We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WiFi internet only good at hotel lobby!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shadow Angkor Villa
Ranked #103 of 489 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“WiFi internet only good at hotel lobby!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Verdict: May stay here again. But will look for better alternative.

If the attitude of the main reception staff was more positive, I will consider staying here again. Otherwise, I would prefer Kiri Boutique Hotel (excellent! free bike rental, free Tuk Tuk to and from town, very nice swimming pool etc.).


Room Type: Standard Double
Room Location: 4th Floor (no elevator)
Paid: A$25.83 per night


Pros:
- OK walking distance to town; close to Grasshopper bike rental
- Clean room
- Small but clean swimming pool
- Hotel restaurant food quality is good without being expensive (breakfast not included)

Cons:
- Main reception staff wasn't exactly attentive; not really interested; a little grumpy because he had to bring luggage up and down from hotel room on 4th floor
- NO WiFi internet at our hotel room on the 4th floor! Only at lobby!
- No lift (my room was on the 4th floor)
- No free bicycle rental for guests (US$5.00 per day)
- The shower head holder was broken so it had to be held by hand


TIPS FOR TRAVELLERS:
1. Grasshopper bike rental is walking distance from the hotel. All the bikes are mountain bikes and in great working condition. Full-day bike rental: US$8.00. Definitely better than hotel's.
2. Food from the hotel's restaurant is surprisingly good and good value-for-money. So you don't need to venture far for breakfast.
3. Swim at the hotel's swimming pool on a hot day. Great way to cool off and relax.

Room Tip: - Choose hotel rooms on 1st floor so you MAY have WiFi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LifesExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    83
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
77
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The staff are awesome that should be noted first. They are friendly, easy going but never unprofessional. The customer is king here they will do their best to please you and guarantee your satisfaction.

The facilities are decent 3.5 star at best although the showers and rooms could use some upgrading. The breakfast was above average and decently priced. They put a complimentary bottle of water every day in your room which is appreciated. The pool is also decent. The surroundings aren't very pretty if you want to look out of your window but for the price and the easy walk to everything including the restaurants and night markets you can't complain.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so you have to carry your luggage up the stairs the first floor then is the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lejade85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
100 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Shadow of Angkor II is a very good option for anyone wanting to stay in Siem Reap and see the temples. The rooms are very well styled, clean and the hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the main restaurants. The staff are helpful, the pool is decent and for $20 a night you can't fault it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JolyonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Not in the city center but it doesn't matter, take a three minute long tuk tuk ride or a fifteen minute long walk and you're there. The rooms are great value and extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast and coffee downstairs are great, too. The front desk guy was kinda weird and unfriedly but it wasn't too bad. Also, they rent mountain bikes for $5 a day which are a great way to see Angkor if you're up for a little bit of exercise. Overall it was a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeauCio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here recently and upon arrival we did not find the man behind the desk very helpful & this didn't change until the final day. Maybe if he got off the Internet & FB he would have been more helpful. Not sure how he had Internet access as the wifi never worked the 2 nights we were there. The first day we asked for directions to Pub Street and he just gestured and pointed, we had to ask for a map and he said he didn't have any. We ended up wandering up the road & after 10 mins and feeling hot & tired came back and complained. He was more detailed in his directions this time & we eventually found it nearby. The location of the hotel is quite good and about a 5-10 min walk to Pub Street where everything is. The lobby, restaurant & pool can't really be faulted and the cleanliness of the pool was excellent. There are a 3 computers with Internet in the lobby & generally the only ones that work as the wifi never does. The keyboards are so old you can't see the keys & given the cheap cost of replacing them in Cambodia I can't understand why they haven't. On one of the mornings there was no water for a shower but it eventually came back on and the shower was dirty. Although this is a budget hotel it is still not that cheap for Cambodia & you could probably get better. However it is cheap compared with back home. We made a complaint to the manager on the final morning about how unhelpful the reception man was & no wifi or water & said we would write a review on trip advisor. Later that day they apologised & sent me an apology email offering a deduction of the room price and asking not to write a bad review. They proudly hang the 2012 trip advisor winner award on their wall so I was glad to see that once informed they did everything they could to improve. If they fixed these few things up & offered maps in the lobby & greeted guests on arrival then I think they would be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Don't rely on wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Shadow of Angkor 2 in late June. It is in a great location (about a 5 minute walk to pub street and the old market) and is close to many restaurants. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hot water worked well in the bathroom and nothing seemed to be dirty. The air conditioning worked well too. Yes, it is a basic accommodation, but it is perfect for any budget traveler.

There is free wifi in the lobby. We were on the top floor and it did not work in our room, but it worked fairly well if you were siting downstairs. Breakfast is not included, however it is inexpensive to eat at their restaurant.

Please note that Shadow of Angkor Wat 2 is about a 4 minute walk from Shadow of Angkor Wat (which is the original location). We heard from people in Siem Reap that Shadow of Angkor Wat 2 is much nicer. It's also a lot newer! You do have to pay in cash and they accept US dollars. All of the ATM's in Cambodia dispense US dollars, so you do not have to worry about converting money.

Room Tip: No elevator, so request a room on one of the first floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelTravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights here and I would highly recommend Shadow II. It is only 1 block from the river and then across the river is a tourist area with the market (goods, not food) and restaurants. The hotel has a shoes off policy which is common in Cambodia and they provide a set of cubbies by the door for shoes. The floor is so clean it is no problem to walk barefoot. The hotel also has a restaurant off the lobby with delicious food that we ate each breakfast. I recommend the French pancakes which are similar to crepes. We did not use the pool or eat on the patio but I saw others enjoying them. The hotel staff arranged a driver for us to get to Angkor Wat for the three days we toured the ruins. (Shadow of Angkor I is also nice but we liked this location better.) I hope to go back in the next couple years. They also have laundry service for a small fee. I gave the sleep quality 4 stars instead of 5 only because the mattresses are firmer than I am used to but my bed at home is soft.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBL01730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#92 of 344 in Siem Reap
853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shadow Angkor Hotel
Shadow Angkor Hotel
#147 of 489 in Siem Reap
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shadow Angkor Residence
Shadow Angkor Residence
#136 of 489 in Siem Reap
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tareach Angkor Villa
Tareach Angkor Villa
#26 of 268 in Siem Reap
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Villa Soksan Square
The Villa Soksan Square
#59 of 489 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Angkor Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Angkor Villa

Property: Shadow Angkor Villa
Address: Wat Bo Street | Opposite Wat Preah Prom Rath Pagoda, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Shadow of Angkor II)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 489 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shadow Angkor Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of Siem Reap's bustling downtown, Shadow Angkor Villa, offers the best accomodation for all kinds of travellers who are seeking to explore our local's scenes as well as our many modern western fusion restaurants, shops and stores. Our hotel is as convenient as a short 6 minutes walk to Siem Reap's fabulous pubstreet and 9 minutes walk to the urban night maket. Yet, do not worry! It's also far enough from all the noise for our guests to enjoy a quite night rest. Accompanied adults and children are welcome to relax in our chic decor swimming pool as well surrounding lounge area/restaurant that comes equipped with live TV stream projector. Our hotel is the perfect choice for those seeking simple but comfortable accommodation. Make yourself at home in one of the 19 air-conditioned rooms featuring balconies and complimentary bottled water. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming provides entertainment. Private bathrooms with showers feature complimentary toiletries and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shadow Angkor Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Of Angkor Ii Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing