We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top little Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samsara - CLOSED

Samsara
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Top little Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

This small Indian Restaurant is in the alley that runs next to Pub Street in Siem Reap. There are heaps of restaurants to choose from in this street but we both felt like Indian, so we gave this restaurant a shot. We are very glad we did.
It has a great menu, with all the Indian favourites available. It was good to sit near the outside & watch all the goings on in this little alley.
We chose Tandori Chicken, Mutton Rogan Josh, Butter Chicken, Basmati rice, garlic naan & raita. All were beautifully cooked, very tasty & spiced just right to give a nice amount of heat without setting your mouth on fire. Both Indian & Cambodian beer available on the menu.
There is an ice cream cart set up opposite the restaurant, on the other side of the alley if you need to cool your taste buds down after your meal.
Great food, service & atmosphere at a very resonable price.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Indian chef??? really there isnt even a kitchen attached!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

we went tp this restaurant on the previous review. Its in a side alley parallel to Pub Street and that would be about the only accurate thing. It is a small shop front with tables inside and out with counter at the back and what appears to be small room behind this. after we ordered the waitress walked down the alley and round a corner and appeared again with our drinks. this was the same situation for the food and even the condiments. all were brought in from other restaurants. when we asked the waitress she said it was from the paper tiger restaurant around the corner!!!!. Mmm that would have explained their menu and flyer also on each table!! sorry but not sure where the indian chef appear from but it certainly wasnt from the kitchen at Samsara. Maybe too many beers and seeing things. Me thinks the previous and glowing review was written by a party attached to the restaurant. Food was ok but really coming from another kitchen??? Seems best to find your own great restaurants not go by reviews.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doodieringgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the 'rustic' palak paneer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

We had been eating amok nonstop and wanted to try something else. We are big fans of Indian food and I sort of make a hobby out of trying Palak Paneers around the world and noticing the differences. The Palak Paneer here was super rustic and fun! The other food was very good as well. Just enough spice.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrbonesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Excellent Indian food! Kitchen is visible to the restaurant. House red wine was lovely and well priced. Food was well presented and had wonderful flavours and aromas. Meat was excellent quality. Lamb rogan Josh - the lamb just fell apart, it was so tender. Friendly engaging Indian chef who will spice meals according to your taste. We had 3 evening meals during a 6 night stay in Siem Reap and they were all excellent. Although there were many other eateries in Siem Reap town, we just couldn't stay away from this one!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank L012011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Island, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian outside of India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

We recently stayed 6 nights in Siem Reap, Cambodia and on our first night found Samsara on one of the cute sidestreets near the Old Market. We had such a wonderful meal there, it was no surprise when at the end the chef walked out of the kitchen and was actually from India. AMAZING tandoori dishes. We ended up eating there 3 nights of the 6 we stayed in Siem Reap....couldn't get away and i think the waitresses thought we were crazy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LNL410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samsara also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing