We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shadow Angkor Villa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$189
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$47
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
121
100
31
13
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
100
31
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the riverpub streettuk tuk driverswimming poolno liftold markettv channelsbanana pancakesstaff was very friendly and helpfulfirst floorquiet at nightair conditioningtop floorfew minutes walkquiet areabaguettelaundry service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 268 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The room was very spacious and perfectly clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast on the 1st floor was excellent. Considering the price, I can not possibly ask more than they offer. It is located about 5-10 mins walk distance from the downtown, so it is quiet and close enough to enjoy evening.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyunjinlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here for our first trip to Siem Reap on the recommendation of Lonely Planet, which can always be a bit hit and miss. From being picked up at the airport by a driver and his tuk-tuk, to arranging our driver for a two day visit to the temples, nothing was too much trouble for the staff here.
The room was lovely and clean and nice and quiet (which is needed for the 5am starts!).
The location of the hotel was excellent and nothing was more than a few minutes walk away.
The hotel pool is small but very welcome when returning from a long day in the sun.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carli1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

No fuss straightforward good option. Location ok, restaurants and bars close by, town centre easy 5 min walk. Far enough away from town to be quiet at night- my wife says best lication in town! Nice breakfasts, coffee is good. They arrange all tours etc for you and sort out tuc-tucs and prices etc at reasonable rates- no fuss here as well. Also, free wi-Fi that works well, friendly and trustworthy staff. Refreshing pool. 30 mins gentle tuc to temples. Laundry service good. Rooms cleaned daily, fresh towels/ water.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here over New Year 2012, on the recommendation of friends who stayed in 2011. It was the start of a 6 week holiday in Indochina. We were really happy with the guesthouse - helpful and friendly staff, nice little pool and garden area, great location, walk everywhere, great tuk tuk driver for 3 days of temples (ask for Sophal), clean room and reasonably comfortable beds, lovely breakfasts made to order, good value for money. Only issue we had was cold shower. We thought this must be normal so we never asked them to fix it but reading other reviews it seems most people did have a hot shower. Would recommend.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Shropshirefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Travelled to this place from PP. Rooms are beautiful, new and clean. Location is good too, only a bridge cross away to Pub street. Stay here if you want some peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle of Old market and Pub street. They even have a swimming pool where you can unwind yourself after a hot day of walking in the sites.

I have to consider the accounts of the tuk-tuk drivers and the tour guide we hired into this review as i got it under the hotel. (They get a big fat comission out of it.)

The tuk-tuk driver we hired was reckless and impatient. And on the 2nd day, he charged 5 USD more as we requested for a small detour. He agreed on the detour but he never told us that it will cost us more money until it was time to pay.

The English tour guide we got on the first day was excellent and enthusiastic. But when we they first agreed to get us the guide (with sunrise at Angkor Wat), it was 25 USD. They however called us back at night to say, we need to pay 5 USD more for sunrise.

On the 2nd day, a different tour guide was given as the first guide was booked. This 2nd tour guide was lazy and wanted to rush us through everything, so that he can get back home early. When we asked him to be more detail on the explanations of the historical sites at Bantheay Srei and Rolous Group, he told us the stories there are the same as Angkor Wat. Then why do we need to hire you in the first place? He slept on our journey back from Tonle Sap Lake to the dock.

Another matter that i find disgusted, is at the time of billing (during the checkout). They tried to charge us 10 USD per night above our agreed upon price on email. When i asked them about it, they asked me to show them evidence thinking that i have no print of the email. So i flashed out my Ipad and showed them our agreed email conversation. They reluctantly change the bill back to the agreed upon price after much hassle.

I still recommend travelers to stay here for the good rooms and location. Just hire your own tuk-tuks and tour guides if you know where to get one. Ask them to write down in black and white the prices you agreed upon. And do print copies of your email of the room rates you were given or be prepared to pay more.

Room Tip: No elevators. But the reception will help you carry your luggage to your rooms. Use the swimming pool. :)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alaksander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews