We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly friendly staff, good pool, in a real neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
Ranked #118 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We spent 6 nights at the Frangipani Villa Hotel and enjoyed our stay. For our dollar, we liked it better than some of the more expensive hotels we visited in Phnom Penh and would stay there again.

We tried two rooms: both were very clean, bug-free, and gecko-free (not that we mind geckos). The "standard" room was adequate, but dark. Note that the bathtub in standard rooms has a large window between it and the bed, which means the room is only suitable for couples. The pool view room was much brighter and more spacious: we got the back corner on the floor above the lobby, so bathroom was bright too (and didn't have a window into the bedroom). Though simply furnished, the pool view room felt more luxurious and we'd definitely recommend paying more for it.

The overall decor is minimalist and relatively modern: exposed concrete, white walls. Appeals to us, but not everybody. Huge lobby, and the pool area is very pretty and comfortable, if small. Not sure why reviewers would complain that the pool is salty? Usually most people prefer salt water to chlorine! We swam every day after sweating in the afternoon heat... so relaxing. The front facade is well-designed and stylish, pretty at night, but nobody seemed to hang out there (despite having a separate bar and cafe tables).

The breakfast (included for us) was thoroughly mediocre: bad coffee, okay eggs, good fruit selection, everything else pretty unmemorable (especially compared to good breakfasts included at Phnom Penh hotels). Nobody was ever seen eating lunch or dinner at the hotel, so I don't imagine the food is especially wonderful. The restaurant's "local culture night" was packed, involving dancing and music and costumes and some kind of special menu... not our scene so we skipped it, but maybe you'll love it.

The location really appealed to us: it was far enough away from Pub Street to feel like a real neighborhood. I got a great $2 haircut next door and befriended the shopkeeper across the street. Viroth's Restaurant, our favorite in town, is 100 meters away. We walked 15 minutes to the touristy center as needed or just paid $1 for a tuk-tuk when feeling lazy.

Loved talking to the staff and felt like we were good friends by the end of our stay. Their English language skills are among the best in Cambodia, and I cannot overstate how friendly and warm they are.

However, some aspects of the service and experience were lacking. The pool always ran out of towels, but you just had to ask the staff. None of the showers by the pool actually produce water for showering, which is odd. It was never clear if we'd be receiving our "2 free garments of laundry per day", but we ultimately did, despite booking through 3rd party websites... I just asked nicely and charmed them into agreeing, so clarify this ahead of time if you care. 24-hour turnaround wasn't always reliable, so don't wash all your clothes at once. Free bikes were never available for hire, so we had to rent across the street for $1/day. My wife tried a pedicure and it was well below her expectations, so don't rely on the spa here... instead, try the identically-named but independently run Frangipani Spa across the river (just a coincidence it has the same name).

That said, overall we enjoyed the hotel, and would recommend it. It was our favorite all-around hotel choice in Cambodia (we stayed for 3 weeks), especially the pool-view rooms.

Side note: The Frangipani Villa Hotel II, in case you're confused, is right next door to this hotel. It is newer and its guests can use the pool at this hotel... not sure why they don't just operate and market the whole complex as a single hotel.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are dark; pool view rooms are bright and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gradientdescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 865 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

All I can say is... be sure to triple check with the hotel on the amenities and service. They might just tell you breakfast is not included, airport/bus station pick-up is payable, or free laundry service not applicable - You never know.

Because this hotel has the tendency of changing their offers/promotions overnight. Even though bookings were made during promotion period. I booked early October and traveled end November.

First, the General Manager promised a 20% off total bill. I immediately booked directly via the website but somehow it didn't work. Two days later, I was told the offer was not applicable anymore.

This is part of the email correspondence:
"Many thanks for keeping trying to make reservation with us.
I am sincerely apologize as at this moment our promotion period was expired, but we would offer you a 10% discount above room rates."

Then, the free laundry service was not available anymore and the reason given was that I booked through other booking engines. Haha. These were the exact words from the email:

"Previously, we did have laundry complimentary for our staying guest, but recently we have just took it out from our room package. But in your case, if you book with us through mail and our website, we will provide you complimentary of laundry as we promised, but since you booked through others booking engine, you will not be able to entitle for this complimentary."

I felt cheated because many guests who booked through Agoda did get to enjoy that complimentary service.

Anyway, nice hotel.

Room Tip: Bug problems at night, especially on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine365k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokthearith, Manager at Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Warmest greetings from the management of the Frangipani Villa Hotel. we had a privilege to serve you at the Franggipani Villa Hotel II during your stay in Siem Reap. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay and any misunderstanding you might have. We are surprised and sorry to hear that we cheated you and now, we would have loved to discuss this personally. Our management would like to confirm you that we will never ever had any intention to cheat any guests who come to stay at our hotel. We would like to give you a clarification that the price you booked is included breakfast and definitely our staff never ever informed any guests who checked in that there is no breakfast, but for the laundry, we do charge for guests who booked in November 2011 as the promotion and discount were expired in November 2011 and this is clearly stated in our homepage. For the pickup service, we never ever offered free of charge to any booking as clearly mentioned in our homepage and other online travel agent homepages. we apologize to hear that your experience with us made you felt that you were cheated and we would have discussed this in person if you would have mentioned this during your check-out and would have you carried a good memory of the Frangipani Villa Hotel and Cambodian!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Let me start with the better part of our 4-day stay at this property - the people factor. The staff was immensely helpful and had a very pleasant demeanor while fulfilling all our requests! The rooms and bathrooms were clean and kept well. The complimentary breakfast and other meals served in the restaurant were of good quality, delicious and quite reasonably priced (so were all alcoholic beverages).
And now for the critical part - 1. We were supposed to be picked up from the airport but weren't, even though I had received an email confirmation. We had to take a taxi (cost $10). The management confessed that most of the staff was inexperienced and top-down communication needed to be worked upon. 2. I had booked 3 deluxe rooms with pool view (confirmed by email), however, upon arrival we were told that the hotel only had 2 of these rooms and could give us a third (smaller) room with a view of the front street. I had to invoke Seinfeld's argument that the essential purpose of a reservation is to ensure that the rooms are available when one gets to the property, but that didn't help much. We settled for their offer. The manager did compensate for this error by not charging us for two extra beds (for kids) in one of the rooms for all 4 days, and also removed the $18 charge for our drop off service to the airport. 3. There were lizards in all 3 of our rooms. The staff was very helpful in coming up to our rooms, no matter how late it was, and removing the reptiles that they could find, but there were always more of them crawling around on the walls and ceiling. 4. The water in the swimming pool was quite salty, almost as if it was filled with diluted sea water. 5. There is no elevator in the building.
Overall, these are not deal breaking issues and the reader(s) should determine what's important for them. The quality of accomodation and service was certainly at par with the price of the rooms, if not more.

Room Tip: The deluxe room with pool view is larger than the one with a city view, but the view itself is not r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayankmpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had initially booked two nights on line but when we ended up booking another 4 nights as the hotel was perfect for us. The breakfast was the best we have had during our whole holiday in Vietnam & Cambodia. The pool & area was a great way to relax and cool down after a long day exploring. The staff were so friendly and helpful, we also like that the hotel supports not only local orphanages with shows being put on by the children & staff also employed with training in mind . The rooms were airy and extremely clean. We also liked the hotels policy for being environmentally friendly and supply a cool water dispenser for guests to refill their water bottles.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had good experience about the hotel even before visiting the place. Right from the moment we booked our stay online their hospitality was felt. I had picked a wrong room type by mistake & when contacted the hotel, they were quick in responding and accommodated my choice promptly.

The welcome drink was great - that too after 6 hours of bus ride from Phnom penh.
This is one place where you don't have to stand to check-in at the front desk. We were enjoying the drink & relaxing in the lounge when we checking in!

The staff were friendly & looked after our needs thoroughly. They even helped in making some itinerary for our trip.
The hotel is located in a quiet area. Its a 10 mins lazy walk to pub street, night market etc. Even you take the hotel cycles for a ride around the place (free!!)

We stayed there for five nights. The breakfast spread was good. For the first I had fried rice in the day & it was awesome.

We would highly recommend this place for your stay - short or long.

Room Tip: There are no elevators / lifts so pick a room in first or second floor, if you don't like climbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vigneshnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Great Hotel & staff very obliging & helpful. Great breakfast. I can only fault this hotel on 2 points. It is a 3 story hotel with no lift which did not suit me. It advertises a safety deposit box, this consisted of a keyed tin secured to the wardrobe that could be easily broken into. No boxes at reception, this is not good enough. If the safety boxes could be rectified I would stay again. A good supermarket across road.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I spent 4 nights there. This property has two hotels next to each other. The two hotels share the restaurants, pool and spa; and the rooms and the prices of each hotel are compatibly equivalent. They are classified to two different hotels due to the different in-room decoration. (I got this information from the hotel’s staff.)

Like:

Room condition:
I had very comfortable stay there. The room was very clean. Every thing in the bed room and bath room functioned well.

Services:
The staffs were very well trained and professional. They were friendly and helpful.
Free daily 2-piece laundry and free bike: This included in the room price. I have never been provided the free laundry service before. It was nice. You didn’t have to send every day: you could do it once to cover all of eligible free pieces.

Saltwater pool with Jacuzzi:
what a lovely pool! It was very relaxing in the pool and Jacuzzi after a long day in Angkor Wat Park.

So-So

Location:
This hotel was not located in the prime area but it was very close. It was fine for me. TukTuk costed only USD 1 to Pub Street. In addition, you could take a bike (also free for the hotel guest to use) to Pub Street. I did it. It was easy riding and the roads were not dangerous to ride.

Breakfast:
OK for me. It would be better if this hotel had the egg station.

Dislike:
In-room safe:
It was only a metal box mounted to the closet, not actual safe. The size of security box was very small. It was not big enough to put my wallet, Canon G12 camera, external hard disk and passport inside. If you want to put a DSLR camera or laptop, you need to go to the reception and leave it in the hotel’s main safe.

Toiletry:
very limited: no cotton bud.

No elevator:
All rooms are on the second, third or fourth floor so this hotel is not wheelchair accessible.

In conclusion:
Having a nice time and preferable choice.

Remark:
There was flooding in front of the hotel. The flood level was around 30 cms. I didn’t put it in the “Dislike” because it was uncontrollable circumstance (it is a mother’s nature matter). Besides an inconvenience, I experienced the TukTuk jacked up the price from USD 1 to USD 2 for returning to the hotel from Pub Street. It was not a big deal for me=> maybe too tired to negotiate. However, it could be a concern for others.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#93 of 365 in Siem Reap
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
#58 of 365 in Siem Reap
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#73 of 365 in Siem Reap
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#126 of 365 in Siem Reap
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#28 of 365 in Siem Reap
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap

Address: 0603, Street Wat Bo, Salakormreuk Commune, Siem Reap 2000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#75 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#86 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#88 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $40 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frangipani Villa Hotels consist of three boutique hotels providing nice and comfortable accommodations. The accommodations consist of Frangipani Villa-60's and Frangipani Villa-90 in Phnom Penh and Frangipani Villa Hotel in Siem Reap, the city which is full of ancient temples. The Frangipani Villa Hotel property is a more recent property designed in art deco style in combination with traditional Khmer architecture for interior and exterior design and it is a stylish boutique hotel with some contemporary touches. The hotel is located in the heart of Siem Reap, a short tuk tuk ride from the city’s popular Pscar Chas Market to Angkor Wat and providing ready access to other sites. The hotel is also 2 minutes walk from a mini-mart, coffee shop and ATM. The hotel provides a selection of suite, double and twin rooms. Comfortable seating for relaxing at any time of the day or for informal meetings is available on the roof top terrace and near swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing