We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good French option in bistro style setting.”
Review of Barrio

Barrio
Ranked #130 of 879 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Popular with French expatriates, Barrio offers a French gastronomique experience in Siem Reap. Situated in a breezy garden courtyard with brightly-colored tablecloths and the calming sound of outdoor fountains, Barrio is perfect for business or pleasure. Indoor seating with air-conditioning (and crystal chandelier) is also available. The menu contains favorites ranging from escargot and caprese salad to seafood and beef carpaccio. Full bar with cocktails and wine selection. Menu is in French but the staff speak English.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good French option in bistro style setting.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a nice meal here during our stay in Siem Reap. The menu was only in French, but the owner did a wonderful job translating and going over our options. The meal was good, not outstanding, but very enjoyable. The soup was delicious, and the mussels were cooked well. The steak was a little too tough for my liking. If you are craving French food, this is the best option in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhamrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    53
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wannabe stylish interior, good french food, miserable wine by glass.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

At the first look the interior seems to be nice, but there is no style in it. Just mixed all together.
Le gîte de boeuf was amazing.
Wine by glass was average.


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franclik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glad We Found It.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We walked from our hotel on Wat Bo Road to where we expected to find Barrio, but to our dismay after working up a considerable sweat on a steamy Siem Reap night discovered that the building listed as housing the restaurant was closed and undergoing renovations.
Luckily for us a wandering tuk tuk driver came to our rescue and $2USD later we were deposited at the new home of Barrio on......Wat Bo Road!!!!! around about street 26 or 27.
Are we ever glad we found it.
An extensive menu with a dozen or so daily specials greeted us in a garden setting with ponds and small bridges to traverse.
If you think of the restaurants name as being indicative of its cuisine then think again. It is French down to its chaussures.
As we walked in there were two chickens twirling on a rotisserie over a charcoal barbeque. Not even listed as a special but an afterthought of the owner. We had to wait for them to be done but we were in no hurry.
Starters of Rillette du Porc and Carpaccio of Beef, both superbly done, were then followed by the most succulent Chicken accompanied with a simple green salad and Pommes Frites.
After some wine and a couple of coffees to finish, we leisurely wandered back to our hotel satisfied with one of the most memorable meals we had in our four weeks in South East Asia.
If you are in Siem Reap then do yourself a favor and have a meal at Barrio. It may not be cheap by local standards but it is certainly worth a few extra dollars to get such a wonderful meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThracyKathTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food- Great Owners”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I live in Siem Reap and enjoyed the old Barrio's. The new place is much nicer- more space and much more open. The food is basically the same- French Bistro food with a decent bar. The fish is always good and the andoullette is really good here (grilled as opposed to fried as is found in some other SR eateries). Prices are a little higher than the backpackers restaurants but the prices are still very low for what you get. The wine list is good but not awe inspiring. The menu is mainly in French but if you have problems translating the owner is always around and happy to help out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hspfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
1,397 reviews
512 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 609 helpful votes
“To put it mildly - worst ever”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wandered into the Barrio this afternoon and we were the only customers for lunch. The leafy salad & Mozzarella and Tomato Entree were very ordinary. Ordered a main course of soupy Scallops and it was simply unacceptable. Foul smelling, extra sour and stale, I was sickened by it. Will never set foot here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing