We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the bbq, felt rushed through meal”

Cambodian BBQ Restaurant
Ranked #208 of 892 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cambodian BBQ provides a cozy and comfortable atmosphere to enjoy the most social dish on the Khmer menu. Phnom Pleung literally translated as "Fire Mountain" is a unique style BBQ centrally positioned on the table so everyone can relish in the hands-on dining experience. You will be spoilt for choice as you select from our variety of fresh meats on offer, such as crocodile, ostrich, chicken, beef or seafood. Cambodian BBQ is the perfect place to discover new sensations and enjoy a memorable moment with family or friends.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Liked the bbq, felt rushed through meal”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

In spite of existing sweltering heat, the DIY bbq looked fun, so I went for it. Prices were a little high for the area, but I enjoyed the arrangement of exotic meats. My one major complaint was that the staff was a bit over eager to continue to place meats on my "grill," so I felt like I was in a race to eat instead of being able to pace myself and relax after a day of travel. I am sure they intended to be helpful, but I would have preferred they show me the first couple go-arounds and then let me take it from there. At one point I told them I planned to take a break from cooking the meats and they did pause a bit, but not for long. In any case, in spite of the hurried service and prices, the meal was good and the soup that cooked around the bbq was fabulous.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GM1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angk0r_w, Director of Sales at Cambodian BBQ Restaurant, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.

Your comments been took as serious mater and talked in the meeting, and we really appreciated for your valued feedback.
We try our best to improve our service and overall qualities of food.

Best regards
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    231
    155
    58
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overrated restaurant”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Not sure how they got listed in LP but this was a disappointing restaurant. Food wasn't that tasty and everything was overpriced, especially the beer ($2!). I'd suggest going elsewhere for better BBQ.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cowboy_Buddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice BBQ”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very unique set of BBQ with Khmer style sause along with exotic meats (such as, crocodile, frog legs, ostrich, kangaroo, etc).. Yummy

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank VOOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Khmer bbq and steamboat experience.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Cambodian BBQ is very much like any other Asian steamboat and sizzling plate-style experience but my husband and I were curious to try it anyway. It comes with a range of meat i.e chicken, beef, pork etc. but requested to keep exotic meats off the menu (i.e crocodile and kangaroo). It was a good meal but we were fascinated with the use of pork fat as a grilling base! The waiters will show you how the BBQ works - which i think is a nice touch for first timers like us. And once your pork fat runs out....they simply replace it!

The service was good. The only downside was the size of our table for two. It was really tight considering we had a sizzling plate in the middle of our table, along with a serving of rice, noodles, meat and vegetables. I kept knocking my chopsticks off the table and had to place our beers on the empty table next to us to make space. If you are dining for two, I recommend you opt for a table for four to give you a more comfortable dining experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mleong13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting bbq”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

They served a variety of meats. The usual beef, pork, chicken, fish, squid was offered. You can also choose to have kangaroo, crocodile and ostrich. It was a mixture of hotpot and bbq. Great location right in the middle of Pub Street.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank IsabelleGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambodian BBQ Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cambodian BBQ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing