We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a training establishment”

Sala Bai Restaurant School
Ranked #54 of 875 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sala Baï Hotel & Restaurant School was founded in 2002 by the French NGO Agir pour le Cambodge. The school entirely and exclusively meant for young Cambodians coming from underprivileged families. In 2015, more than 1300 young Cambodians, with a 70% priority to girls, have been trained. They have all found a job within 1 month after their one-year training. A few years later, their average salary goes from $250 to $350 which enables them to reach the emerging Cambodian middle-class. The vocational training taught at Sala Baï is definitely the fastest and most efficient way of fighting poverty and human trafficking. But without your support, nothing would be possible. By coming to our training restaurant, you already make a great difference, with the pleasure to enjoy high-quality food.
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent for a training establishment”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

A very clean establishment training young boys and girls in the hospitality business. We read the brochure and appreciated the process more and we were more comfortable with a long wait but once the food came it was very well presented and tasty. We had this incorporated into our 7 day tour and it was a big draw card for choosing this type of tour. We had the set lunch menu and the fish which was goby madrone in an amok style was served with a refreshing salad. We had interesting drink shakes beforehand. The organiser of the school came for a showery chat with us which was pleasant and not pushy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    59
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal with a purpose”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We decided to stop at a new restaurant for lunch, Sala Bai. The restaurant had opened two days before we visited it and you never would have known that this restaurant is used to train young Cambodians. We met Claude, the director, who explained how an NGO offers scholarships to 100 poor Cambodians so they can come to Siem Reap and train intensively for 1 year and then find a job in one of the better hotels According to Claude, they have 100% placement.

We could choose from one of two set menus. We had 6 guests, so we got to try everything. First of all, the restaurant successfully got all 6 meals out together, so there were no cold meals. Each dish was flavorful, fresh, and cooked perfectly. I never would have believed this was a new restaurant filled with novice staff. When I return to Siem Reap (and I will because I loved the place and the people), I will definitely return to Sala Bai for another wonderful meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala B, Manager at Sala Bai Restaurant School, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
On the behalf of the Sala Baï students, thank you so much for this very nice and encouraging comment!
Servicing customers is something very new for all our students that come from very underprivileged families, mostly from countryside. They have to learn everything from scratch but with their eagerness and strong motivation, most of them do it quickly and your review shows that they have a bright future waiting for them in hospitality!
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food for a good cause”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The food was great and the service was good too albeit a little hesitant at some points but you have to remember that most of the staff are still in training.

Special mention: Their Sala Bai passion breeze signature drink was one of the best and most refreshing I'd had during my stay in Siem Reap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michiesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala B, Manager at Sala Bai Restaurant School, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment. It is indeed very encouraging for our students. As you said, they are all in training and practicing with real customers through the training hotel and restaurant started only in mid-October.
With such motivation as they have, there is no doubt that they will get more confidence day after day and will be perfectly operating very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service , very good food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

In Sala Bai we had one of our first non Cambodian food in many days and it was delicious!!! The students are really doing their best. Congratulations!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 38Susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala B, Manager at Sala Bai Restaurant School, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comment! Sala Bai is a Vocational Training School in Hospitality but nevertheless offering a high-quality service to our guests is very important to us and our students. We are all very happy that you enjoyed the experience at our restaurant. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have always embraced the idea of using local farm products for freshness and high quality. The Training Chefs have engaged the students with these practices and I am sure this will push the great tasting Cambodian food into the mainstream. If you have not tried Cambodian food this restaurant is a great place to start. The whole staff are dressed in their starched uniforms and although they are in training they are under the careful eye of the minders. I think the whole idea of training these workers and giving them a leg up gets kudos from me. Without saying, the food is excellent, the staff is excellent, the facility is excellent, the idea is excellent, what more can I say but, please give them a try I know you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Bai Restaurant School also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Sala Bai Restaurant School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing