We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #122 of 485 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
pisa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We ve been there in August. I have only the best words for this hotel. It was very clean ,the rooms are excellent ,the owners are very friendly.From the time we stepped out of our car we were made to feel welcome by staff. They made us feel that we were staying with friends. The rooms are beautiful and clean, very comfortable and cozy, with comfortable bed, nice bathroom, furniture and amenities and quiet surroundings.( air con and fan in every room).you can go to the swimming pool of the same property hotel and swim whenever you want! Full breakfast included in the price of the room (25 usd/night/room), with juice, fresh fruits, tea and coffee, eggs, bread, butter and marmelade. Also pancakes with 2$ more. Laundry service (2$ maximum) and they could arrange for you taxi from/to airport for 6 usd.
Good choice, walking distance to the old and night market! free wireless internet in the lobby area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marinapotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    162
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
43
171
87
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Every once in a while you find a gem like the Golden Banana B&B. Located up a quiet lane within minutes walking distance from the old Market area and restaurant strip of Siem Reap this tranquil oasis is just what you need after a tiring day at the temples of Ankor.
Nothing is too much bother for the friendly staff and you quckly feel mor like family than guest. Either of the two hotel drivers are excellent for hiring by the day to travel to the temple sites or just show you the town.
All rooms overlook the swimming pool and garden setting and are beautifully presented. The Golden Banana is great value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Small bed and breakfast hotel, part of 3 Banans Hotels.
We stay on the second flour upstairs the lobby. There is no aircon in that room, but other was great. Flowers every day on bed and bath.
Its not good, that water in botles for cleaning teeth was free only for first night. Stuff are very friendly. I seen only boys in stuff, but I think that girls are very good too. Smiles are everywhere! And coconuts everywhere. Biggest coconuts I've seen in my life! And only for 1 USD cost!
If you cross small street/lane you can use pool in the second part of hotel.
Hotel not far from center of town/old market.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shamsung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim289
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Spent 3 nights in Siem Reap while visiting Angkor and the surroundings. We really fell in love with the Golden Banana, the staff and our fellow travellers. For 25$ you usually do not get such a nice pool, wifi, breakfast, our own bungalow and many "hotel" amenenities!!!

Eventhough we are a gay couple and the place is gay-owned and run, we didnt notice and particular differences to a normal (but what i normal in those times) hotel. Besides us, we did not see any male couples...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

The Golden Banana was recommended to us, but what I didn't know is that there are three different options - this B&B, the hotel and the boutique resort. The B&B rooms are all in small bungalows, and ours was one with a double bed. There was plenty of space for the money (25 dollars), but it looked a bit tired, to the extent that my husband thought the floor was dirty when actually it was stains built up over time. The same was true for the towels and bedding, which were probably clean, but have seen better days.

We didn't have a good nights sleep as although there is air-con, it didn't really work and the there are plenty of gaps for bugs (hence the dirty mosquito net over the bed), which meant I was bitten a lot by morning. The breakfast is very basic with options to spend more by buying extra items (also true at hotel). and the wifi only extends to the reception area.

All of these things are not a big deal if you're on a budget, but for those who want something nicer it's worth paying the extra and going to the hotel, across the lane, as we did. After one night in the B&B we swapped and spent four nights at the hotel very happily.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mekong Delta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We can only gush with praise for the Golden Banana, and thank the fellow traveler down in Kep who tipped us off to it. Perfectly located a little bit away from the Siem Reap madness but close enough to walk to it (around 5 minutes) when you want to go out to eat or get a foot massage. Incredibly gracious and attentive (and hunky) staff. The rooms in the B & B part of Golden Banana (there are three 'hotels' interconnected down an alley) are quite cheap, on the small side, totally clean and well furnished, and who cares about their size when you'll want to spend most of your hotel time lazing around their two great pools? Felt like an old school Hollywood regency estate. We stayed for a week. The frozen specialty cocktails (with unprintable names for a family web site) are delicious and cheap. Breakfast is nothing special - same old eggs and bread you get everywhere, but there's plenty to eat in town. We highly, highly recommend the Golden Banana!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yaelzephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. It is located just 5-10 minutes walk from the town centre. The Golden Banana has a B & B and a boutique hotel operations.

The B & B comprised small bungalow rooms, spotlessly clean. The staff were welcoming and knowledgeable. The price included breakfast, £18 per night for the two of us. Both the B & B and the hotel have swimming pools. One of the hotel staff drove us to the temples and was extremely friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bingobow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#101 of 341 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#108 of 341 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
#35 of 341 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
#117 of 341 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damnak Villa Boutique
Damnak Villa Boutique
#128 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Banana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Banana Boutique Hotel

Property: Golden Banana Boutique Hotel
Address: Close to Pub 'Street and night life but locatedin a very quiet lane | Phum Wat Damnak, Khum Sala Komreuk, Krom 10, Siem Reap, Siem Reap 888, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 485 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Banana Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private,free-standing, pagoda-like, authentically Khmer stylish ENSUITE rooms with A/C in room, some room has high ceiling fan, hot water, garden & courtyard. Laundry service, friendly & capable staff. TV, no telephone, fridge or telephone inside the room for B&B rooms. Breakfast is included in the room rate. Swimming Pool for Superior Hotel and B&B guests. Swimming pool opens to all guests staying at Golden Banana. Gay friendly, owned & operated, but friendly and open to all guests from all walks of life.This hotel is centrally located in the old colonial area of Siem Reap Down Town,built in the tranquil secluded Khmer Village, few minutes stroll to the Old Market, shops, Pub Street, restaurants & nightlife. Only 10 minutes drive to the world-famous temple of Angkor Wat, & Siem Reap International Airport & Tonle Sap Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Banana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing