We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and well organised free tour”
Review of Artisans Angkor

Artisans Angkor
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Private Tour: Siem Reap City Tour Full Day
Ranked #1 of 105 Shopping in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Artisans Angkor is a Cambodian social business which was originally created to revive Khmer cultural heritage while helping young rural people finding work near their home village.Since its creation at the end of 1990s, Artisans Angkor has strived to provide professional skills to communities with limited educational opportunities and has offered good working conditions and social advantages to its employees. It has now opened 48 workshops in Siem Reap province and it provides employment to over 1100 people, including more than 800 artisans.Over the years, Artisans Angkor has become a real showcase of Khmer workmanship for its silk fabrics and garments, stone and wood carving, lacquer ware, polychrome products, silver plating and silk painting.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Informative and well organised free tour”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

As soon as we arrived, we were approached by one of the many tour guides dressed in light purple shirt. They were very efficient! Gave us visitor tags and explained the process involved in making silk. I guess there are certain times for you to go to the silk farm but we did not manage to go there. After that, the tour guide took us around the workshop and explained the process of making wood cravings. It's really exhilarating watching skilled workers converting blocks of wood into beautiful crafts. Also, what's amazing is the workers at the workshop have a great deal of concentration in their work and did extremely well in ignoring all the chaos around them (us). At the end of the tour, we are shown the souvenir shop where the crafts are sold. One can get authentic, high quality wood cravings and silk things here. Items on discounts are even better bargains!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 12345Anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Manager at Artisans Angkor, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Anita,

Thanks for visiting us!

If you're still in Siem Reap and if you want to see the Angkor Silk Farm, there are shuttle buses departing from our main site in Siem Reap centre everyday at 9.30am and 1.30pm. Tuk-tuk drivers also know this place if these hours do not correspond to your schedule.

You're right, it is not always as easy as it seems for our artisans. Thankfully, we have 48 workshops in all and most of them are not open to visitors to provide our craftsmen and women with good working conditions.

Enjoy your time in Cambodia !
Artisans Angkor's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,312
    810
    279
    55
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Silk Farm Tour and Store”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went to the silk farm for the tour and to buy some Cambodian silk products - it was great to really experience how they make silk, and how silk has been a facet of Cambodian life and income generation. I enjoyed seeing the production of the silk products and how silk is made. Great trip for a couple hours!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Manager at Artisans Angkor, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear visitor,

It's wonderful to see that you loved to see the whole process of silk making production!
Silk has always been a huge part of Cambodian culture and we try our best to revive this ancient Khmer tradition.

Thank you very much!

All the best,

Artisans Angkor's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place to learn about stone arts”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

A nice place to see how the stone cravings are produced. One thing that fascinates me are the people working here as mostof them are either disabled or the needy ones which come from poverty. We were assigned a tour guide to bring us around the place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johannlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Manager at Artisans Angkor, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for your visit!

Indeed, social values are at the core of our mission. Our company is a social enterprise whose aim is to provide employment to young Cambodians in the rural areas of Siem Reap province.

Hope you really liked the tour with our guide!

Cheers,

Artisans Angkor's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful silk and hand made crafts”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The skill of the artisans and the attention to detail on every exquisite piece of work makes this place worth the visit. The tour of the silk worm farm was informative. This is the best place to buy authentic, made in Cambodia, handicraft. In case you miss this , they have a store in the Airport too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ganlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Manager at Artisans Angkor, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Ganlay,

Thank you for your kind support!
We're delighted you found the visit worth it!

Cheers!

Artisans Angkor's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for relaxing day in Siem Reap”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

They will give you a tour of the workshops and take you to the silk farm if you time it right. The crafts are exquisite and makes you realize that all the stuff you just bought from the night market are probably Chinese knockoff (but half the fun is bargaining so who cares). The tour is free and worth it as is the silk farm where they show you all the stages in the actual workshop/factory. The crafts are beautiful but expensive so if you have money to play with its worth it, if not looking is nice too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Manager at Artisans Angkor, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for this review! You're right, the Angkor Silk Farm is great to get out a bit of Siem Reap and discover the city's countryside. It's great to understand the different steps of the handmade silk process!

The prices are more expensive than some other places but as you said, we do our best to provide high-quality products. Our products have to go through three different quality control sessions before we sell them.

Thanks again !

All the best,

Artisans Angkor's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisans Angkor also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Artisans Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing