We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Dodgy Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Ranked #164 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Room, Dodgy Staff”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The rooms and pool were clean and very comfortable, although they were a bit devoid of character and very expensive by Cambodian standards. The staff were very friendly but they were kinda dodgy - they helped us organise things, but then secretly charged a huge commission for doing so. I guess this is standard for Cambodia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyTuesdayAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    100
    28
    4
    9
See reviews for
60
111
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Karavansara helped make our trip to Siem Reap memorable. The hotel is nicely located away from the main tourist area. You can just take a short tuk-tuk ride or walk. The hotel was really clean and the staff was very attentive to our needs. They also helped us get bikes which we used to see the countryside of Siem Reap. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaravansaraRR, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Gabriel,

Thanks for you comments! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macao
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Excellent location: quiet but very near Siem Reap centre.
Very friendly staff, cambodjan style, always with a smile on the face and ready to help.
Excellent appartments: clean, bright, well equipped and very good taste.
Excellent common areas: swimming pool, lounge...
My only suggestion is paying more attention to vegetarian alternatives at the restaurants and more publicity about ecological choices made.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaninhaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaravansaraRR, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear JoaninhaM,

Thanks for your comments. We are currently improving our food and beverage department and very soon we will be able to offer our guests a wide range of options.

As we had the chance to talk during your stay, one of our main concerns is to go green. We are working hard to make sure the Hotel is Eco friendly and that our guest's stay will only have a good impact in the community.

Once again, thanks for your comments and we are looking foward to seeing you again soon in one of our properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A step away from the city center lies this marvelous hotel where we spent some delicious moments when we weren't travelling throughout the region. Plus they will help you organize special trips, tailor-made to your needs, as happened with us. Karavansara

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karatekazeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed for three days in the Karavansara, in one of their three bedroom residences. What a perfect stay this was.

the residences are across the (small) road from the main building and guarded by security as well. As this is a small property you do not have any hint of mass tourism here, but only smiling and friendly people.

The food from the restaurant is excellent, be it breakfast or dinner and so are the drinks from the bar. Everything can be ordered as well as room service.

The room (appartment) had 200m2 with three BR, a fully functional kitchen a huge living room, nice washing machine and perfect (free) WiFi, allowing for Skype Video Calls. they are located just by Siem Reap river across from a wat and a supermarket within five minutes walking distance. Pub and Grub street are also maximum five minutes away. So stroll towards your dinner, have a few drinks and check out the night markets and then take a tuk tuk back for a dollar or two. What more can you want ?

The rooftop pool on the main building was perfect too, not so sure about the one about the residences though.

i for once will come back here, if I come back to Cambodia. So it is not farewell to the Karavasara but see you sometime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at this small boutique and had a very comfortable and romantic time here especially after full days around the local sights. There are only 12 rooms in the main section, and some family rooms/suites in the adjacent building across the road.

The service was excellent, the garden terrace rooms were nicely done, with a cute semi-circular shower, bathroom area. The beds were very comfortable with a fan and a super air-con if you needed it. The main swimming pool is small and clean but we were not here to do laps. There is apparently another swimming pool in the adjacent suite complex.

Regarding the hotel food, it's tasty and filling but there are many other excellent restaurants located nearby. For breakfast, there are three choices: continental - probably best avoided on account of the croissants....actually it is very hard to find good bread in Cambodia generally..., Asian - noodles or congee, and American - eggs, bacon, hash browns etc.. Dinner options were limited typical Khmer for tourist affairs but tasty nonetheless.

There is free wifi, it is 3 minutes walk to the old market area, it is relatively quiet and the tuktuk driver (Mr Lay) who appeared to be affiliated with the hotel was always ready to take us wherever we needed to go.

As it was low season, we got an excellent deal too. One other thing we did like about this place, was that although it is probably partly foreign-owned and/or managed (English, I think), everything was done by local Cambodian staff who were just so obliging and greeted us with smiles all the time.

If you are looking for a small, comfortable and personable hotel for an excellent price, I would highly recommend the Karavansara.

Room Tip: Even though the hotel is on a quiet street, try and get one of the rooms upstairs on the same level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aikiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Visited from 7th to 11th July 2012 with my wife,daughter and son in law.
Immediately my wife and i were told that we were upgrade to a room with a balcony, ground floor room 8.
Well designed rooms with one of the best air conditioning units ever,this was most welcome after a very hot day visiting the temples.
Free in room safes were available.
Breakfast each morning found the selection was very repetitive but ok.
Staff at reception were very helpful which made it an enjoyable experience.
On the roof there is a small pool that does enough to cool you down on a hot day,previous reviewers had mentioned that there was no shaded areas around the pool but that seems to have been addressed now there are tables with umbrellas.
Food is excellent in the hotel if you decide to stay local for dinner.

Location is also excellent 5min walk over the river to Pub Street where the local restaurants sell great food at reasonable prices and where you can buy a pint of beer for 50 us cents.

Angkor Wat temples are also nearby but be warned DO NOT use the local taxis that will offer their services on the way from the airport to the hotel,that is what we did only to find that he dropped us off at a temple location with an arrangement to pick us up an hour later,when were ready to move to the next temple the driver was nowhere to be seen,he did not reply to the messages we left on his phone and would not answer when we tried to phone him.
We received a call later in the day after having to use tuk tuks to get around asking if we got lost.
We arranged later that day to meet and only pay for the taxi ride to the temple, he had the cheek to ask if he was required the next day, the answer was a polite no thanks or something like that.
We later arranged that day with the hotel reception staff to arrange for an official guide and driver to take us to the rest of our visits,this turned out to cost only 140us dollars for the four of us for 2 full days and all our transport.
The next morning as arranged Paul our guide for the next 2 days arrived and asked us what we would like to visit,he became a friend to us in those 2 days and was full of information throughout our visits to the temples and the floating village which is a must.
We also stopped on our way back from the temples to the Landmine Museum and to the old Cambodian gentleman who in the 1990s gained his degree in architecture and has over the years made these amazing scale models of the temples and the drawings that he made for them from books that he hid from the brutal Khmer Rouge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jones19553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#94 of 356 in Siem Reap
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#133 of 356 in Siem Reap
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bopha Siem Reap Boutique Hotel
Bopha Siem Reap Boutique Hotel
#187 of 356 in Siem Reap
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#151 of 356 in Siem Reap
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#121 of 356 in Siem Reap
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karavansara Retreat & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karavansara Retreat & Residences

Property: Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Address: Street 25, Archa Sva Road, Wat Bo Village | Salakamroeuk Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karavansara Retreat & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karavansara Retreat and Residences is unparalleled — a world cultural heritage site, a beautiful natural environment, award-winning architectural design, exceptional service and a small number of rooms to ensure exclusivity and privacy. The ethos of Karavansara is founded in the sophisticated luxury that is afforded by attention to the smallest details. Come join us for an enriching, enlightening and rewarding 'lifestyle' experience that will make this the holiday you will always cherish. Comfort, convenience, relaxes and delicious are the hallmarks of Karavansara Retreat and Residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karavansara Retreat & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karavansara Retreat & Residences Hotel Siem Reap
Karavansara Retreat And Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing