We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Artisans Angkor
Reviews (2,771)
Filter reviews
2,079 results
Traveler rating
1,147
651
223
40
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,147
651
223
40
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silk farm free tour arts and crafts stone and wood gift shop artisans working for sale beautiful products no pressure to buy quality items local artisans beautiful things silk making blue pumpkin traditional khmer worth a visit buy something
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,079 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This was an ad-hoc visit and unexpected. We were blown away by the skills of all people over there. It is a great project to support. We also enjoyed the shopping and didn’t mind slightly higher prices. It’s good to know you get good quality and know, where the money goes to. Very friendly and professional staff.

Thank davidmX9994RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

This is the place to come if you are short for time and want to learn more about (and purchase) traditional, Cambodian handicrafts and art. You can freely tour the various workshops and see the artists at work. In a day-and-age where almost everything is mass produced, seeing these skillful artists at work was incredibly impressive!

The best part of Artisans Angkor is the gift shop at the end, where you can buy everything from $5 wooden coasters to $2,000 statues. Everything in the shop is made by hand and supports the artists which work there. The prices are clearly labeled - there is no haggling and absolutely no pressure to purchase anything. The staff are incredibly helpful and won't nag you or follow you around.

Of course prices will be more than the market stalls down the road, but you are buying quality goods and not mass-produced silk scarves of dubious quality.

Thank maurermichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I really enjoyed seeing the workshops. The place is very well organized and very well done with nice products. I'm very impressed I wish Thailand had something like this

Thank panaspornn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

An absolute must for something different, completely free to look around although we gave a tip to our guide Krut who was lovely and enthusuatic in showing us round the workshops with all the different craftsmanships that is being undertaken. The attention to detail is unbelievable and you can to see exactly what what each artisan is doing. The gift shop at the end is also worth a visit if you are looking for a small or large purchase. I cannot believe I hadn't seen this place whilst doing my research for our trip this simply came from a recommendation from our tsk tsk driver, its a must to see local skills and I would suggest prior to visiting the temples.

Thank jenkins1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an actual workshop and the tour takes you around all the areas of different handicrafts. From all different kinds of wood and stone carvings, enamel and silver work, silk weaving, painting and lots more. You can even get a turn at trying your hand at stone carving. Beautiful pieces, bit expensive but these are the real deal and not just your souvenir tac.

Thank RuthyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to Siem Reip two times before this trip and had nor had a chance to visit this awesome place, the ruins took precedent, but this is extra cool.I have known from before in reading how is silk made by worms but seeing it live and listening to the explanation was a total discovery, this is not as a static display, you see live silk worms, eating their favorite leaves and growing the silk thread. You see how the artisans use ancient knowledge to separate the thread from the cocoon and down the whole process of weaving, tinting, creating threads and making beautiful cloth, all by hand including extra difficult designs, that involves extremely intricate formulas to produce the art work that is a treasure. Yes you can even try your hand at weaving and in a different part of the complex some carving can be done too. take time to learn and enjoy. You can also purchase items that are made here a great souvenir at many price points. Enjoy

Thank Ikemx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Artisans Angkor has its workshop very close to the old Market ( walking distance ) and is worth a visit. You can walk in, get a visitors pass and stroll through the various work rooms where artisans are drawing, painting, sculpting, preparing raw material for the beautiful crafts you can see and buy at their sales counter. Prices may seem higher than the market shop rates, but the quality of material and work is far superior.

Thank Devika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First you have a quick tour around the workshops and see how the carving and silversmithing is done - we took around 40 mins for this and it was was interesting. Then you can spend all your money in the shop - of course ! A worth while visit and good to see local people being given a chance to learn a skills to earn them money for them and their families. Their work is also beautiful !

Thank NathanN139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

the tour is short and reasonably interesting if you have not seen this sort of stuff before but the real reason to visit is to see the beautifully made products from gorgeous silk scarves/ dresses/cushion covers and more the beautiful porcelain, spices, carvings and oils and more. reasonably priced, excellent quality and best of all you help the community of artisans.

Thank Passenger45617084946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The art is beautiful, and it is worth the visit. I advise against purchasing anything that you cannot carry out with you. We bought a statue that arrived literally broken in half. The shipper and insurance company refuse to provide any compensation even though we filled all of the paperwork on time and have pictures proving that the shipping crate was badly damaged and the statue was broken in half when we received it. We're out several thousand dollars. The work is beautiful, but it's not worth the risk.

1  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artisans A, Manager at Artisans Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago


Firstly, we would like to thank you for visiting our workshops in Siem Reap.

We apologize for the experience you have encountered when the shipment has received with damage. However, we are surprised to hear that the the shipment has been refused insurance by the shipping company . We suggest that we will fix this matter through investigation and we will get back to your e-mail accordingly.

Nevertheless, we hope that you kept great memories from Cambodia!

Best regards,
Artisans Angkor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews