We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Horizons Cambodia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horizons Cambodia
Ranked #29 of 508 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We are volunteers and have stayed at Horizons for the last 8 months after originally planning to stay for one month and then get a flat. The rooms are well maintained, spacious and clean. The beds are really comfy and have proper cotton sheets. It's a 5 minute walk to the town centre but is on a quiet street which is excellent when you are working. What really makes the place special is the staff who are lovely and make it feel like a home and not a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozmaclassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonscambodia, Manager at Horizons Cambodia, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Will & Shiona,

Thank you for your kind words. We are always delighted to read when our guests have had a memorable experience at Horizons. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to Horizons.
See you soon again !!!

Kind regards
Chanthou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 196 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked the budget queen room.  There was no glass in the window only a screen and wooden shutters. The room was very noisy in the morning because of a nearby school. The air conditioner worked but to limited effect with the open window.  The staff told us that none of the rooms in that building have windows and all the other rooms were full  (On a Thursday) but we could upgrade to the deluxe balcony room for double the price. We had booked 4 nights on agoda and were worried about loosing our money. We managed to talk them down a little and include breakfast ($3.50 a person).  No complaints with the new room but on Friday they told us that there was only one other room booked that night because it's the beginning of low season.
We used the hotel manager as a guide for two half days at the temples and he had agreed that he would just charge us for one full day but we didn't get it in writing and wound up paying $15 more than we thought we would.
We used the hotel to book a night bus to Sihanoukville but there was a "misunderstanding" between the staff so we had to stay an extra night and take a morning bus.
We were nickel-and-dimed around every corner. 
On the upside: breakfast was good, when we did the sunrise temple tour they made sure to put fruit with yogurt and musilie in the fridge so we could have breakfast at 5:30am.  The staff was pleasant but not typically helpful.  

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonscambodia, Manager at Horizons Cambodia, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Eric,

Very sorry that you fell our guest house did not meet your expectations .

We will take all of your comments on board to try to improve for the future.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This small guest house is a Khmer family run business that makes you feel part of their family. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, with ac and ceiling fans. Many of the guests are long term volunteers working at local NGO's, which gives an added sense of comraderie between guests. (My only negative comment would be that they could use some new bath towels). I've already booked my room for next year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonscambodia, Manager at Horizons Cambodia, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Sue
Thank you for your review of our guesthouse. We look forward to your visit next year

Thank you

Chanthou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

October 2012, I stayed 4 nights here and had a fantastic stay. The staff where great with my own tuk tuk driver. Breakfast was always plenty and only a short walk to town for everything else. My trips to Angkor Wat where fantastic and all tours etc made possible by friendly staff. Also puchased some very nice paintings from Hotel at a fantastic price. They promote a local Artist and the work is good so buy up and enjoy.

Room Tip: rooms have names not numbers and I was up top out the back and it was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonscambodia, Manager at Horizons Cambodia, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Graeme

Thank you for your review of our guesthouse. We were pleased to have to you stay with us and hopefully you will visit again in future.

Thank you
Chanthou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This small guest house is run by a Cambodian family. They are very helpful and friendly.
It has a great location, near the River and is in a quiet street. There are a lot of volunteers staying for extended periods here so a good place to meet people.

Room Tip: There is a pool and small fitness centre at hotel next door which you have to ay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonscambodia, Manager at Horizons Cambodia, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Barbara

Thank you for your review of our guesthouse. We were very pleased to have you stay with us. We look forward to your visits in future.

Thank you
Chanthou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Horizons was highly recommended by a friend, who had nothing but great things to say about this place. She raved on about the clean rooms, awesome value for money, excellent service and great convenient location. What else could I ask for? You know what, not much at all. It was everything she said it would be and more!

This place has not only lived up to my expectations but exceeded it. I've never felt so at home, welcomed and comfortable staying at a hotel, as I have here. It's really a home away from home and my stay here has cemented my feeling for Siem Reap - I love it here! and I'll be back (oh and staying here at Horizons!). Thanks to Chanthou and Socheata for the great experience! I'm going back to work super relaxed and loving life again haha!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonscambodia, Manager at Horizons Cambodia, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Paul

Thank you for your review of our guesthouse. We enjoyed having you to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you visiting us in future.

Thank you
Chanthou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in late January for 6 nights. Very friendly and helpful staff who made every effort to help. The hotel is ideally suited for getting about in Siem Reap. I hired a bike which made it even better. There is access to the swimming pool at the adjacent hotel
My room was spacious, clean and tidy with a good sized bathroom. There was also a mini bar with well priced drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABA6535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonscambodia, Manager at Horizons Cambodia, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review of our guesthouse. We are glad we met your expectation and enjoyed your visit to Siem Reap. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.

Thank you
Chanthou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#91 of 361 in Siem Reap
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#11 of 508 in Siem Reap
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#14 of 508 in Siem Reap
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#5 of 508 in Siem Reap
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
maison557
maison557
#10 of 508 in Siem Reap
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shadow Angkor Villa
Shadow Angkor Villa
#91 of 508 in Siem Reap
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizons Cambodia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizons Cambodia

Address: Street 23 | Wat Bo Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 508 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $12 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizons Cambodia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 3 star accommodation in the heart of Siem Reap - just steps from the river and a 5 minute stroll to Old Market and Pub Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Horizons Cambodia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizons Cambodia Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing