We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING GUESTHOUSE, I CANT WAIT TO COME BACK!!!”
Review of Sam So Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sam So Guesthouse
Ranked #66 of 516 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Everyone is so friendly at this guesthouse. They are truly like a family that make me feel so welcome and a part of it. I will never look for another guesthouse in Siem Reap because there is no need. Sam So and the employees take care of all possible needs. If any problems arise, he is quick to take care of it and make you feel as comfortable as possible.

I miss Sam So and the guesthouse dearly.

There is delicious free breakfast every day, laundry service, comfy beds, beautiful rooms, the sweetest employees, and the cutest children. What more can you want?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 342 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed every bit of it. We were welcomed by Sam So himself and his warm and friendly nature showed in all of his staff. Sam and his wife was always ready to help us with anything we needed.
The guesthouse was only a short walk from all the markets and siem reap's famous "pub street".

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maybecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Ive used trip advisor heaps in the past, but this is my first review as i was compelled to pass on how great this place is. Sam is the best. Book in through his website. Let us overstay on our room as we had a late bus, and generally left us with a very good impression.




  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fromcecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

It is not easy to travel with a group of 12 people, but arranging the travel is so much easier when your guesthouse communicates well with you and helps you in your travels. Sam So Guesthouse was such a big help in arranging our complicated travel arrangements. They were even able to pick up one member of our group coming from the bus station even when I only informed them in the last minute! We arrived very late at the airport, but their driver was still very friendly. The admin is very reliable, and are very sensitive of the guests' needs. You'd feel like you have a family to stay with at Siem Reap! I recommend this guesthouse to those who go to Siem Reap, and they recommend it likewise. We took the nonAC rooms at a very good cost. They also got us a cheap bus arrangement to Sihanoukville which could have costed us a lot more if we didn't have Sam So's help. It is very near Angkor Wat, the airport, and souvenir market giving it a very ideal location. This guesthouse would really make your Siem Reap tour more convenient!

Room Tip: The weather is usually very hot in Siem Reap, so better to just choose AC rooms, if you are not in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karislee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Sam So Guesthouse is the friendliest hostel I've ever stayed at. Sam So and his wife are extremely helpful and friendly. Sam So has a pick up service and he even came to get me at the bus when I arrived at 6 in the morning. They have a couple of Tuk tuks wich they rent out for 15 USD a day, which is very convinient. Also they know what to see and visit in the region which is very helpful if you yourself are a bit lost. The rooms are very compfortable and have AC and WiFi. If you go to Siem Reap I highly recomend you live here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanOttosson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a small, family run guesthouse on a quiet cul-de-sac in the middle of SR, about 1.5 km from Pub Street. The rooms are clean and in my room at least everything worked: the lights, water heater, fan and TV. But more to the point, if something doesn't work, the owners are quick to have the problem fixed! The price is cheap, the value is excellent. And the best thing about this guesthouse are the owners, Sam So and his wife Theavy. They are friendly, helpful, and have information about every aspect of travel in Cambodia.

One last thing: the new house next door is 99% complete so construction noise should not be an issue in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxjimOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Sam So for one night and received amazing service from the family who went out of their way to make us feel welcome, provided us with good information about the area, and gave a very good deal with their tuk tuk driver. Breakfast, wifi and bottles of water were included in the price which was great. Our room was very good for the price we payed, and we did not notice any noise from the construction site from our side of the guesthouse! We had aircon and very comfortable beds. Wish we could have stayed longer and will be recommending Sam So to others for their stay in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Sam So Boutique Villa
Sam So Boutique Villa
#59 of 516 in Siem Reap
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#15 of 516 in Siem Reap
496 reviews
1 mi away
Sawasdee Angkor Villa
Sawasdee Angkor Villa
#149 of 516 in Siem Reap
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Community Home Stay
Community Home Stay
#53 of 516 in Siem Reap
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#16 of 516 in Siem Reap
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam So Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam So Guesthouse

Address: Wat Bo Rd #0164, Wat Bo village, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 516 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $12 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam So Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam So Guesthouse is located in the center of Siem Reap city, Cambodia. It is a very nice place to stay, great atmosphere. Located about 15 minutes from Siem Reap International Airport, Sam So Guesthouse is about a 10-minute walk to the Old Market, the Night Market and Pub Street, as well as a scenic 10-minute drive to the world famous Angkor Wat. It has 19 rooms. Every room has private bathroom (with hot water), mini-fridge, cable TV, and free Internet service (with a wireless connection) and free pick-up from airport, bus station and pier. Free Breakfast with tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sam So Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing