We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise”
Review of Viroth's

Viroth's
Ranked #59 of 879 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Surprise”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a little time to grab dinner on our last night in Siem Reap before heading to the airport to fly back to Saigon. We had already eaten at Sugar Palm so our guide recommended Viroth's. We didn't have a reservation, but they were able to accommodate us at a lovely table next to their little pond. We shared a bunch of dishes, including the amok, and had a few drinks and everything was delicious. It definitely has a much more European feel, but we enjoyed the candles on the tables and the sleek look of the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    885
    581
    137
    43
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top-class canteen”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I remember Viroth's from my last visit 5 or 6 years ago. The food is as tasty as ever and the restaurant itself is now pretty much a city institution. You should definitely eat here at least once. My only concern is that it is in danger of falling prey to its own success, as the restaurant has expanded considerably in recent years and each evening coaches disgorge large parties of holiday makers which has taken a large part of the intimacy of which it used to boast. Viroth's is no longer a secret, but definitely worth sampling.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank returnjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were sent here when we couldn't get into Sugar Palm. Both serve traditional Khmer food. There were five of us and we all enjoyed our meals. We had a curry, amok, and three other dishes, We all enjoyed our meals. The price was $75 for five, and this included a bottle of wine. Reservations are recommended, but we managed without one. We were lucky.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a sleek restaurant”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Viroth's has a unique atmosphere with a stream and trees in a modern enclosed setting. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. I liked the Amok fish. It is popular, so you might need a reservation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“very good food, nice ambience but higher than average prices”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we were there twice and absolutely enjoyed the experience. portions are not too big so you can try different stuff. we like their amok and chicken in a lemongrass. the ambience and a local beer helps to relax after a day of heavy sightseeing. for a family of four you need to be prepare to spend 100-120 dollars but it is worth it. the only watch out is the front door service. they should stay more humble and welcoming even if they are fully booked.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PleasuresHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viroth's also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Viroth's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing