We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #115 of 513 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 22, 2012

What a lovely property - the three sister properties (the B&B, the resort and the Superior Hotel) offer a range of rooms and buildings, all sharing the same tiled lanes and main reception. We stayed in the Superior overlooking the salt-water pool, and it was perfection. The stairs that others have mentioned are private to your unit and are at a good pitch but not as steep as some at the ancient sites - consider it good prep. This place hits way above its weight for the price range.

Just a short note on the hotel-types of services which stood out. I made a mistake and did not do a final confirmation of the room - I sent a last minute email just before boarding our plane to Siem Reap. They had a tuk tuk meet us and the manager was there ready at the hotel to explain they were sold out. No need for all the details, but the end result was very fine accommodation had been arranged for us that night and a room was ready back at the Banana the next morning at eight am. Very gracious handling of the situation, which we appreciated.

The joy here though is experiencing some of real Cambodia and its people. The proprietor was orphaned as a toddler, sent abroad and determined to returned to his people to help rebuild. The Golden Banana is the vehicle he's built to achieve his vision. The staff are from all over, hired not for their education but attitudes and willingness to work - this is a real-life on-the-job training site in hospitality, language and business. A great feeder pool for the future of the country. And they their customers for helping them achieve it. Feels like it really is the other way around.

This isn't a proselytizing place - it's a hotel and you only need to dig into these extra nuances as much as interests you. For those who feel the pull, some ideas on where a few extra bucks would help Khmer families are offered.

Overall - extremely gracious hospitality, great amenities, a fantastic pool, fine location...and we loved the Khmer people we got to chat with as a major bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedford2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 461 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Friendly faces from the excellent staff is a real plus for this hotel. Clean rooms, sparkling pool, fresh fruit and bagels for breakfast every morning and fantastic location made our stay in Siem Reap enjoyable. The only complaint we had was a neighbor's noisy rooster! The stairs up to the rooms might be a bit much for older travelers - very steep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanJAshbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights 15th - 19th November 2012. Loved the location. Away from the hustle bustle on pub street but still just a short stroll away. And it was near to the art market too.
We stayed at GB Superior hotel (old building) - family of 6. Took 2 triple rooms, both of which were well maintained and clean. The whole GB cluster has a cozy feel and the staff were extremely nice and helpful.

I do hope GB could improve their website and the shower water pressure. Maybe some variety to the complimentary bfast menu will be good too.
Nevertheless, I would definitely return to GB. Siem Reap has captured a special place in my heart and my stay at GB is part of the reason.

P/s: try the noodle for breakfast at the shop right outside GB. it's the 3rd shop on the left along the road just outside GB (third shop frm the hair salon)

Room Tip: Ask to stay at the new building. Feels more spacioius. Nearer the kitchen and bar,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulat187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a variety or room types from bed and breakfast to superior hotel and Botique hotel The property is hidden down a side street walking distance to all the action. The hotel has many bungalows situated around pools and garden areas. Salt water pools are
great and relaxing after a long day. Has a nice Restraunt and bar. Many tuk tuk drivers that can take u downtown $1 or on tours, can arrange for return trips. The hotel staff is very friendly and are always trying to help you. Reception is great at reccomendations or coordinating tours for you. A great place will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattayaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

After moving from our horrible accommodation to the GB we were in heaven. The sparkling pool was what we needed, the friendly service from the lovely boy's at the reception was fantastic. We got sorted out with a wonderful tuk tuk driver that was at our service whenever we needed transport, the sunrise experience at Angkor Wat was sensational and our driver was very helpful with exploring the rest of the wonderful city. The location is also perfect, close to all the markets, bars and restaurants. Would love to return to Cambodia soon. Thank you guy's for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kibok0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just enjoyed 6 nights at Golden Banana Superior hotel -we loved Siem Reap and this is an excellent little boutique hotel to base yourself when visiting. Only 5min walk to main bar and restaurant area and easilly accomodated even at night once you get your bearings.

Hotel is down an alley off a little side street one of four properties almost adjacent in same ownership. Each is a little different.We stayed at Superior, which to be fair is showing its age a little but the very friendly staff and great service means nothing is an issue. Mind you we were on 2nd floor and the 2nd level staircase, which borders on being almost a ladder from 1st to 2nd floor rooms, is something to be aware of if you have an issue with steps.

The rooms are a good size -bathroom little dated but serviceable. Beds a little hard, but as are most in Asia. However because this hotel has such a great atmosphere and ambience and because the staff are so good it is easy to overlook any relative minor issues. Price is good too - we paid $45 night in November which includes a good breakfast. Siem Reap has a lots to offer and hotel will ogranise your tuk tuk for the day to visit temples etc. We would definitely go back to Siem Reap - the Angor temples are breathatalking spectacular we did 3 days with a break between which was a good idea if you have the time as your can spend 6-8 hours a day out there and only scratch the surface of what is there to see.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor room with balcony to avoid stairs if this is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Golden Banana is a place I would definitely come back to. Good location, only a fes minutes to walk to the center and pub street. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Two swimmingpools, roomservice and restaurant were available for guests. We did the temple and river/lake tour in one day. I would recommend to do it on two seperate days. Hire a tuck tuck driver for ine day will cost u abt USD 30.- he will take you to the temples. Entrance fee for one day at the temples is USD 20.-
Go and see the "floating village" crocodile farm and Tonle Sap Lake the next day. River cruise is USD 25.- per Person and takes abt 3-4 hrs. If you like you can also go around the mangrove forrest and village by small boat for USD 10.- but you will have to negogiate the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
DOM Siem Reap
DOM Siem Reap
#239 of 372 in Siem Reap
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#155 of 372 in Siem Reap
355 reviews
1.1 mi away
3 Monkeys Villa
3 Monkeys Villa
#171 of 310 in Siem Reap
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
#36 of 372 in Siem Reap
1,152 reviews
1.1 mi away
MEN's Resort & Spa - Gay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Boutique
Golden Temple Boutique
#100 of 372 in Siem Reap
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Banana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Banana Boutique Hotel

Address: Close to Pub Street and night life but located in a very quiet lane | Phum Wat Damnak, Khum Sala Komreuk, Krom 10, Siem Reap, Siem Reap 888, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $30 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Banana Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, free-standing, pagoda-like, authentically Khmer stylish ENSUITE rooms with A/C in room, most rooms have high ceiling fan creating a cool environment, hot water showers ensuite. Their is a garden & courtyard where you can spend a few hours reading beside our fish pond. Laundry service, friendly & capable staff who can speak various languages. Breakfast is included in your room rate. We have 2 swimming pools and a sauna with steam room. Our swimming pools are open to non guests who wish use our excel restaurant. Gay friendly, owned & operated and open to guests from all walks of life. The Golden Banana is centrally located in the old colonial area of Siem Reap Down Town, built in the tranquil secluded Khmer Village and only a few minutes stroll to the Old Market, shops, Pub Street, restaurants & nightlife. Only 10 minutes drive to the world-famous temple of Angkor Wat, Siem Reap International Airport & Tonle Sap Port. We can organise all manner of exciting tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Banana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing