We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fijne vakantie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel
Ranked #112 of 499 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
etten-leur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fijne vakantie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our last hotel of three weeks vacation and then is nice a cozy hotel Nice location and Nice staff and after a day of walking in the heat it is lovely to cool off in the beautiful swimming pool

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    158
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
43
169
87
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a room at the Superior Hotel of Golden Banana. Rooms are nice, beautiful tiled floors, nothing superfluous in them. There si some space missing to put your suitcase. The bathroom is a bit small, you squeeze in and out. Towels are medium brown which is not inviting.... Breakfast is fine, not sumptuous, and on a Sunday your baguette might be a bit battered and just reheated. The location is perfect: a 5 minute stroll to the lively might market area.

Room Tip: turn left from the hotel and use the small alley to get into town - nicer and closer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edlesborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Short walk to night market and pub street make this a great location but standard rooms are a bit dark and the bathroom is very open so you need to know your sleeping partner very well! Breakfast overlooking pool is lovely. Also lounging area by pool is very peaceful. However the hotel takes about 25% commission on any tuktuk trips you book which I think is disgraceful. I don't mind paying a bit more for a reliable English speaking driver but the prices were about double what street tuktuks were charging. If I pay more I expect the driver to get it not the hotel! Tuk Tuk drivers were brilliant though so I recommend them. Hotel staff were proficient but no recognition or friendly discussion.

Room Tip: If you can afford a superior room near the pool they looked very nice, although might be noisier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in a superior room overlooking the pool, room 18. On the plus side the location is a good blend of central and quiet, the pool is nice and the staff pleasant. At $45 for the night the price was about right for a small-ish room with A/C. The negatives far outweigh any positives, however. The room was not clean, the floor was dirty, there was a rather large cockroach to contend with, the bed had dead bugs on the sheets and the breakfast was, frankly, inedible. We will not be back to what ranks as our worst hotel experience from 2 weeks in Cambodia.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is my second time in Siem Reap, a nice place to escape from the noise and chaos of Bkk. I choose The Golden Banana Superior this time and really happy for that. I was placed at the old building and it is quite pleasant because it is far from the noise and the road. The room is very charming but since our room (number 12) is at the corner so the balcony is a bit small compare to the others.

The Staff are also nice, we enjoy our tours with DARA (our tuk tuk driver) he is very polite and very good at his job.

I also enjoy the pool, after the end of day this is a real pleasure.

I truly fall in love with the town and definitely go back to Golden Banana next visit.

Room Tip: room number 12 in old building has a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panchana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Best resort/pools in siem reap!!! I can't praise the place enough from the pools to the staff it was amazing. Thanks for the awesome time!!!! The drinks they make at the pool were good and they are there for every need. Better than most U.S. Hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here in August and loved it!! The staff very friendly and helpful offering lots of advice on tours and places to go and eat / drink.
Room was very clean and aircon worked really well.
The pool was great after a day wondering around the temples, especially as it has a bar - the mojitos are amazing!!
Location is great as under a 5 min walk to pub street and night markets (you can take short cut through the market and over river) .
Might be a little more expensive than some places! But the service and vibe make it totally worth! Would def stay here again?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natsjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#120 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
#30 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
#112 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#9 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kia Kaha Villa
Kia Kaha Villa
#93 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel

Property: Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel
Address: Close to Pub 'Street and night life but locatedin a very quiet lane | Phum Wat Damnak, Khum Sala Komreuk, Krom 10, Siem Reap, Siem Reap 888, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 499 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private,free-standing, pagoda-like, authentically Khmer stylish ENSUITE rooms with A/C in room, some room has high ceiling fan, hot water, garden & courtyard. Laundry service, friendly & capable staff. TV, no telephone, fridge or telephone inside the room for B&B rooms. Breakfast is included in the room rate. Swimming Pool for Superior Hotel and B&B guests. Swimming pool opens to all guests staying at Golden Banana. Gay friendly, owned & operated, but friendly and open to all guests from all walks of life.This hotel is centrally located in the old colonial area of Siem Reap Down Town,built in the tranquil secluded Khmer Village, few minutes stroll to the Old Market, shops, Pub Street, restaurants & nightlife. Only 10 minutes drive to the world-famous temple of Angkor Wat, & Siem Reap International Airport & Tonle Sap Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing