We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artisan Angkor”
Review of Artisans Angkor

Artisans Angkor
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Private Tour: Siem Reap City Tour Full Day
Ranked #1 of 105 Shopping in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Artisans Angkor is a Cambodian social business which was originally created to revive Khmer cultural heritage while helping young rural people finding work near their home village.Since its creation at the end of 1990s, Artisans Angkor has strived to provide professional skills to communities with limited educational opportunities and has offered good working conditions and social advantages to its employees. It has now opened 48 workshops in Siem Reap province and it provides employment to over 1100 people, including more than 800 artisans.Over the years, Artisans Angkor has become a real showcase of Khmer workmanship for its silk fabrics and garments, stone and wood carving, lacquer ware, polychrome products, silver plating and silk painting.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Brandon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Artisan Angkor”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Normally. Would give his 5 but the cost of he Orkney is quite steep. As artists ourselves we realize the work hat goes into the pieces, but if you are trying to sell the Orkney there is a happy medium. There are use hat take you around and it is nice to give them a token of your thanks, cash.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,312
    810
    279
    55
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautifully executed and displayed crafts”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Tasteful display of silks, carvings, sculptures to name a few. We did not have time to tour the area where artisans actually work, but the shop is a must in Siem Reap. I was a bit overwhelmed by the color and variety of silk dresses, scarves, handbags and skirts. Beautifully executed, all of it. The sculptures and reliefs were impressive. This is a higher end shop, but well worth it for the quality. Was so pleased that the airport also had a shop which allowed me to buy a few things I had regretted not getting!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shipment of stone elephant massive rip off”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We bought a beautiful stone elephant at Artisans Angkor for US850. We decided to pay the massive US500 to have it shipped to Singapore feeling that we really wanted to support this great cause & talented artists. The sales person confirmed that shipping cost was to our door. Unfortunately this is not the case and we had to pay and additional SD797 to have cleared and delivered to our door. I would advise to think twice about purchasing large heavy items as this is a huge hidden cost to bear despite checking more than once with the sales assistant that the $500 was to our door. This is unfortunate as the artisans do amazing work and should be supported

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cstux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fine artworks: painting, stone and wood carving, metal-tapping, etc”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Artisans d Angkor had 2 places that included tours showing the procedures for making stone and wood carvings, silver and copper boxes, lacquer paintings and the other venue - exclusively for silk. It was interesting to see the details of paintings and how much work is put into finishing a project. I was amazed at the purely natural beauty of silk and how it is harvested. A lot of information in these 2 places run by Artisans d Angkor.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank istop4streetfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth the visit and your money”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Best place to buy wood and stone carving. Everything is tastely made. Things are a bit pricier than on the night market but it's well worth it to spend some extra cash there. They also ship worldwide and pack everything properly so you can take it home.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brazilsolotravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisans Angkor also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Artisans Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing