We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A month of bliss in an apartment at Karavansara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angkor Safari Hotel
Ranked #175 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My family of four spent five weeks in one of the two bedroom apartments and loved it. The apartment was roomy and bright. The rooftop swimming pool is deep without a shallow end so not for nonswimmers, but my teens spent hours up there everyday. The hotel staff were friendly and prompt in answering requests. Mr. Luon, the manager, always met my needs.

The price of the apartment is not cheap, but it is so centrally located that it was worth the price. This hotel was the only one in Siem Reap to answer my request for a rental immediately, and they worked with me for a couple of months ironing out the details.

Housekeeping is an additional cost, and the housekeepers could use a little extra training. They missed small things like crumbs around the toaster. But they were so sweet, it was hard to be anything but grateful for their efforts.

I would recommend trying to get a north facing apartment. All the apartments have a view west toward the river. The length of our apartment was along the southern exposure. The sun heated the place up significantly. Electricity is not included in the bill, so we paid a bit more in airconditioning than if we had been on the opposite side of the building.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 346 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews. The hotel is well -located very close to the centre, the rooms are very clean and the staff is extremely nice.
The hotel claims to offer an award winning architectural design. As an interior architect I have to say that the design is very basic and has nothing exceptional. Not a problem but if you are looking for a design gem, you may be disappointed.
A disagreement worth mentioning, we booked a tuck-tuck through the hotel . After the first day we did not wish to book with him for another day as the price requested was higher than usual prices. The following day, the driver was waiting outside the hotel and assaulted me as he was unhappy. We reported the incident to the hotel and nothing was done.
The reason we were extremely disappointed and have decided to publish this negative review is more serious. We had noticed that a western male customer was inviting every day young teenage boys into his bedroom. We alerted the hotel staff. They confirmed that this situation was happening regularly and that they were extremely uncomfortable with it. Unfortunately, they could not do anything as the hotel management did not want to bother “a good customer who stays at the hotel regularly”.
We reported the issue to child safe, an ONG that fights against child prostitution and decided to move to another hotel as we could not bear any longer a situation in contradiction with our values.
Child prostitution exists in Cambodia and travellers and local business owners have a role to play to protect children from abuse. It is unacceptable for a hotel owner to ignore such an obvious abnormal situation to make more money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank fredandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaravansaraRR, Owner at Angkor Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

We appreciate all reviews of the hotel and take each comment to heart as we consistently work to improve our service. The comments in this review regarding the property and the surrounding area have already been acted upon as the comments were sincere and helpful. However, we would like to express our disappointment and surprise that such serious claims of disgusting and illegal activities have take place at our hotel. These claims are false and completely without substantiation. We have invited the local police to make a complete review and audit of the situation and they have found no evidence of foul play or illegal activities. Again, to our all valued guests, it is unfortunate that some malicious people would have to make such a slanderous and hurtful claim about the Karavansara. We assure everyone that we are here as we always have been. An ethical and community oriented small business in a vibrant community.

Best regards, The owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 day stay at the Karavansara Retreat in Siem Reap, with my husband and daughter. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and downright sweet. Beds were comfortable, it wasn't expensive, but was clean, airy, the little pool was perfect, and the location was excellent, away from the busy-ness of Pub street, but within quick walking distance of the markets. The Tuk-tuk driver, Ming, was helpful and again, just sweet. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamfulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed at Karavansara for 3 nights. i loved the atmosphere created by the team. The room is a decent size, almost feels like a studio apartment. The bed was firm and comfortable, the bathroom is nicely built with seperate toilet. The breakfast isn't buffet style but the set menu is more than i could eat. The pool on the roof looked great!
For families there are larger apartment style accomodation across the street. A great value hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacharules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed here in Sept 2011 for 3 nights. Initially we had booked to stay at a guesthouse by river but due to the flood warnings, we decided to look for a more comfortable place in case we got flooded. Luckily we found Karavansara as the river did burst it's banks. The road outside the hotel was flooded even though it wasn't next to the river. the hotel stayed dry throughout....couldn't have imagined if we had stayed at the guesthouse.
Location is very good, walking distance to pub street/city centre and a supermarket nearby.
Rooms were large, airy and clean. Free wi-fi was certainly a bonus!
Staff were polite, helpful and accommodating without being overly friendly.
The restaurant serves excellent food and coffee at reasonable price.h

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fatshaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I chose to stay in the residence part of the hotel. I booked a "suite" across the street from the main building. We had a 700 Sq Ft apartment with a kitchen, table and chairs seating area with TV, a large bedroom with closets and safe and a bathroom with a large shower and plenty of hot water. The big balcony with a small table and two chairs overlooked the river and the street.There was even a handy washing machine. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel reception + dining room/bar was across a fairly quiet street and there was always a guard to stop the little bit of traffic. I liked to location. It was close to restaurants, a supermarket, the night and day markets. The only drawback was the street noise and bright street light shining through the roman shades. Service in the restaurant was slow but lots of other choices on Wat Bo Road or across the bridge.

Room Tip: I didn't see an elevator in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Fantastic location. This place has two types of accommodation: the hotel and the residences, which offer different sized apartments. We stayed in the residences which were perfect for our stay. We had a two bedroom/two bathroom apartment with a kitchen - all the mod cons and a washing machine. The lounge and balcony area overlooked a bustling intersection which was a great place to sit with a drink.

Both the hotel and residence pool areas were also relaxing and much needed after a day exploring Angor Wat. The restaurant food was delicious and it was very easy to order drinks and dinner by the pool or in our apartment.

There is also a great 'community' space up stairs above the restuarant that can be used for yoga classes.

The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and eager to assist (we love the crossing lady!).

We highy recommend Karavansara for both individuals, couples, business people and families because of the flexible range of accommodation options.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brunswick_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Glory Angkor Hotel Siemreap
Glory Angkor Hotel Siemreap
#168 of 365 in Siem Reap
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#92 of 365 in Siem Reap
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#158 of 365 in Siem Reap
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
#271 of 365 in Siem Reap
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#72 of 365 in Siem Reap
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Safari Hotel

Address: Street 25, Archa Sva Road, Wat Bo Village | Salakamroeuk Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia (Formerly Karavansara Retreat & Residences)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#51 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $33 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Angkor Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karavansara Retreat and Residences is unparalleled — a world cultural heritage site, a beautiful natural environment, award-winning architectural design, exceptional service and a small number of rooms to ensure exclusivity and privacy. The ethos of Karavansara is founded in the sophisticated luxury that is afforded by attention to the smallest details. Come join us for an enriching, enlightening and rewarding 'lifestyle' experience that will make this the holiday you will always cherish. Comfort, convenience, relaxes and delicious are the hallmarks of Karavansara Retreat and Residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Angkor Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karavansara Retreat & Residences Hotel Siem Reap
Karavansara Retreat And Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing