We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #115 of 513 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with a mate as we were in siem reap to run the half marathon. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, even arranging a small breakfast for us on the day of the race at 5am in the morning! The rooms are clean and basic but definitely you get more than what you pay for. The pool area is very quiet and relaxing, a real break from hectic siem reap. The location is great, easily walk into the town, very quiet considering how close it is to everything. I would recommend staying here for a decent budget option in siem reap for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 461 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just back from five nights here. Lovely little hotel, staff charming and helpful. Definitely quiet at night. English can be a bit tricky at times, but never a problem. Very clean, breakfast was simple but ample. My room was very clean, well appointed, no real problem with mosquitoes. Not the Ritz Carlton, but that's not what I wanted. A/C worked quite well, even was able to turn it off at night after I cooled the room down.

The hotel is literally a few minutes walk from restaurants and the mess of the Pub Street markets, very, very convenient.

Complaints?? None really.... the stairs to the second floor were quite steep - found this to be common at other places. The entrance to the hotel at first appears to be a bit sketchy down an alley... until you are there a while and realize that everything is down some sort of alley and while it appears sketchy, I never once felt uncomfortable. The only real downside was the pool was extremely cold, I was able to only get me feet in, the Australians and Russians loved it. After a long day, though, it was great to soak my feet in cold water!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcs659pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights over new years after escaping from another not so nice hotel in Siem Reap. The staff were brilliant in managing our very late notice booking. We stayed in the deluxe pool view room for 2 nights and a standard double for 2 nights. It's definitely worth paying a little more for the deluxe rooms, having experienced both options.

Breakfast is simple but very good, a choice of eggs and fresh fruit every morning was a great start to a day of exploring the temples in the surrounding area. The food in the restaurant was brilliant, lots of local fayre to choose from and some really good cocktails as well. We were there for New Years eve and got drawn into a little party for all the staff and hotel guests before we headed out for the evening too!

The hotel staff were also very helpful in booking boat transfers for us and arranging tuk tuk drivers as and when we needed them. We made use of the laundry service as well which was very quick and good value for money. I would definitely stay here again. It was a little sanctuary in Siem Reap.

The hotel is also in a brilliant location, very easy to walk into Siem Reap of an evening to wander round the markets or get something to eat.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the extra money, better facilities and a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afeedertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We moved here after we were disappointed with our previously booked guest house.

It was perfect - quiet location but still central to what you needed, excellent and friendly service, good breakfast, clean rooms, lovely swimming pool and areas to relax. It is just the oasis you need after braving the elements of the temples or hectic streets.

As we switched guest houses once there, we did a bit of searching on the ground for hotels, and this an excellent value for what you get. A lot of hotels in Siem Reap are affordable, but many of them lack the charm or warmth that this one has.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saguptas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for four nights over the Christmas holidays this year. We bought the three-day pass to Angkor Wat, and wanted a nice, but inexpensive, hotel near the restaurants and main part of downtown. My friend recommended Golden Banana B&B to me, and it was great! For $28 a night, you get a cozy, clean room, a delicious breakfast, and access to their gorgeous swimming pool. The staff is super friendly, too. Their wifi is fast and reaches into all the rooms as well as the main area. I found it was a very good value. It is not in the immediate downtown, it's only a five-minute walk away, but that was the best part as we got a quiet, great night's sleep. Each room has A/C, too. Lastly, the staff are really helpful and friendly, which makes it great for activity advice. I recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very friendly staff, helpful at planning tours. There are 2 buildings for this hotel (more like B&B). I was in a room on the 3rd level with a terrace and very good view. Breakfast next to the pool is refreshing, and location is walking distance from Old Market and Pub Street. Anything you need help with, the hotel does. Mop is a very helpful and friendly employee, as is many of the other staff. You might hear some noise at night, but is nothing major. I still slept well. The water in the shower was not hot enough. That's just one of the things you tolerate when paying $35 a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefjohnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We loved Banana Garden. The hotel is gorgeous with a lovely pool and beautiful, clean rooms. The staff were just incredible and were so eager to help and please. And the breakfast was delicous, including their presentation. They really care about every little detail! Highly recommend a stay with them and the perfect location to access all the markets and night life without being in the center of chaos or near tyye big hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyssalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
DOM Siem Reap
DOM Siem Reap
#239 of 372 in Siem Reap
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#155 of 372 in Siem Reap
355 reviews
1.1 mi away
3 Monkeys Villa
3 Monkeys Villa
#171 of 310 in Siem Reap
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
#36 of 372 in Siem Reap
1,152 reviews
1.1 mi away
MEN's Resort & Spa - Gay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Boutique
Golden Temple Boutique
#100 of 372 in Siem Reap
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Banana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Banana Boutique Hotel

Address: Close to Pub Street and night life but located in a very quiet lane | Phum Wat Damnak, Khum Sala Komreuk, Krom 10, Siem Reap, Siem Reap 888, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $30 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Banana Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, free-standing, pagoda-like, authentically Khmer stylish ENSUITE rooms with A/C in room, most rooms have high ceiling fan creating a cool environment, hot water showers ensuite. Their is a garden & courtyard where you can spend a few hours reading beside our fish pond. Laundry service, friendly & capable staff who can speak various languages. Breakfast is included in your room rate. We have 2 swimming pools and a sauna with steam room. Our swimming pools are open to non guests who wish use our excel restaurant. Gay friendly, owned & operated and open to guests from all walks of life. The Golden Banana is centrally located in the old colonial area of Siem Reap Down Town, built in the tranquil secluded Khmer Village and only a few minutes stroll to the Old Market, shops, Pub Street, restaurants & nightlife. Only 10 minutes drive to the world-famous temple of Angkor Wat, Siem Reap International Airport & Tonle Sap Port. We can organise all manner of exciting tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Banana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing