We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, great pool, good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel
Ranked #112 of 499 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great pool, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have now stayed at all 3 parts of Golden Banana - the resort, hotel and B and B. All have good facilities, nice staff and each has its own pool. If you want to spend time here, the resort is a good option, with good big rooms and private space. If you plan to be out and about and just want somewhere to sleep, the B and B is a good option, and probably the best value. The only drawback with Golden Banana resort is that the breakfast you get is not much better than you get at the B and B.

Room Tip: For value, choose the B and B option. You still get access to a nice pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Hindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    158
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
43
169
87
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked this place for later this year when my family is coming over from the U.S. to spend Christmas. I booked because it is listed as "gay friendly". I'm gay and I like to support establishments that provide an atmosphere that is not discriminatory. My son is also gay but his mother is not so I wanted someplace that would be comfortable for all of us.

I live in Phnom Penh and had a long weekend to visit Siem Reap for some R and R and decided this would be a good time to check out the Golden Banana before my family comes so I headed up with my straight house mate for the weekend. This place is totally awesome. I wanted a good vibe but not one of flaming out all night pool parties. I'm not judgmental about it and there is a time for a good party, I just didn't want that with my son and his mom. Well, the place was perfect and my straight roommate wasn't sure why they even called it gay friendly. He's a little slow about these things, lol. The all male staff was over the top friendly and helpful. The guy gave me a free upgrade to a superior room when I checked in even though I didn't have a reservation. We ended up checking out a day early because we both needed to get back to Phnom Penh and that was also "no problem". The housekeeping staff was great and very unintrusive. The complex is a little sprawling but everything is really clean and well kept. The main pool is saltwater and sparkling clean. There other guest ranged from a straight honeymooning couple to a family with children to a gay couple to me and my straight room mate so the guest profile is quite diverse. The breakfast included is simple but enough with eggs your way, a baguette, fruit and coffee. You can add menu items for $2 but I found it to be enough. The hotel is just down a dusty alleyway far enough to be fairly quiet but you can be on Pub Street across the canal in 15 minutes. It is right by the night market and the old market. It isn't a total luxury accommodation like can be had in Siem Reap but if you want something authentic and local, this place is more than fine. Check it out and I'm pretty sure you won't have any regrets.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool on the second floor are really beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for several nights on our visit to Angkor Wat and we loved it.
The staff was super friendly and did a great job arranging all our tours and guides and transpo.
They keep it all in a log book and you sign off all along the way so there are no surprises at the end when checking out. The fact they keep all your charges in one bill is very convenient and relaxing as there is no need to carry money around the property. If you are relaxing by the pool and want a drink or snack, it comes and gets charged seamlessly to your room bill. At the the end all your charges are added up and you can pay by dollars, riel or credit card which is nice.
The room was very clean and the staff restocks your mini bar and bathroom daily.
The property is very well maintained and they clean the pool every morning. BTW, I would never dream of staying in Cambodia without a pool. The heat can really take it out of you and with hiking all around the temples and such, you almost can't wait to jump into a cold, clean body of water. This property maintains a salt water pool which is very nice on the skin without the extra chemicals.
A man from Holland is the owner and so the standards are very HIGH and European, so no need to worry about bugs or gross toilets or any of that stuff that can be a damper to an Asian Adventure.
They also have great access to guides for the temples, we got a young man named SANGHA, sounds like Songha, and he was pure magic. Very good english, very well trained and knew the history of the area better than most I am sure of that. He was orphaned because of the Khmer Rouge, so he came to Siem Reap to study as a monk at the monestary at Angkor Wat, so he knew so much more than someone who just came to this town to make money off the tourism boom. His stories were filled with facts and emotion and I would HIGHLY recommend him to anyone who is looking to have a great visit. We didn't need him for all 3 days, but we wanted to be around him and his energy, so we hired him for everyday we went to the complex. He knew the best places to go to avoid the crowds, get amazing pictures and stop for lunch.
In the end, there would be no other choice for me in this town.
It seems like this town has embraced the tourism to crazy levels and you can have a "four seasons" type hotel experience or a dumpy guesthouse for next to nothing. This little boutique is a beautiful hybrid and i can't wait to come and stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor and you will have 12 foot ceilings and great views. WE loved being up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdogg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Golden Bananna was a really nice place to stay.
Rooms were big and clean with all the details. Nice swiming pool to rest after visit the temples. Very friendly staff.
5 min walk from the restaurants and market area.
Gay Friendy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramiro_Suarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

It's a very nicely appointed hotel, quiet location, yet walking distance to old town and Pub Street. Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Comfy bed. Good wi-fi. If I had one suggestion it would be to have more consistent front desk/ reception staff. There's so much turnover there you explain something to one person and by the next day another person is there and the first person has not coordinated with the second. So things like extending reservations, booking a bus had to be done a few times over. Some language issues. We ordered a breakfast and changed our order, called the waiter over and told him. He said yes and then got us our original order anyway. We were like okay, he didn't get it, never mind we'll just eat this. Then he got us the new orders as well. And refused to do anything about it saying the kitchen had made it already. He should have just checked if two people really wanted four breakfasts. The staff is friendly and smiling but needs a little training on some issues like this especially as the hotel grows bigger. Other than that it was a very pleasant hotel and very nice to come back home to after a day of temple-hopping. It should introduce and push a happy hour on its rooftop more vigorously.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool facing balcony. Higher rooms have better views. But it's a steep stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandipRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I come to Siem Reap from Pattaya Thailand every month. Before I stayed for only 9 days. Now I will spend at least 15 days per month in Siem Reap. I've had to adjust my breakfast eatings and they were more than willing to accommodate me. I leave many things here so I don't have to lug them back and forth to Thailand monthly especially liquid stuff. And each time I arrive the A/C is on and the items I don't want are removed. I stay in a Superior room in the original part because the swimming pool is longer. Both swimming pools are salt water which means no ear infections. Have been coming here monthly since 2011 and will continue until "that bad place freezes over".

Room Tip: I have a huge room and no I won't tell you the number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice hotel in Siem Reap with 5 separate areas. Good clean rooms, reasonably priced. We had a great time with me and my family. The staff was friendly and the service was good. I would recommend the rooms in GB Villas II.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#120 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#98 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
#31 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
Rambutan Hotel Siem Reap
#112 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#9 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel

Property: Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel
Address: Close to Pub 'Street and night life but locatedin a very quiet lane | Phum Wat Damnak, Khum Sala Komreuk, Krom 10, Siem Reap, Siem Reap 888, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 499 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private,free-standing, pagoda-like, authentically Khmer stylish ENSUITE rooms with A/C in room, some room has high ceiling fan, hot water, garden & courtyard. Laundry service, friendly & capable staff. TV, no telephone, fridge or telephone inside the room for B&B rooms. Breakfast is included in the room rate. Swimming Pool for Superior Hotel and B&B guests. Swimming pool opens to all guests staying at Golden Banana. Gay friendly, owned & operated, but friendly and open to all guests from all walks of life.This hotel is centrally located in the old colonial area of Siem Reap Down Town,built in the tranquil secluded Khmer Village, few minutes stroll to the Old Market, shops, Pub Street, restaurants & nightlife. Only 10 minutes drive to the world-famous temple of Angkor Wat, & Siem Reap International Airport & Tonle Sap Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing