We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most”

Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre
Ranked #40 of 180 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Better than most”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I went with my daughter and we really enjoyed it. If you take your time here you can get great value for money and super impressive photographs! I've been to a few butterfly farms, especially in Malaysia and this one is by far the best. You must check it out not only for the butterfly but the beautiful gardens they are housed in, complete with some ponds. We didn't have a guide but I'm a nature geek so we were ok. You can check out the lifecycle just by viewing the different stages live in action. As a bonus there were a few other insects and arachnids on display.. beetles, tarantula, stick insects etc. If I was more prepared I'd have brought sandwiches so we could have a picnic in there, it's so peaceful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dangibas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    129
    44
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice to see but not a must do”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stopped on the way back from Banteay Srei, was okay but if you are pressed for time I wouldn't stop , we weren't in a hurry so enjoyed having a look , not as many butterflies as I thought there would be.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jbrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
178 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“butterfly buzzy !”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stopped for a short visit on way back from temples and found it to be full of butterflies with a young guide who showed us the different species of butterflies, caterpillars, pupae, scorpions, stick insects and beetles. worth the modest admission fee and allows you to see some great species close up.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived late in the day and they were about to close, but we still got to have a wander round and enjoy the beautiful butterflies. It's a photographers dream. Worth a visit for families.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Finlay122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Change from Temple Hopping”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre is a small, but beautifully maintained facility. We were given an excellent brief tour by a very enthusiastic guide, who obviously loves his work with butterflies - and subsequently we were able to roam about and make our own observations (and take photos).
I found this a very relaxing break from the 'high culture' temple hopping around Angkor Park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TiggerInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre also viewed

 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing