We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid”
Review of Samsara - CLOSED

Samsara
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Siem Reap
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“avoid”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We made the mistake of following the re-issued Lonely Planet recommendation on this place before checking the reviews on Tripadvisor, and instead trusting our instincts on seeing the jack-of-all-trades menu. After a long delay, our 'Indian' meal featuring 'lamb from Australia' arrived from *outside* the restaurant! and was awful in every respect - we only ate any because were tired and hungry after temple treading. Avoid this place, and go 20 metres up the same street to Kerala - excellent, fast, cheap, and an Indian chef who knows what he is doing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellers129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Samsara serves anything and everything - loads of choice”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

With an extensive menu ranging from pizza, pasta, burgers, and traditional western fare Samsara also had traditional Khmer food as well as Indian. There really is something for everyone.
However, having such a large variety of food does mean that the quality of the food suffers a little
All very nice but nothing special and the atmosphere was lacking somewhat
Cheap as chips mind with stir fried vegetables and pork, chapatti, boiled rice, dhal, 2 draft beers and a large bottle of water only coming to $9, so you can't complain too much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank climbinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best madras I have had”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Not the cheapest meal in the town but the food was very very good. Madras, rice, naan and two beers for usd 10

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 22johnny22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

First night in Siem reap I travelled trough "Pub Street" and was attracted by the nice seating ...it was a big mistake ...the spring rolls were not good and I did not finished them ..same for the main dish which I bearely touched ...I payed the bill and went elsewhere ...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pbxl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive and not authentic Indian”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I had dinner here to change from Cambodian food after a few days. My Tiger prawn thali was cooked somewhere else, the prawns were not tiger prawns just 5 sad normal prawns and it was not even hot. The service was slow and not too attentive. For the price it was very poor indeed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperStinaLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samsara also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing