We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Delivers what it promised"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Angkor Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Ranked #85 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Delivers what it promised"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

I am pleased to stay here..and I believe the hotel's asset relies on polite, courteous staff.

Upon arriving I never thought I will be given some welcome drinks, and some cold towel to beat the heat after a 5 hour car ride from Phnom Penh.

The hotel is also affiliated with the new Angkor Museum and in just a matter of few minutes, the museum staff came to pick us up!

We had a worry free trip of the Angkor Wat, and other temples and everything from car transfers, guide were arranged by the hotel to your liking

The hotel no matter quaint and small it may seem, boasts of very courteous and polite staff. Thank you, and for sure--I will recommend this hotel to friends for a siem reap adventure!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bythegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    501
    82
    18
    7
See reviews for
183
566
181
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

An excellent hotel. Staff very attentive, they couldnt do enough for you. Hotel and Restaurant very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agedbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

Booking and communication via internet was smooth! We stayed only 2 nights for USD $50 for a suite! Big bed, huge room... we did not intend to swim thus the stay was value for money. On the day of arrival, the hotel provided a tuk tuk driver to pick us up from the Airport - complimentary!

Even though check-in was stated only at 2pm, we reached Angkor Pearl as early as 7:30 am. We had breakfast in their small restaurant and our room was ready by 8 am.

The hotel is situated in between some row of shophouses (unlike the grand hotels), but it is totally fine as we were always traveling in a tuk tuk. If we were to travel a single tuk tuk ride from hotel to the bustling Old Market/Night Market, it will take us about few minutes at only USD $1.

Except that the bathtub area was small (even for me, an asian), we were very satisfied with the room. Multiple international TV programs (even korean and Hong Kong shows) are screened, but they have Khmer voiceover. Most of the time we watch Animal Planet, Discovery Channel and Cartoon Network!

Most staff speak basic english, even the security guard was friendly and remembered their guests.

The best experience in the hotel would be massage service after a long day. For only USD $5, you get an hour of traditional khmer full body massage (Must try!), $7 for one and half hour, $10 for two hours! My partner and I did two hours for both nights! The massage ladies were decent, skillful and friendly. On the 2nd night of massage we booked the same ladies again. We thought it was even more worth it than those massage services along the Old Market as ours was held in our hotel room, after our shower and feeling refreshed.

Enough said, this is perfect for us as we were traveling on budget yet we get to stay in the hotel suite with wonderful experience with their staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeykexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed at the Angkor Pearl for two nights with several family members. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel splendidly decorated and the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful! The hotel had great tuk-tuk drivers like Sam who were so helpful, he took us all around Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples, he was so helpful with the children and was a very knowledgeable tour guide! I cannot say enough nice things about the Angkor Pearl and Sam the Tuk-Tuk Driver!! They made our stay in Cambodia most memorable!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We weren't sure about the Angkor Pearl, but it received excellent reviews on Trip Advisor---and boy are we glad we listened!!
The staff are very polite and courteous. The room was very clean. Comfy beds. Hot water and AC! (You don't often get those for under $20)
We also hired a Tuk Tuk through the hotel to take us to the temples. His name is Tien. He's Fantastic!!!! We werent too sure about what we wanted to see, so we let Tien take us where ever he wanted. It was awesome! One day he's hoping to be a tour guide so at each temple, he gave us a run down o it's history. You certainly don't need to hire a tour guide if Tien is your driver!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

I really enjoyed my trip in siem reap , esp at Angkor pearl hotel , the room is beautitful , clean and staffs are friendly and i just love everything about angkor pearl :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

My mom and I are Chinese, we went to Siem Reap from Feb. 21 to Feb.25. On Feb. 23, I forgot to lock the suitcase before we went to see the sunrise, and when we came back after dinner, I found my money was gone. All my 637 dollar and 685 ringgit!!! Manager of the hotel said that, they didn't take the responsibility for any loss, it's all my fault. Well, I have a travel insurance, what I need is just a report. I call the emergency number 012-969991, but no one answer the phone! I just ask the manager for help, but he even don't know the phone number!!!
After the cops come, they just asked me and the housekeeper what happened. When the housekeeper explain, I found she knew what I put in my suitcase, and she even knew exactly which is at the bottom and which is on the top!!! After I scream for investigate, they search the room, and then just standing there chat with the housekeeper!!! Cops said that they cannot find the money, and also cannot find the thief. If I wanna make sure the housekeeper took my money or not, they can take her to swear just like what they did in ancient times!!!
Finally, cops gave a report in Cambodian to the manager, and ask him to translate into English for me. All the tourist cops CANNOT SPEAK ENGLISH!!! But the manager took the report away,he said that they don't take the responsibility, if he gave me the report, that means it's their fault!!! I explain to them again and again that I just need a report to prove my loss, so I can go to claim. But he didn't gave it to me, he just said that he will discuss with the police and gave me a final answer the day after, because they are tired, they wanna go to sleep!!!
The day after a Cambodian-Chinese lady heard we talking about my loss in the hotel, and she helped us to argue with them. The manager refused to give me that report, because he's afraid that I would sue him, even I explain several times that I just want to claim!!! No matter how many times I ask them to call the cops, the manager just told me that the cops won't show up. They just don't take the responsibility, and they just won't gave me the report!!!
They said that they own another hotel near old market, and they have lots of guests. They don't care about their reputation.

Finally, with the great help of the Cambodian-Chinese lady, I got $200 from the hotel.

Next time I'll remember to take all the money with me!!!!
Because there's no law at all!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Pat_Tang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmuynih, Manager at Angkor Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review regarding
your most recent stay with us at Angkor Pearl Hotel. The situation that
took place during your stay was one that was very unfortunate. Safety and
Security is one of our key focuses for our guests. The hotel continues to
advise all of our guests to please travel responsibly. In doing our part,
we provide each guests the rules and regulations in each room. One rule
states “The management regrets to inform you that we can’t be held
responsible for any loss in the room. Valuables can be left in the Hotel
Safe during your stay.” We provide this amenity to try to prevent
inconveniences in order for all of our guests to have a great stay with us
without worry for their belongings.

We understood you carried travel insurance and were advised by your
insurance company that they could not insure loss of money. We have the
same policy because it is very difficult to prove how much currency our
guests carries, unless it was documented before leaving it in the safe
with management. Standard Policy of leaving your valuables with the Hotel
Safe includes both parties signing off on what is placed in the safe and a
copy of the signed agreement is given to the guest, in turn leaving the
hotel fully responsible.

We were not able to provide an appropriate report due to the lack of
knowledge of the true amount lost. We were put in an uncomfortable
situation when you asked us to help fabricate a receipt to provide your
insurance company to claim it back in your country. This would’ve
compromise our values as a company.
We care highly of our reputation for both establishments and carry the
same ethical standards. Perhaps it was a misunderstanding from the
Cambodian/Chinese translator.

Cambodia is a developing country, but there are laws. We hope you
understand that we tried our very best to handle the situation in the most
lawful way possible without jeopardizing either party’s reputation. The
loss of your valuables is truly regrettable, but we had hoped that the
final decision of management to lessen your loss by offering some
severance and comping your stay would alleviate some of the stress during
your stay with us. In essence, as we parted ways, your “thank you” and
smile was one which we interpreted that everything was kosher and that you
were satisfied with the result, under the circumstances. Unfortunately,
there still seemed to be some misunderstandings, but do hope that the
explanation above clarifies some Policies and Procedures we uphold within
our organization.

We thank you for your patronage and wish you safe travels on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#78 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#39 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#127 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#42 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#97 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Pearl Hotel

Property: Angkor Pearl Hotel
Address: Tapoul Village, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Team New Services New facilities New ways to Make you smile Oct. 2011. New and improved Angkor Pearl ensuring the best value in Cambodian Hotels run and managed by Cambodian-Americans. At Angkor Pearl Hotel, we pride ourselves on quality of service on a genuinely high level and an emphasis on catering to our guest’s every need with courtesy and warmth. Angkor Pearl Hotel is Cambodian owned, operated, and managed by Cambodian Americans since February of 2010. The story behind the pearl dates back years when Cambodia gained independence from France and King Sihanouk called the Capitol "The Pearl of Asia." Hence, we call ourselves The Pearl of Siem Reap. The Angkor Pearl Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Siem Reap. A brisk 10 minute walk lead you to the center market where you can shop for food, clothes, souvenirs, and many more. Getting to the Temples is just as easy. A scenic 15 minute drive will take you back in time to the Khmer civilization where you will discover all of Angkor’s natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing