We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This boutique hotel is in a class of its own, truly a hidden gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terrasse des Elephants

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Terrasse des Elephants
Ranked #178 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“This boutique hotel is in a class of its own, truly a hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

I am privileged to have stayed in this hotel twice now and must say that it has become one of my favourites in South East Asia. The hotel itself is very unique in decor and rooms are romantic and spacious, luckily as my first visit was with a baby and toddler. The staff and service are of a very high standard, especially Chanthy Chip, whom has helped me book in a great many visitors, which I have highly recommended to this hotel. Chanthy has welcomed us with open arms and along with the other staff given more visitors an insight into how wonderful Cambodian people are and added to the already magnificent experience of the temples, cooking class, fairtrade shopping, Tonle Sap etc... Siem Reap is a great destination for couples or families and I would recommend staying at Terrasse Des Elephants, the location and pool are awesome!!! Artisans D'Angkor-5oom over the road is also well worth a visit-mute peasants are trained in the lost Khmer techniques of carving and painting. The work is exquisite and the shop sells some great gifts for a wonderful outcome...the passing down of knowledge.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelDouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    113
    46
    15
    18
See reviews for
41
214
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
siem reap
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

This is the best hotels I ever stayed with my friends during my holiday in Siem Reap, Kingdom of Cambodia. The located is very easy to access to most popular like Pub Streeet

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angkorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We spent 7 nights in Terrasse des Eléphants and it was amazing experience.

On our 4-week-trip to Cambodia we used usually 10-15 dollar hotels but with one exception: in Angkor area we wanted to have really luxurious hotel to spend the nights after long days in Angkor area. And we really made the right choice!

Our room (202, so-called standard room), decorated thoroughly in Bayon style even in small-small details, was huge, it had big bed with mosquito net (which came in handy, July IS in the middle of rainy season), small balcony, sweet divan for two, LCD-TV with DVD-player, open bathroom, small pond with fountain in the middle and bridge over it to the toilet… Well, it looked just amazing! :)

Hotel had lovely roof-top pool (for guests it’s opened through the night) where we had lots of only-two-of-us moments. We saw other people only twice although we spent time there almost every day and night.

Breakfast was also great.

And of course location: in the middle of the town, 1 minute to Pub Street area, just on the other side of the street is a minimart, coming to the hotel at night is totally safe.

Some downsides also. We had some communication problems depending on the staff in reception. Room service (cleaning staff) was somewhat weird: sometimes they came to clean again around 15 o’clock … and once for cleaning big mirror in the room (it was steamy because we had just had shower)! After we had told about this in reception it stopped.

Overall – if you really want to make “introduction” to Angkor temples in the hotel and feel heavenly after long days out, it’s absolutely right place!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerty1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

My partner and I were so happy we stayed here. The rooms were exquisitely decorated and the hotel had charming details - for example statues and water features - throughout. The pool area was lush and romantic, a haven after tramping around temples and Siem Reap. The location of the hotel could not have been more ideal. Breakfast was lovely, and included really good (espresso) coffee. Staff were terribly friendly. I did have a couple of communication problems, depending on who was at the front desk, but these were incidental. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paradise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel must be one the best I have ever stayed in. It was such a luxury after backpacking for 2 months. We decided to treat ourselves for Christmas and the New Year.

The staff were really friendly and we were blown away by the quality of our room. We couldn't believe how nice it was for the cost! The hotel, pool and roof terrace was beautiful and we really felt like we were being spoilt. We had a massage in our room one of the days, which was heaven.

The hotel was very central and we could easily walk to local restaurants and the markets.

I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmabutterfly93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

How many good ideas can an architect put into one hotel? After staying at Terrasse des Elephants in Siem Reap for three nights my answer is: More than you can imagine! I was impressed by all the lovely details in my room 104: A bathroom that is inspired by Bayon temple, a fountain and a little pond with fresh water lylys inside the room, an XXL-sized bed and much more things included than you should expect for the price of 60 dollars per night for a so called „standard room“: Delicious breakfast with fresh fruits and selfmade rolls, Wi-Fi in all rooms and all public areas and of course a perfect swimming pool on the rooftop of the hotel. It is a pity I did not have more time in Siem Reap and this great colonial style hotel in the center of the town. I will come back in two or three years, to return to the must-see-temples of Angkor, and cannot think of any alternative to my new favourite hotel in South East Asia.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank third-dimension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed in the Deluxe room, the room was very spacious and interior was nicely decorated, it has a big sculpture in it, which gave the room a very 'authentic touch' to the temples around.
We had a fantastic view to the pool on the rooftop, which is connected to a 'sculpture garden'.
The service was excellent, the staff was always very friendly and helpful. They arranged a really friendly tuk-tuk driver for us.
The hotel is centrally located, you can reach the night market, bars & restaurants within a short walk.
We did not try the food here, but we had dinner at the sister hotel Bopha Phnom Penh, which has a really nice restaurant. The food was awesome!!!
I would always go back to this hotel, it made our Siem Reap visit perfect!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jufu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#174 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#98 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#160 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#95 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
#269 of 338 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Da Kiri Boutique Hotel
La Da Kiri Boutique Hotel
#133 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrasse des Elephants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrasse des Elephants

Property: Terrasse des Elephants
Address: Sivatha Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#120 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Terrasse des Elephants 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of Siem Reap town. Surrounded by galleries, boutiques, restaurants & cafes, the central bus station, the Old Market (Phsar Chas) and the Pub Street, our hotel guests have everything in just 3 mins walking distance. The hotel is a perfect place to start your explorations of one of the world's architectural wonders, the famous temples of Angkor. The hotel is approximately 6km from Siem Reap International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Terrasse des Elephants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasse Des Elephants Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing