We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yellow Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellow Hostel
Ranked #164 of 486 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed there for 3 days find the service great n friendly. Will go again if the opportunity arise. Food n drink prices very reasonable. Met a number of long term guests there as the pricing is affordable .Even though the prices have gone up a bit , it is still very competitively price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moocin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
26
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a great experience here. After staying in a not-so-good place the previous night in Siem Reap, we found this place based on other recommendations. We ended up paying $8USD per night for a room with 2 beds, AC and a private bathroom. We got free tuk-tuk rides to and from town, which was also amazing. The staff were friendly and great, and help us set up any tours or travel arrangements we needed. We were "stranded" in SR due to the Khmer New Year, and everyone at Yellow Guesthouse helped accomodate us! Worth staying here if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed one night, clean, nice, the staff is beyond friendly. We used them to tour the temples, as well as see the sunset over Angkor. All very fair priced. I can't imagine spending more, or going anywhere else in Siem Reap. Hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emerick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

The rooms were ok. Clean enough (not clean in the less accessible areas) and the hot showers worked well. There was decent wi-fi. I loved that they offered free tuk tuk service to the city since the place itself is a little far from the city area. The food is decent and priced well.
I loved the friendly staff ! They were really polite and nice all the time. For 6 usd it is value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We paid $5 a night for a double bed with a private bathroom but without AC (fan only).

The major selling point for us, aside from a clean room, was the free tuk-tuk rides to and from Pub Street and the town center (they charge a small fee for locations that are farther away).

The staff was very friendly and attentive.

We recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SocialEvolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

we paid $8 for a double bed aircon room. the guesthouse is very simply decorated.. the room is average. the laundry is really bad! you get a free tuktuk to town which is nice. one of the workers' babies pissed all over the floor while in his hands, encouraged by him.. seemed legitimate to both, disgusted me. whats worst, he cleaned it with the rag set at the hotel entrance. the food menu is very cheap and diverse. they will pick you up from bus station if book in advance

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilonmorav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittenberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Going to Seam Reap on a Budget I expected the worst - - and found the best GH in Cambodia!
Funny, lovely staff. They always start chatting to you when you seem to be a bit lonely. They have good info on the area, good food, a free pickup service, free tuktuks into town, bicycle rental, good food and whenever you order something they don't have someone jumps on a bike and gets it.
The owner is fun as well and doesn't mind having a beer with his guests.

If you're interested ask for deep fried tarantula or fried dog. They know where to get it!

And the rooms are big, great value (4$ single, 5$ double) and on of the cleanest I've seen so far!
Can't believe they're not in a single guidebook yet!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beate91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#121 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jasmine Lodge
Jasmine Lodge
#150 of 486 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Naga Angkor Hotel
Naga Angkor Hotel
#49 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#24 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Cambo Hotel
Boutique Cambo Hotel
#34 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#8 of 486 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Hostel

Property: Yellow Hostel
Address: #363 | Taphul Village, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Yellow Guesthouse)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 486 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellow Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellow Hostel is a townhouse accommodation in Siem Reap offering budget and affordable accommodation that is enjoying its prime location in the city center surrounding by the Siem Reap's most popular local restaurants and the massage center. We offer the best rate guarantee for the budget travelers, provides free WiFi and one-way pick-up service by Remourque (Formely known as Tuk Tuk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yellow Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing