We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel in the heart of Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Neth Socheata Hotel
Ranked #87 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The staff here are really friendly and always happy to help. Our room wasn't that big but was very clean and comfy. I didn't like the bathroom at all, very very small and awkward to use the shower, though again, it was clean. Complimentary breakfast was lovely, the pancakes were delicious, could do with more choice though.
Location is perfect, right by hospital street, pub street and the markets!

Room Tip: There's no lift and 5 flights of stairs, so try and get a room on a lower floor. Plus 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lysh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 181 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

The 3 of us arrived in Siem Reap without making any prior bookings, and were happy to get a room at Neth for $45/night. We felt this was reasonable for a Lonely Planet top-pick hotel.

The hotel is in an alley in the Old Market area, so you need to look out for signs in order to find the hotel. Location is great--central yet quiet.

Our room was quite large, with a generous king-sized bed and another single bed. The bathroom was huge and clean. The room also came with an LCD TV. However, the air-con wasn't really working properly, which kind of defeated the purpose of paying extra for an air-conditioned room. Also, wifi broke down on our third day there, and staff didn't make any attempt to revive the signal.

What really soured my experience was the extremely pushy staff. We'd already given that hotel business by booking a tuk-tuk and guide through them ($50 in total, before tips) for one entire day. However, we were incessantly badgered to sign up for more tours. One of the staff even turned aggressive when he found out that we had booked a tour through an external tour provider. This was worse than the many street touts we saw outside the hotel, who would politely back down when we declined their services.

So, overall, the hotel is passable but be wary of the pushy staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better room or location. Within a 1 minute walk to the old market, yet located in a well lit alley away from the noise, it offers a nice quiet place to sleep. Everything is kept very clean and all staff are very friendly and eager to be of service.

Special thanks to our tuk-tuk driver, Mr. Hui - contracted by the hotel, who took excellent care of us during our multiday visits to Angkor and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We have stayed 3 person in February, in a triple room. The room was perfect, the beds comfortable, a/c, private bathroom, and all the people that works there are really helpfull in all that you need. We bought the excursions around the temples at the hotel, going by a tuc-tuc, it was awesome and the driver "Vanny" the best, he was always waiting for us with cold water. So if you are looking for a place to stay, choose "Neth Socheata", because it's excellent and the location it's perfect too, it's half block of the pub street.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceci-Lee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

awesome service by the ever friendly staff whom in the end, they became our friends. rooms are clean and spacious. feels cozy, as if it's our own home. location is awesome - very near to pub street, night market, old market. very safe, with 24 hours security. and they make awesome banana pancakes!

highly recommended place to stay!

and to all of the staff in neth socheata, thank you for making my first visit to Siem Reap an awesome and memorable one. :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fizzeyelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

They say that location is everything and it was certainly true in this case. Situated at the centre of 4 small alleys, and therefore very quiet, this hotel was handy for everything. There was a separate restaurant which was very good, breakfasts excellent and the beds very comfortable and very reasonably priced. We came by boat and they met us at the boat station and the same tuk-tuk driver (I think he was an employee of the hotel) also took us to Angkor Wat.Altogether very good. Only slight disadvantage was thart we were on the 4 floor, and after a day at Angor Wat, it seemed a long way up!

Room Tip: There is no lift so ask for a room as low as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milesHoiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Excellent location, close to everything: 50m to town temple, 100m (or less) to Pub street, 50m to Old market, about 200 - 250m to Night Market.
In spite of the central location hotel is positioned in a very quiet place.
Spacious rooms, a lot of light, very cozy. Rooms look renovated. Quite spacious bathroom (cambodian style - shower is just on the wall). Very clean.
Helpful and smiley staff.
Restaurant is out of the hotel but in just 3 meters (literally).
Free wifi had excellent connection.
Minor minus: room doors are not sound proof, although is wasn't a problem as it's very quiet in the hotel.
the best value for money i experienced in Cambodia.
Better to book 3-4 days in advance.

Room Tip: Rooms facing trading center can be quite noisy due to the loud music from the center. One night it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viannka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
1920 Hotel
1920 Hotel
#64 of 361 in Siem Reap
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
#94 of 361 in Siem Reap
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#123 of 361 in Siem Reap
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shadow Angkor Residence
Shadow Angkor Residence
#109 of 507 in Siem Reap
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Prestige D'Angkor
Central Prestige D'Angkor
#55 of 507 in Siem Reap
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Viva Hotel
Viva Hotel
#356 of 507 in Siem Reap
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neth Socheata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neth Socheata Hotel

Address: # 284, 2 Thnou Street | directly opposite the Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $18 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Neth Socheata Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Neth Socheata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neth Socheata Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing