We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel but dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #155 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice hotel but dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

on arrival staff very friendly and polite.the wooden interior was overly dark and a little depressing although ornate. breakfast was good except for the cat pooh coffee(actually not sure it was but it tasted like it)no other choice for coffee except in the room which we had to repeatedly ask for replenishment.room a little tired but comfortable and bath was grubby.Shop around for tours available as we nearly spent (recommended by reception)$120 when in fact we spent $48 for the same tour. overall an OK stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    119
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
70
125
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tjæreborg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this nice boutique hotel in Siem Reap. The staff were very helpfull and the rooms are very nice with a nice balcony.
Only minus is the location is a tuktuk away from everything. 3 km to town and about the same to the temples.
But it is a very nice place, very quite at night. I would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was a gem, we stayed there early in 2013 and would have no hesitation in recommending. Just a 5 minute tuk tuk ride to downtown Sieam Reap and all the better for being away from the bustle of the town centre. The hotel has about 8 or 9 rooms I think, a small plunge pool on site as well as an open air dining room with food cooked to order.
Would definitely stay there again if we were to visit Angkor Wat.

Room Tip: We stayed in main hotel and I didn't know there were rooms around the corner so would suggest re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orangehouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The man who checked us in was not very welcoming but I had just come from Thailand and was used to smiles all the time. The place is full of wood carving and amazing to look around. 2 beautiful pool. We were put in the apartments around the corner which was a bit of a surprise but the room had 3 queen beds in it and was very comfortable. Big bathroom with hot shower. Our room door was very hard to open and close. We often had to get the staff to do it for us and even they had a hard time. This meant leaving without locking the door which made us nervous. Breakfast took ages, 45 minutes at the worst which made us late for our tours. We often just left it and got something when we were out.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building and not around the corner which is on a dirt road and has no lighti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monoellu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

When we checked in, we were given a small room full of beds. There were hardly space to walk around. Although while booking, I was given my preference of a room with sitting or balcony. With our insistance, we got a very nice room the following nights.
The hotel is closer to Angkor Wat than the city center. However, it's still impossible to walk to the temples. So, if I travel next time, I would prefer to take a hotel near the center where plenty of food and drinks are easily accessable. It saves the tuk-tuk cost everynight to and back for dinner in town.
Breakfast was slow. when there were 4-table-order at the same time, you may need to wait 20-30 mins for a omlet with 2 bread slices.
We had NOT experienced any Welcome-and-see/off service by the staff, which is very common in Combodia and Laos.

Room Tip: rooms with balcony are great. but it may come with some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 6 weeks total due to a medical internship in the Siem Reap Provincial hospital. From the first till the last day we felt very welcome. The service, kindness and attitude of the people running the hotel is excellent. Also a very nice room for an affordable price, which was clean. Airconditioning worked perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrederickD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent three days in this hotel and for us the experience was amazing. Very well located between the Angkor Wat temples and the city centre, you can arrive each of those places in 10 minutes by tuc-tuc. We hired a three day tuc-tuc service for the days we stayed there and the driver was so nice and careful. He always had cold drinks in his vehicle and explained us a lot about the temples, almost as a tour guide. He also lend a us a book fo Angkor Wat so we can have all the explanation of each temple. Very recommendable place. Very quite and clean and with an excellent staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
#125 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#143 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#51 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#123 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#147 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silk D' Angkor Residence
Silk D' Angkor Residence
#179 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Property: Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Address: 560, Group One | Kok Chok Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shining Angkor Boutique HotelJust as the name implies, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel indeed shines as the new boutique hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It is a 21 rooms classy, traditional yet contemporary hotel nestled in a very quiet residential district midway to the famous Angkor Wat temple and the City Center of Siem Reap. Located in Siem Reap, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute motorbike ride from Angkor Wat. It has an outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and offers a free one way shuttle service to the city centre daily.Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is 1.6 km from the Angkor National Museum and 2 km from Angkor Shopping Centre. Free pick-up services are provided from Siem Reap International Airport.Traditional Cambodian décor and hardwood furnishings feature throughout the non-smoking guestrooms at this Siem Reap Boutique Hotel. Each offers views of the greenery, and is fitted with a TV with cable channels. Guests can enjoy a body massage, or rent a bicycle to explore the area. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel provides car rental services and free parking. Travel arrangements can be made at the tour desk. The restaurant serves a fine selection of local and European dishes. Outdoor dining options are also available.Clean and spacious with Khmer-style decor...All rooms are clean and spacious and include high quality cotton duvets and feather pillows, complimentary wireless Internet access, bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and bathroom accessories. The decor is traditional Khmer style with contemporary elements and elegant accents. The management and staff at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel also strive to offer it's guests immaculate service to make every stay at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing