We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here before the temples!”

Angkor National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.00*
and up
Siem Reap City Tour Including Apsara Dance Performance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Private City Tour in Siem Reap
Ranked #23 of 180 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go here before the temples!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I toured this museum after having been to the temples and would recommend going here first if you're interested in history at all. The exhibits are packed with all kinds of detailed information, I especially loved the stories written out about the figures represented in carvings and sculptures! Had I gone here first, I think I would have gotten a lot more out of the temple tour but this was great to reinforce what I saw/learned there. No pictures allowed, though, which was a little disappointing since the pieces on display were so much more intact than the ones at the temples.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mollyk265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,100
    845
    308
    58
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Important”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went after spending a day visiting the temples and realised we had missed some key parts of Angkor - suggest you visit here before the temples. We luckily had time to go for another day to see everything we'd missed. The building itself is fabulous and the items on display are memorising. Spend time reading the translations of the gate pillars - they tell a story in themselves..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Should See This First”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We saw it last because we had a morning to fill before our flight but should have seen it first.

One of the most useful and well laid out museums I've seen. It logically takes one through the history and provides a good overview and perspective to the history of the area and ruins.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“An important collection, but the best items are in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

An interesting museum which helps as an interpretation centre for the temples in the area, but slightly disappointing in that the more important curated artefacts are in the museum in Phnom Penh. Nevertheless, plenty to do here. The graphics and visuals are very helpful and the room full of Buddhas is the most impressive. And the building is certainly attractive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndrewS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My visit to the museum was a wonderful experience and is a" must do" before visiting the Angcor temples. Not only is the building itself worthy of praise but the items on display are riveting. Special mention must be made of the screening facilities.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank matgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor National Museum also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing