel makes me want to return to Siem Reap!! They organized out tours through ankor wat and made sure all our needs were met. My husband and I travel often and this by far was our favourite hotel. Thanks golden temple!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great hotel. lots of freebies like a free complimentary massage, meal, etc.
There's enough reviews already so i don't need to go into the details.
I was happy with my stay in every way here. I highly recommend this place!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank booyah27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is 5 star quailty, the rooms are beautifully decorated as is the rest of the hotel. The hotel is spotless clean the food was great. The pool is amazing especially after a hot day visting the temples. I had an amazing massage by a very professional team at the spa.The location could not be any better, walking distance to the centre of the town were all the action happens .But what really makes this hotel is the staff.They are very friendly and polite and could not do enough for you. I have no problem recommending this hotel.Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holycowperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Golden Temple Hotel certainly lived up to its good reviews. I had booked for 4 nights at the beginning of October for another couple (with whom we had already spent 2 weeks travelling through Laos) as well for as for my husband and myself. My friend's comment was : "Well, you've outdone yourself this time!"
The beauty of the foyer and reception area just hits you as you first walk in. It is so colourful and so beautifully decorated with Khmer artefacts and furnishings. The staff are very welcoming and attentive to your every need. All staff members, not just those at reception, greet you whenever you pass them. If you sit at one of the computers in the lobby area or on one of the chairs around the pool, a staff member brings you a pot of tea and a plate of peanuts or cashews.

We enjoyed all the freebies: complimentary massage, Khmer bbq meal at the restaurant and picnic lunch. We also had a free airport pick-up.

Our room overlooking the pool was beautifully furnished and decorated and had a wonderful view. The only thing we didn't much like was the shower placement which made the bathroom floor wet, but that is very common in SE Asia and so not a great surprise. We really appreciated the 2 dvds that were for our use in the room: a history of Angkor Wat (which we found helpful to view before we went out there the following day) and the movie The Killing Fields which we watched before going to Phnom Penh and seeing the jail and killing fields there. That movie was a must-see for anyone travelling in Cambodia. (We also bought the book First They Killed My Father from one of the disabled street sellers. This is definitely a must-read book for anyone's stay in Cambodia.)

Anyway, back to the hotel - the breakfast was delicious and enormous - too much really. We couldn't believe that the cost of doing the laundry was the same cost as it was in the laundry places out on the street: $1 a kilo - cheapest hotel laundry price I've ever come across.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this hotel. Staff at Reception made several phone calls on our behalf and also booked our bus to Phnom Penh. The website of the bus company, Giant Ibis, said the cost was $13 but Golden Temple only charged us $12.

We think the staff at this hotel work very hard to please their guests and so they really earn their high rating. We certainly recommend it to everyone and we will certainly go back there if we return to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathyosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#9 of 373 in Siem Reap
1,713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#4 of 373 in Siem Reap
413 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
2 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#31 of 373 in Siem Reap
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $68 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing