We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday getaway with a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #119 of 502 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The hotel was well presented with their friendly staffs as well as the services that they provided to us such as getting the transportation with their "tuk-tuk" driver and also getting the tour guide to the Angkor Wat tour. The decoration of the room was based on Khmer's traditional style. It was just nice, nothing fancy or classy. The view of the room is facing to the pool, so basically you get a nice view of the pool. The location of the hotel is a walking distance to the old market, roughly 10 minutes walk. If you're lazy, you can always take the "tuk-tuk". Across the old market, situated the famous Pub Street, where are all the happening hangouts and dinning places to eat and drink. Another 5 minutes walk, you can reach to the Night Market and Noon-Night Market, where you can buy some souvenirs at a very cheap price. One of the facilities that they have is the swimming pool which I really enjoy dipping myself for a swim before going into the town as well as after coming back from the town. They have a nice bar lounge which you can order your cocktails and enjoy your relaxing moments at the pool or beside the pool or even at the lounge area while using the free wifi from the hotel. Overall, I would say that this was among the best hotel that I've stayed. I will definitely come back again and stay at Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast. If you stay more than 5 nights then you'll get 1 complimentary lunch or dinner on the last day of your stay and 10% discount on the overall stay. least....................................................none.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing to the pool. Not noisy at all
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fin-Wawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Golden Banana Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 455 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2011

It is located a short walk across the river to the Old Market. The pool and courtyard area are lush and provide much needed relief from the heat. The room was small but charmingly decorated and clean and with AC. The restaurant serves delicious food at reasonable prices. The front desk hooked us up with a tuk tuk driver and a guide for touring Angkor Wat. Both were friendly and worked very hard to get us to the ruins and to explain everything we were seeing. One night the power went out (and stayed out for several hours) during a big storm. That made sleeping a bit uncomfortable but that certainly was an event outside of the establishment's control.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NextPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

For the life of me I cannot fathom why this is Lonely Planet's pick for Siem Reap. Yes, the staff are very friendly and helpful but it is dirty, over-priced and in a poor location.

Maybe two years ago (when the latest edition of LP for Cambodia was published) it was in a better state or under different ownership..... But now it is certainly not somewhere to be recommended.

There are plenty of other similarly priced hotels with MUCH more to offer in Siem Reap.

(Just a thought: the Golden Banana is "gay friendly, owned and operated". Maybe it's the best gay-friendly hotel in Siem Reap and that's why so many people laud the place?)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKcpl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We arrived here late after a very long and difficult trip from Thailand. We were greeted with a cool towel and a glass of iced tea. We did not have a reservation but they had a nice room for us of the little courtyard. Rooms were clean and nice and we felt very safe. The location was fantastic, a 5 minute walk to the markets, pub st. And the down town. We really liked having the pool after and in between our visits to the wats. Would stay here again when we come back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kateahugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

A friend told me about the Golden Banana, so I decided to give it a try - and I am so pleased that I did. Its location is off the beaten path, though very near it, only five minutes by foot. The Superior rooms have balconies and overlook the refreshing pool. The tuk tuk drivers and tour guides are completely helpful and personable. The bar is impressive, thanks to Tina for the Cosmopolitan. My room was gorgeous. But the real treat - besides the name of the place - is the staff. Everyone was friendly, thoughtful, anticipating my needs and wants, and absolutely sweet. I am already plotting my return! Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krister174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed for 2 days...and I must admit...that in all of Asia...nobody can beat the Cambodians for being friendly and helpful...this place is out of the world...the staff are great,,,very helpful...nothing was trouble to them ...were met at the port...used their Tuk Tuk driver for the 2 days...the breakfast was what we needed...everything was so clean.would stay again here

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwigaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

My partner and I recently stayed at the Golden Banana in Siem Reap. This was our first time visiting Cambodia. We cannot wait to get back next year!! The staff is amazing!! They would do anything for you to make your stay more enjoyable. We made friends at this hotel that we will have forever. We are so happy that someone recommended this place to us! We already have and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dbrazeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Paradise Angkor Villa Hotel
Paradise Angkor Villa Hotel
#257 of 361 in Siem Reap
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heaven Angkor Residence
Heaven Angkor Residence
#163 of 361 in Siem Reap
36 reviews
1.6 mi away
Achhariyak Angkor Boutique
Achhariyak Angkor Boutique
#155 of 361 in Siem Reap
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Angkor Davann Hotel
Angkor Davann Hotel
#273 of 361 in Siem Reap
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
#35 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,119 reviews
1.1 mi away
3 Monkeys Villa
3 Monkeys Villa
#166 of 292 in Siem Reap
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Banana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Banana Boutique Hotel

Address: Close to Pub Street and night life but located in a very quiet lane | Phum Wat Damnak, Khum Sala Komreuk, Krom 10, Siem Reap, Siem Reap 888, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $35 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Banana Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, free-standing, pagoda-like, authentically Khmer stylish ENSUITE rooms with A/C in room, most rooms have high ceiling fan creating a cool environment, hot water showers ensuite. Their is a garden & courtyard where you can spend a few hours reading beside our fish pond. Laundry service, friendly & capable staff who can speak various languages. Breakfast is included in your room rate. We have 2 swimming pools and a sauna with steam room. Our swimming pools are open to non guests who wish use our excel restaurant. Gay friendly, owned & operated and open to guests from all walks of life. The Golden Banana is centrally located in the old colonial area of Siem Reap Down Town, built in the tranquil secluded Khmer Village and only a few minutes stroll to the Old Market, shops, Pub Street, restaurants & nightlife. Only 10 minutes drive to the world-famous temple of Angkor Wat, Siem Reap International Airport & Tonle Sap Port. We can organise all manner of exciting tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Banana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing