We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #20 of 357 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I were only in Siem reap for a couple of days and it was a real shame, not only did we love Cambodia, but golden temple was a fantastic hotel. Beautiful room, great staff, great restaurant, great pool, great atmosphere, great location (not too close to the main drag, but still walking distance).

One night there was some really loud music coming from a neighbour (a one off party, so don't be put off by this), the next morning the hotel apologised, even though it was not their fault. Would stay here again in a second. Also heard it is owned/run by Cambodians, so if you like to support the locals it's also good.

Room Tip: We had a poolside room, great for pool access, but not so good for privacy. The rooms did have a sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,207
    356
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
608
1,884
267
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2nights in septembre 2012.
The staff was very friendly.tuk tuk driver(Shphal)was great.
They provided us so many extras!
welcome drink,airport pick-up,lunch or diner at restaurant,relaxing massage,sunrise breakfast,picnic lunch was included.
The room is charming,Location is good.5min walk away from the old market area.

I loved the poolside where time goes slow.
I'll never forgot the sunrise tour of Angkor wat.
Everithing is amazing! I would definitely back here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

What stands out most in my mind regarding our stay at the Golden Temple Hotel is the outstanding service provided by the staff, from the front desk to the restaurant to the massage parlor and even the tuk-tuk drivers they use. I run a place in a developing country as well, and I understand the challenges involved with training local staff to meet the needs of a well-traveled "Western" clientele. The Cambodian people are very kind and accommodating, and this was reflected here in the hotel in the staff's professionalism and service (a special thanks to our concierge, Vicheth). In addition, I found the facilites and accommodations to be impeccable. Great attention to detail at the Golden Temple Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laislita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We loved the Golden Temple. The kids were thrilled with the pool, especially being brought pots of tea and peanuts while they lay in the sunshine and swam under the waterfall. The gorgeous staff greet you with a delicious lemon ice and cold towels and are happy to look after your every request. Fabulous rooms with balcony to read & relax or stay inside with air con. Best massage experience at spa! Quick walk or tuk tuk ride to central Siem Reap. Love Golden Temple and would recommend highly.

Room Tip: I wouldn't go for the poolside rooms, a bit too close for comfort if you're wanting to relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaBrigitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel was fine, overall. We stayed in July and were unfortunate enough to coincide with the caterwauling "music" being played from the temple next door (at 5am!). Nothing the hotel could do, but they probably did have a say in getting this cut short- we were worried it would last for days but it was all over in 36h.

Lovely entrance area, well-kept and scenic. Nice touch having the free computers- not always provided in hotels so a welcome addition. Room was quite well appointed (not to my partner's taste but I thought it was fine!) and balcony had quite a nice view. Slight lack of privacy though- certainly wouldn't want to be on the ground floor. Check-in guy was quite overenthusiastic ("this is a balcony"... er... thanks) which was fine but a bit trying after 20-odd minutes. Restaurant and cleaning staff all lovely. Restaurant also has really good western food at not much more than you pay at the backpacker restaurants in town (didn't really like the Khmer options though) and cheap beers. Hotel always lovely and clean- a major positive.

It's four points rather than five though, for a few reasons. Reception staff weren't always especially helpful, although the little photo session on check out raised my esteem of them. Poor soundproofing- waking at 5am etc. not good. Bathroom wasn't very nice- problem with shower wetting the toilet through as mentioned in reviews before. But overall we had a good stay, even if it wasn't entirely to our taste.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aemwwlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012 as part of our honeymoon as a base for the temples. On arrival got the most delicious ice lemon tea welcome drink, cool towels and rice snacks. We were given vouchers for an hour free massage each, a free takeaway breakfast for our early start at the temples and a free packed lunch for the temples. Also another lunch or dinner each.l at the restaurant. This was delicious and an enormous feed. Our room wasn't ready yet as we were early so we grabbed sunbeds by the pool. Pool area is beautiful and we were given free tea, nuts and pineapple whilst lying by the pool on each occasion. When shown to our room we waited a while for our bags to arrive which they didn't so my husband went down to get them. Nobody even noticed they were gone. Minor mishap in the grand scheme of things. One day we stupidly left the room with the safe unlocked with all our money in it returned and house keeping had been in and it wasn't touched. The rooms are very spacious and bathroom is lovely. Others mention the shower curtain being an issue I didn't find this at all it was spotless and spacious. The room was lovely and cool even when returning from
Being out and air con hadn't been on. The food in the restaurant is yummy especially the Khmer curry and everything reasonably priced. Breakfast however was very disappointing no buffet at all just a menu and only bread with a couple of the choices and no toast. It's nice at breakfast to have orange juice and toast at least to select at your leisure. The location is great very central. Yes the street outside is dark and dingy but only for a short time. Before this we stayed in an expensive upper class hotel and it was way out so was nice to have the option to walk 10 mins or get a $1 tuk tuk to the centre. When we checked we were given a free tshirt each an they took our photo which they then emailed to us. Service excellent, all the surprises and extras you get really set this place apart. It is excellent value for money and only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because it is not a 5 star place the price tells you that. But the service is 5 star !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downtoearthcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We actually stayed here in april 2011, but I have never got round to review it, but it definitely deserves one.
Everything about this hotel was just amazing. We had a lovely warm reception from the staff with a complimentary hot towel and drink. Our room was beautiful - the decor was second to none, very large and clean and it was a nice extra to have a dvd about Angkor Wat in our room to watch. The bathroom was so elegant and also very clean.
The pool was great - the setting again was amazing and traquil and it was never busy. We received complimentary massages which we booked at a time convenient to us. The food was brilliant - the presentation of breakfast was superb. Free internet access 24/7. And we were sent on our way with bottles of water and t-shirts :)
It was easy walking distance from the town where there was great entertainment and cheap food and drink.
I would definitely recommend the sunrise tour of Angkor Wat - it's an experience we'll never forget.
I really cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room with balcony overlooking the pool - can't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collert_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 357 in Siem Reap
1,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 357 in Siem Reap
5,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#3 of 357 in Siem Reap
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Property: Golden Temple Hotel
Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 357 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing