We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam "Superhero" Tuk Tuk”
Review of Angkor Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Ranked #99 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I would highly recommend Sam the Tuktuk driver should you decide to visit Siem Reap. His English is excellent, and he offers great customised tours around Siem Reap. We went to Siem Reap in its worst season (September), the monsoon season and despite the flooded road, we still managed to enjoy Siem Reap at its best, all thanks to Sam!

The hotel we stayed in was ok, and you could ask for Sam Tuktuk prior to your arrival to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AzimahArbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

Great value for a 3* hotel. Walking distance to supermarkets and ATMs, and only 2 min tuk tuk (1usd) to bar street.
Only 15 mins by tuk tuk to angkor way, and hotel has it's own tuk tuk drivers they can book for you. We had Sam for 3 days taking us around. He was just fantastic, and speaks perfect English which really helps.
We even extended our original stay we liked it there so much! Only shame is there's no pool to escape the heat in!
Breakfast is pretty basic menu to choose from, but it's all fresh and quite ok.
Staff were all wonderful, and only to happy to help you out.
Just beware, pillows are all very high and hard, so for anyone with smaller neck and shoulders :( not so good. Everything else about the room wad great though, nice and spacious!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyesright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We just came back from 22 days trip in South East Asia. We definitely recommend Angkor Pearl hotel to stay in Siem Reap. Hotel is clean, rooms are big and king size beds are comfortable. Showers, restrooms are clean. The staff were helpful. Hotel is very close to man restaurant area, night market...
Advice night market for shopping...Always negotiate the price..

We had a guide which hotel helped us to find it. His name is Doss Sardun (ddoss41@hotmail.com) and guide for long time in the area. He spend about 3 days with us and I think its the best to have guide in the area. We learnt a lot from him about Cambodia, families, life, history, temples, Buddhism and so on...

Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oznar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Partly inspired by ‘Eat Pray Love’, the movie starring Julia Roberts – I decided to spend my entire summer vacationing in Cambodia as well as Vietnam. With that in mind, there was no way I was going to eat, pray and love without visiting the charming and quaint town of Siem Reap.

I searched through many different hotels, until I decided upon Angkor Pearl as it was at a great location, great price and the fact that it won The Traveler’s Choice® 2011 award really swayed my decision in choosing Angkor Pearl.

I booked the ‘Pearl Suite’ for my stay and I loved it. It was great value for the price, the room was extremely spacious, comfortable and clean, and the sunset from the room’s balcony/patio was a magnificent site to see. Not to mention the ambiance and décor was both tasteful and contemporary. I felt like I could have permanently stayed there as it had everything I needed; living room space, king size bed, bathroom as well as a balcony that were all separately sectioned from one another.

The staff was also very welcoming and warm. Service was fast. And the food that can be ordered from the Hotel’s restaurant was delicious indeed. Peter the hotel’s owner speaks English and was so helpful trying to accommodate my every need and was very informative about the town, he had amazing hospitality and gave me many tips, advice and suggestion to make my stay the best ever. All the staff speaks English as well. There is also free breakfast included! My favorite was the chicken fried noodles. If you are worried about getting around – worry not as there was always a friendly and knowledgeable Tuk Tuk driver outside the hotel ready to escort, and because of the hotel’s great location; you are less than a 10 minute walk from the Town’s awesome restaurants, bars and markets.

I am definitely recommending Angkor Pearl Hotel to all my friends, family and future Siem Reap visitors. I stayed at various hotels in my travels throughout Cambodia and Vietnam, some I would never go back too unless I was without a choice. Angkor Pearl is indeed befitting of its name, a true gem.

Room Tip: Free wifi, great food at the restaurant and delicious drinks from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Savonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I recently made an Indochina trip, made my way through 5 cities with friends, and I must say of all the hotels we stayed at, this is the best one. The main reason is the price. It's a steal to pay for such a small amount and get treatment you would normally get from higher priced hotels.

The hotel is new, it's very clean, there's free wifi in the rooms, there's also a couple of computers to use at the lobby. The room was spacious, clean and had that classic, you could never go wrong design. The staff is fantastic - very attentive and polite, and the breakfast is superb. You can choose from different sets, I choose the one with rice, but all of them looked appetizing!

The hotel doesn't have a full website yet, it's soon to be up, as during our stay there - a couple of guys were shooting pictures and videos of the hotel and staff for the website they were designing, so now is really a good time to check the hotel out - before it gets too famous, I guess. Haha.

If you choose this hotel, and I think you should, make sure to ask for Sam, the tuktuk driver. When touring the temples, you're going to need a driver, and Sam is a very nice fella, telling us stories about the temples we're visiting - even providing us water bottles and a map of the Angkor complex. He has very good English, and is very polite, unlike other drivers who are just pushy. He even offered to take us to the travel agency where we can buy our bus tickets to Saigon. He is more like a guide, you know - it was a very comforting feeling to have Sam as driver. You may also contact him through Facebook at 'SamTukTuk'.

The was one minor thing though, the housekeeping forgot to put a roll of tissue in the restroom on our first day. No biggie, I just want to be fair to the other hotels, haha, all my reviews get positives and negatives - can't seem to find a negative for the Angkor Pearl! Haha.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yjgisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Hotel is located in a very quite street, it is a very good place to rest and recoporate after exploring the temples.

The rooms are large with lovely high ceilings as well as very comfortable king sized beds.

We ate dinners in the Hotels restaurant and would highly recommend it. The food was delicious!

The staff were very helpful and try thier best to accommodate all your needs/requests.

All and all a wonderful place to stay at a very good price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurrysPostLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Great value for money.
Very clean.
Very very friendly and helpful staff.
Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimathoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#89 of 374 in Siem Reap
880 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#45 of 374 in Siem Reap
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#165 of 374 in Siem Reap
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#146 of 374 in Siem Reap
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#134 of 374 in Siem Reap
596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#152 of 374 in Siem Reap
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Pearl Hotel

Address: Tapoul Village, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $24 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Team New Services New facilities New ways to Make you smile Oct. 2011. New and improved Angkor Pearl ensuring the best value in Cambodian Hotels run and managed by Cambodian-Americans. At Angkor Pearl Hotel, we pride ourselves on quality of service on a genuinely high level and an emphasis on catering to our guest’s every need with courtesy and warmth. Angkor Pearl Hotel is Cambodian owned, operated, and managed by Cambodian Americans since February of 2010. The story behind the pearl dates back years when Cambodia gained independence from France and King Sihanouk called the Capitol "The Pearl of Asia." Hence, we call ourselves The Pearl of Siem Reap. The Angkor Pearl Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Siem Reap. A brisk 10 minute walk lead you to the center market where you can shop for food, clothes, souvenirs, and many more. Getting to the Temples is just as easy. A scenic 15 minute drive will take you back in time to the Khmer civilization where you will discover all of Angkor’s natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Angkor Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing