We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went Bananas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel
Ranked #112 of 499 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Went Bananas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

We stayed in the B&B section for 3 nights mid December 08. The pavillion-style rooms areset in lovely gardens and the room itself was very large and clean, but quite basic., as is the ensuite shower room. Endless hot water, though, and great pressure on the shower. The room's poor lighting accentuated the rather gloomy interior but it was good value for money and the breakfasts perfectly adequate. Location-wsie, it's great - a few minutes walk to the town centre. After a long, hot day doing the temples, this is a great place to return to - the lovely pool and tranquil gardens are restful and welcoming. Staff very friendly and heloful

  • Liked — location/free internet/pool/friendly staff
  • Disliked — interior of room felt gloomy
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MaireadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    158
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
43
169
87
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

We went to the Golden Banana Boutique Hotel and B&B because it was recommended by the Lonely Planet travel guide.

We were very well received and staff were very friendly. We stayed for four nights at $25/night which we considered a fair price. The bungalows are quite spacious, but the one we stayed in was a bit damp - the leaking shower didn't help - and not very well lit. Let's say, you'd not be able to sit in your room and read in the evening - although when you're in Siem Reap, why would you want to stay in and read! Better go out, soak the atmosphere and enjoy the numerous bars, restaurants etc. (Rooms have fans and a/c.)

We had an unpleasant surprise on checking out - we expected to pay $100 for four nights and were shocked to see that on top of that they slapped on VAT10%. This is the only place we've ever been where we were told one price on arrival and a different one on checking out. Nobody mentioned the VAT when we arrived! OK, it's not the end of the world, but it's not nice.

Breakfast is included in the room price: you've got a choice of bread, butter & jam plus tea/coffee; muesli with milk or yoghurt + tropical fruit. You can have extras for an additional charge.

The hotel has a swimming pool, which is lovely and a great place to relax after a tiring day visiting the temples. They are currently expanding and buidling more accomodation and another swimming pool.

Golden Banana is family and gay friendly.

It is a nice place but I would say it is a bit overrated - we've noticed this happens a lot to places that feature in travel guides.

  • Liked — Service & location
  • Disliked — the unxepected TVA charge oh check out (on top of the stated price on arrival)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sylvadianu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jogejoge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

We stayed at the Bed and Breakfast place.

Staff is extremely friendly and pleasant.

Room was rather small, very dirty bathroom, mold in every corner and on the ceiling. Mold even in the bedroom in the top corners, due to lack of ventilation in the bathroom , I guess. This makes the room rather smelly.

Currently they 're expanding. So lots of building and construction noises during the day.

Instead of expanding, they should focus on maintaining they're current rooms.

A bit of paint and a little renovation in bathrooms (like new tiles against the walls and floor) could do wonders.

We paid 25 usd / night, planning on staying for 5 nights, checked out after 2.

  • Liked — Friendliness of check in staff
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of the room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JogeJoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, Nc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

I stayed in the guesthouse in a single room that felt a bit like a garrett, up a narrow outdoor flight of stairs. I liked it a lot and it was reasonable (though other travelers I met paid less than even this ($20, I think)). The staff was very friendly and responsive--many of them are practicing English so there was some more chatting than i normally expect. My room was spotless by about 10am each day. The food was really good. And the location--just across the river from the Old Market--was great.

  • Liked — food, staff
  • Disliked — wireless but no available computer to use...
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pnewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#120 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
#30 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
#112 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#9 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kia Kaha Villa
Kia Kaha Villa
#93 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel

Property: Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel
Address: Close to Pub 'Street and night life but locatedin a very quiet lane | Phum Wat Damnak, Khum Sala Komreuk, Krom 10, Siem Reap, Siem Reap 888, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 499 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private,free-standing, pagoda-like, authentically Khmer stylish ENSUITE rooms with A/C in room, some room has high ceiling fan, hot water, garden & courtyard. Laundry service, friendly & capable staff. TV, no telephone, fridge or telephone inside the room for B&B rooms. Breakfast is included in the room rate. Swimming Pool for Superior Hotel and B&B guests. Swimming pool opens to all guests staying at Golden Banana. Gay friendly, owned & operated, but friendly and open to all guests from all walks of life.This hotel is centrally located in the old colonial area of Siem Reap Down Town,built in the tranquil secluded Khmer Village, few minutes stroll to the Old Market, shops, Pub Street, restaurants & nightlife. Only 10 minutes drive to the world-famous temple of Angkor Wat, & Siem Reap International Airport & Tonle Sap Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing