We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is ok but has a disappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #193 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had booked two deluxe-rooms by internet and had some mailcontact before arriving. Some days before arriving we mailed our flight-dates for the free pickup from the airport but when we arrived, no one was there. So we took a taxi and when we asked why there was no pick-up, they told us that they hadn't received our mail. Very strange! Then our rooms were not ready and we had to wait one hour (after a long flight from Europe). No apologies. We had asked for two rooms side by side but that was not possible either although the room beween us was not occupied when we arrived. One day we started very early to Angkor and when we came back at about 2:30 pm our room were not made. For our flight from Siem Reap we had to get to the airport rather early and they promised to bring us to the airport with two Tuktuks but no driver was there when we wanted to leave the hotel. Fortunately the guardsman (not the man on the desk!) called another driver so that we could leave only 15 minutes later. The hotel is not too bad but looks much better on the photos than in reality: The rooms are too small for the big and massive wooden furniture. The pool is much smaller than it seems to be when you see the pictures and there are only 3 or 4 sunbeds. It didn't bother us not to be in the centre we prefer a quit place. Very good was the free internet with two Pc's we could use.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank blummi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 369 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for five nights and were pleased with the hotel for the most part. It's a short tuktuk ride from downtown, but it's really close to Angkor Wat. Our room was very clean and nice, but the bathroom could use a little improvement. Our shower curtain had mildew on it and the warm water in the shower didn't last long. The food at the restaurant was great and there is a wonderful breakfast selection. We found the staff to be hit or miss with being helpful. Sometimes they were very quick to help us get tuktuks or point us in the right direction, and other times they were very unhelpful. We used the beautiful swimming pool and asked for extra towels to take to the pool and were told they had no extras at the time so we would have to use our shower towels. We asked for extra towels for the pool again the next day and were told we needed to use the towels from our rooms for the swimming pool, so we had to use the same towel after swimming and showering. Hard to believe that a hotel doesn't have extra towels on hand when they have a swimming pool. We had also called ahead to tell them when our flight landed, but no one was there to pick us up at the airport, which was disappointing. They said we had never contacted them. Overall, a decent place to stay, especially for the price and location, but I wouldn't necessarily expect them to go above and beyond for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very nice and clean hotel.We booked a deluxe room. We made a prepayment to guarantee the room with one king size bed, but when we arrived (it was late arrival, but we poined it out in the resevation) we recieved another room with 2 beds, one of them was a king size. When we asked we were told that our room was occupied, and that tomorrow they would change it. We stayed at the hotel for 4 days, so we did not want to spend time for changing rooms and decided to stay in the room with 2 beds, the room was almost equal to that one which we booked and prepaid, so there was not much sence in it, but still the feeling not that nice. As I realized later, cambodian people are a bit relaxed and if you arrange and agree smth. with them, you should remind them a day before about your arrival to recieve your service. But the hotel itself is very nice, wooden furniture, free wi-fi, quite clean and very welcoming and helpful staff!!! Very good location, they have their own tuk-tuks for Angkor Wat for reasonable fair. Another thing was that we were waiting for breakfast for half an hour, but why not, weather was fine, atmosphere relaxing, and it it normal for Cambodia. Small advice: if you plan to travel to Cambodia, please, take some repellent with you, because no hotel anywhere will provide it even 5star!!!
But anyway I would recommend this hotel to stay in, we really had a pleasant time there, it is clean and again very welcoming staff and reasonable price!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Our first time traveling to siem reap on a backpackers budget. We came across the shining angkor online and got a great deal and ticked our boxes for location and price. An easy walk to the main town area or a $2-3 tuk tuk ride.
When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised with the loverly tropical feel of the place, with a restaurant and pool out front surrounded by gardens.
Initially we were put in a different room than what we booked, getting a three bed room instead of a twin room with a balcony which annoyed us. But really it was the more expensive room so really we didnt care.
The service was good, with drivers, tours, dinners or shows easy to book through the hotel.
Breakfast included but expect to wait a little while so just dont book a tour too early.
Our stay overall was good and would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank outback-backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We booked in here from the internet, but thought it was closer to town.
It is in fact about 15 minutes drive and USD3 each way.
There are few eateries and shops around this hotel, but we were not bothered about this.
Subsequent email communications with the hotel did not receive a reply, and we finally had to get our daughter, who lives in Siem Reap to follow up.
It appears that our emails were in their junk folder!
They need to be aware of this and check here.
When we arrived, we unloaded all our luggage and moved it into the hotel, only to be told that we were housed in their apartment rooms, 200 meters away. We felt that since their driver had picked us up, it should have been arranged. to take us there in the first place.
Breakfast and all other meals are in the main hotel.
The staff in the apartments are very friendly, and the apartments have been renovated, and are clean.
Our apartment had a computer, and great wifi connection.
There is a lovely swimming pool on the grounds.
Meal time service is extremely slow, and it usually took us half an our to get our meals.
Overall, if relaxing is what you want, this is the hotel for you.
If you want to be closer to the city and be able to walk to most places, the you should go to a hotel closer to town.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank patsy_hetherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

on arrival staff very friendly and polite.the wooden interior was overly dark and a little depressing although ornate. breakfast was good except for the cat pooh coffee(actually not sure it was but it tasted like it)no other choice for coffee except in the room which we had to repeatedly ask for replenishment.room a little tired but comfortable and bath was grubby.Shop around for tours available as we nearly spent (recommended by reception)$120 when in fact we spent $48 for the same tour. overall an OK stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this nice boutique hotel in Siem Reap. The staff were very helpfull and the rooms are very nice with a nice balcony.
Only minus is the location is a tuktuk away from everything. 3 km to town and about the same to the temples.
But it is a very nice place, very quite at night. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
#242 of 384 in Siem Reap
3 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo.
Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo.
#122 of 384 in Siem Reap
281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#148 of 384 in Siem Reap
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#181 of 384 in Siem Reap
136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#105 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#156 of 384 in Siem Reap
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Address: 560, Group One | Kok Chok Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $26 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shining Angkor Boutique HotelJust as the name implies, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel indeed shines as the new boutique hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It is a 21 rooms classy, traditional yet contemporary hotel nestled in a very quiet residential district midway to the famous Angkor Wat temple and the City Center of Siem Reap. Located in Siem Reap, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute motorbike ride from Angkor Wat. It has an outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and offers a free one way shuttle service to the city centre daily.Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is 1.6 km from the Angkor National Museum and 2 km from Angkor Shopping Centre. Free pick-up services are provided from Siem Reap International Airport.Traditional Cambodian décor and hardwood furnishings feature throughout the non-smoking guestrooms at this Siem Reap Boutique Hotel. Each offers views of the greenery, and is fitted with a TV with cable channels. Guests can enjoy a body massage, or rent a bicycle to explore the area. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel provides car rental services and free parking. Travel arrangements can be made at the tour desk. The restaurant serves a fine selection of local and European dishes. Outdoor dining options are also available.Clean and spacious with Khmer-style decor...All rooms are clean and spacious and include high quality cotton duvets and feather pillows, complimentary wireless Internet access, bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and bathroom accessories. The decor is traditional Khmer style with contemporary elements and elegant accents. The management and staff at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel also strive to offer it's guests immaculate service to make every stay at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing