We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Angkor Archaeological Park
from $59.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $84.00
More Info
Reviews (4,798)
Filter reviews
3,234 results
Traveler rating
2,819
349
48
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,819
349
48
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day pass tuk tuk bucket list three days smaller temples ta prohm small circuit take your time banteay srei once in a lifetime awe inspiring khmer empire bayon temple avoid the crowds angkor sunrise sites
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,234 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Yeah it’s pretty crowded but it’s worth putting up with it to see some amazing photo opportunities and just being there to experience the ambience.

Thank Seaside39203036469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday

When you get in line at the official ticket building, be sure to read the English signs describing what is sold at each window. Many guests failed to notice that there were dedicated windows for certain number of day (as in, 3-day) passes. You had to wait at a different window for other quantities of days (as in, 1-day.) They take a digital photo, no need to provide a paper passport photo. The passes are checked at each temple you go to.

Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We visited the tmoles of Angkor for six days. We didn't want to hurry. The temples and the huge water reservoirs ate amazing when you think about, that they had no heavy machinery to build all that. Angkor Wat is the most popular and most restored place. But you should also have a look at the temples more outside (Roulus group for example). You can rent a tuktuk for a whole day and the driver will wait in front of each temple and handy you cold water. We can also recommend the rising ballon nearby to have a look above the whole region.

Dennis and Anna

Thank Dennis_Anna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

What an amazing place, thousand year history full of atmosphere (Also very hot in November). No wonder this is a favourite of film makers. if it is possible come early to avoid the obnoxious noisy, pushy Chines groups. Has no one told them how to behave?

Thank Biggles147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Entire park is awesome and one wonders what happened to the local civilisation to lost it for 400 years, until the French explorers found it. A must visit place.

Thank Paragpuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

OK, here goes... This is a traveller's advisory on the best way to do Angkor in 3 days. I researched the hell out of this and for the most part it went exactly as I intended it. Avoided most of the crowds, where possible, and got everything we wanted from our visit :)

We landed in Siem Reap around noon so after dropping our bags and freshening up at the hotel we hailed a tuk-tuk and headed off to the Angkor National Museum to get some history down us. To be honest, it's a little pricey, and focuses mainly on the religious aspects of the Khmer, which is definitely a major part of their culture, but I wanted a little more than just Gods and worship. Anyway, our driver said he'd wait for us outside (he was brilliant, and we kept him for 3 days. I'll post his details at the end) and we then went to the Angkor Ticket Office to get our 3 day passes.
Now, here's one of the things you may not know. Get there for around 4:00-4:30pm. They turn off the machines at 4:20pm, so get in the queue. At 4:30pm they turn them back on and all the tickets they produce then are for the following day. Doesn't matter which one you get as you can enter Angkor after 5pm without using one of your days up on the ticket. Try and get a ticket for the following day though as it saves a bit of confusion and the possibility that someone might over-zealously punch your ticket.
We then went into Angkor Wat via the West Gate and got in there to watch the sunset and get some great photos of the bas reliefs on that side lit up in the setting sun. Brilliant!

So, Day 1 of our actual tour of Angkor goes like this:
Picked up at 7am from the hotel, and get into Angkor just as the temples are opening at 7:30am (there are a few exceptions, but most open at this time)
Head straight to Angkor Thom, through the South Gate (great pics)
Inside Angkor Thom do this route:
Bayon
Baphuon
Phimeanakas
Preah Palilay
Terrace of the Leper King
Terrace of the Elephants
Then out via the Victory Gate to:
Thommanon & Chau Say (next to each other)
Ta Keo
Ta Nei
...And then you're done for the day! This took us up to around 1pm. Finishing at Ta Nei was great as it's very shaded and it was getting really warm.

Day 2 is a really big day with a LOT of walking and climbing and it looks like this:
Pickup at 7am again and straight to Ta Prohm for opening at 7:30am.
Getting into Ta Prohm this early beat ALL the crowds, and believe me this place gets packed day! We almost has it to ourselves! Anyway, from here we go...
Banteay Kdei
Sra Srang
Pre Rup
East Mabon
Ta Som
Neak Pean
Preah Khan
.... and that's day 2 done! Again, we were out of there early afternoon, about 1:30pm. We started to meet some tours coming around the circuit the opposite direction when we got to Ta Som and Neak Pean, but it wasn't too bad. Just find a shady spot to chill and let them pass. It'll soon become peaceful again.
And that's where we said a sad goodbye to our tuk-tuk driver. We had him for those 3 excursions and he only charged us $13, $15 and $18 dollars for the days, based on distance travelled. We had a blast with him :)

Day 3 is definitely to be done in a car. We got the hotel to sort us an SUV and driver for this. $50.
Pickup at the hotel at 6am and headed straight to Angkor Wat East entrance. Got there for about 6:10am and there was hardly anyone there. Everyone is over at the West entrance after sunrise photos. We weren't bothered about that. Leisurely walk into Angor Wat and head straight up to the 2nd level to get into the queue for the central tower which open at 6:40am. We got there at 6:30am and there was already about 50 people in the queue. This might seem like a failure but trust me, you do NOT want to leave it any later. They only let so many up there at once, so being some of the first up was great and it's big enough that you're not being crowded and you can get plenty of uninterrupted photos if you're just a little savvy about it. By the time we came down the queue was ridiculous! Anyway we spent the next couple of hours walking around Angkor Wat and having a good look at everything before it got super crowded. Most tour parties arrive about 9am and we were out of there before 8:30am.
Got the driver to take us next to Presat Kravan, which is a short stop, but worth it. Then on to Banteay Samre, which even our driver had never been to so he came in with us! :) Beautiful place.
Lastly, we headed off to Banteay Srei. Get there for about 10:10am and it was really crowded compared to all the other places we'd been. We were kind of expecting this though. It's a trade-off really, and couldn't be avoided. We'd have ended up hitting the crowds somewhere else if we'd swapped things around. Good thing about Srei is that it's quite small and the people move through it pretty quickly so you can hang back and let tours pass to get the photos you want, etc. It's easily the most beautiful of all the temples, and well worth the long drive up there.

So, that's that. Other tips for Angkor:
Definitely get your ticket the day before you go! You won't believe how much time that'll save you.
Take umbrellas! You'll thank me :) Jeezus it's hot!
Take plenty of water. This can't be understated enough! I know there's sellers everywhere but you need more while you're clambering around the temples.
Take the opportunity to grab some of the fruit from the vendors. It'll really keep you going. A bag of pineapple and a bag of mango will cost you $1 for both.
Grab a copy of the Ancient Angkor book by Michael Freeman from the ticket office. It's a really concise guide to each temple. It's sold by nearly every tout in Angkor, too. I was lucky enough to already have one given to me before we even left for Cambodia. Found it quite valuable. You can also get it on Amazon for about £3.
We didn't hire a guide. I just did my research. Watched the documentaries on YouTube, etc. And read the above book, and took it in with us. The guides can be worth it if you're really looking to get all the myths and stories, but they can go on and on and make your day super long. Honestly, I knew enough by the time we went to get everything we wanted from it, and also tell my wife about all the religious legends, too.
There's plenty of stalls selling souvenirs, etc. Some of the larger temples have actual clothes stores and more. If you're looking for t-shirts, or those baggy pants that are actually really good for doing temples in, then this is the place. You'll get everything a LOT cheaper than in town. Just do the whole haggling bit, and walking away and you'll get a massive discount.

If I think of anything else I'll add edits :)
Hope this helps.... HAVE FUN!

Tuk-tuk driver - Mr Heang - 089 54 14 94 / 015 83 22 84.

5  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a beautiful park and area to take your time and wonder around. Temples everywhere with each one having their own story.

Thank RuthyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was very interesting. Lots of people so you need to take your time. Hot and humid as the jungle is.

Thank I3455TXmaryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A must visiting when visiting Cambodia. Pictures do not do these temples justice. Such a great was to learn about the past history of the country and the culture.

Thank chapman-chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time at the park and tour guide told us many stories those concern about the temple, the tour guide was very helpful and he also helped us to buy some great drinks and souvenirs

Thank Roving824709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews