We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Traditional Khmer Dance at ACODO Orphanage
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Siem Reap Province, Cambodia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“zoo”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Would you have strangers walking in the room of your kids to take some photographs?
Please start thinking before you "help"!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
18 Thank Tohamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    7
    4
    1
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saigon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Should be whats best for the kids - not what will get more money in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have been - I do believe all children, orohans or abandoned should be supported, as it is none of their own doing. However, I cannot imagine these children are enjoying performing every night of the week. This should be one or twice a week and only if that is to give the children something to look forward to. These kids should not be performing every night.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
243 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Genuine, not a rip off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Judging from the mixed reviews we decided to see for ourselves. We believe it is genuine and they do a good job by offering 76 orphans a safe home and the chance to learn, even English. The person who set it up risked his own money, volunteers from here and abroad make it work.
They do offer commission but they need people to visit and make donations which supports the orphanage.
The performance was good and the kids enjoyed it, afterwards they loved meeting the audience. Making a donation is the right thing to do.
We have seen other such projects in other parts of the world and they need our support to survive. They have ambitious plans for the future, we wish them good luck.
If you have time - 7 days plus - you could offer your time and expertise. See an earlier review from a girl who spent two weeks working here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lagoon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely show - worth going”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

After reading mixed reviews about the performance, I thought I would see it for myself. I brought my two young children and they loved it. The children danced very well and the costumes are nice. More importantly the children seemed to enjoy themselves. Learning your country's traditional dance for fundraising purposes doesn't seem like an awful thing considering the alternative (living on the street, begging, etc).

I was happy to make a donation.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyAtLargeinSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hadley rille
Level Contributor
294 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Child labor? Possible children sold by parents into money making enterprise?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Orphan tourism is a scandal in siem reap. Avoid. Give your money to internationally accredited organizations. New "orphanages" have sprung up all around siem reap in recent years because of the huge steady flow of western tourists and their dollars. Don't be suckered.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank jmjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traditional Khmer Dance at ACODO Orphanage also viewed

 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Traditional Khmer Dance at ACODO Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing