We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #185 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were picked up promptly by a very smiley tuk tuk driver at the airport, that couldn't have given us a better first impression of Siem Reap. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by extremely friendly staff who brought us water that was most welcomed. The hotel itself is charming, very traditional decor which was equidistant between the temples and town. We were disappointed to learn that we had 2 x single beds, no balcony - despite booking a double room. When they apologised and said we would be moved the next day we were happy, however when we mentioned moving the next day the staff looked slightly perplexed and to save the hassle we just stayed in the room we had been given - we may have pushed further if we were planning on staying in the room more than we were. Whilst in Siem Reap my partner lost his iPhone - the staff helped us call places we had visited to see if it had been handed in which was incredibly helpful given our Khmer and international phone call rates! I would recommend this hotel if you want a friendly atmosphere, being near both the temples and town and comfy beds!

Room Tip: Check with the hotel prior to arrival that you are definitely getting what you booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 365 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a fantastic place to stay in Siem Reap! I found the city itself to be little strange in its struggle between modernity and the home of the worlds largest and perhaps most interesting temple complexes. The price was very good - the city itself was expensive. Perfect location between the old market and Angkor Wat. The rooms were very comfortable and super clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebiG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannak, Manager at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your value time to write down your value recommendation on tripadvisor about our services and staffs. We are very happy to know that you had a fantastic stay during in our boutique hotel and also very appreciated your review and promise to provide friendly service to you again and also our future customers. Our teams would like to thank you and hope you will come back visit Siem Reap again. On behalf of our team, i wish you have a good luck and success in life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Shining Angkor arriving 23 Dec for 4 days. Very friendly staff who tried very hard to make everything perfect. They gave us as much information as they possibly could. It was really fabulous to see the entire staff celebrating for Christmas Day, they really got into the festive feeling. Obviously there is a great rappour with this group of people, they were so excited it was infectious. The restaurant/meals were good, rooms very comfortable, a good, though small, pool area. All up for the price, really great accomodation made better by the staff. Location a little way out but $2US for tuk tuk or $1US if you are prepared to use the motor bike taxi service. Easy distance to Angkor Wat and always tuk tuks available .... thank you for making our time there great fun

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmsie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Location - not "in" town...quick 5-10 min tuk-tuk ride into central Siem Reap. A healthy walk if you want to do that. I did like that it was away from the center of town, it's quieter.

Rooms - Decent: air conditioner in my room was weak, but all and all a clean room with strong shower in the bathroom. I liked the classic mosquito netting on the beds.

Services/Amenities - could be better: staff is friendly and accommodating, but their communication in English was lacking; in-house restaurant menu is good. The pool area is refreshing - nice to jump in after temple touring.

Room Tip: Make sure your air conditioner is working properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJT A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived in the early evening and were picked up promptly by the hotel staff at the airport. We had a great room with a balcony and I must say the most comfortable beds in Cambodia. The whole feel of the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. Tuk Tuk drivers available to go temple trekking and staff on-hand to give you advice should you need it. Breakfast is basic but gets you going in the morning, buy some fruit from the night market to boost that meal should you want to. The salt water pool is great for taking a plunge after a day at the temple. We would stay here again without hesitation, Great price, Great Staff, Great stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the right side of the hotel if you are facing it, pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 913Sazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived late at night to find that the description on Booking.com is wrong, the suite is not a suite, not even a larger room, & not with the extra facilities, lesson learnt - check with hotel direct! As this was for a special occasion we were very upset, thinking we had a large 2 roomed suite, not an overpriced room, but having said that the reception staff more than made up for it with their smiles & willingness to help. The bed was comfy & the aircon very quiet. The hotel is very dark with all the heavy wood furniture everywhere, but cool & spotlessly clean. The chairs on the balcony look lovely, but were hard & uncomfortable. There are 2 computers with free internet access on the 1st floor lobby, but no large TV as advertised. The included breakfast had a good selection but no flexibility, & the only tea was jasmine, coffee was very strong & no top-up available. Although the restaurant said dinner was served there, there was no menu anywhere, so we went into town every day in the complimentary tuk tuk, $2 to return. Sodha on reception arranged temple visits by tuk tuk, but we didn't get any cold water provided that other tourists did. The pool was certainly "refreshing" but only 3 sunbeds meant you couldn't always sit & relax after your dip. This is a good hotel, but we wouldn't stay here again, as it's a way out of town & expensive for what it provides, unless you get a special discounted rate. The manager needs to leave his desk, take a lesson from his amazing staff & tweek a few minor points to keep the standard up to the many other cheaper hotels in town. Thank you Kim, Sodha, Ratta & all the others for making our holiday so memorable :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

With all the luxury hotels around town, we were afraid this would be not be up to par, as it was extremely cheap.

We were so impressed by the service, location and rooms. All the wooden furniture is a nice touch but it is the staff, who cannot be friendlier and more helpful, that makes this hotel so special. I strongly recommend taking the day long tuk tuk ride to Angkor - the man waits for you in front of every temple and stops wherever you want, it is a steal.

The ride to "Pub Street" is only two dollars. The rooms are big and comfy. The breakfast is very nice too.

The pool is small and too close to the street to our liking.

If the price seems to good to be true, don't be afraid. You'll be impressed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWWblaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#150 of 365 in Siem Reap
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#68 of 365 in Siem Reap
655 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#158 of 365 in Siem Reap
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Achhariyak Angkor Boutique
Achhariyak Angkor Boutique
#161 of 365 in Siem Reap
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#173 of 365 in Siem Reap
40 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#135 of 365 in Siem Reap
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Address: 560, Group One | Kok Chok Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $27 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shining Angkor Boutique HotelJust as the name implies, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel indeed shines as the new boutique hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It is a 21 rooms classy, traditional yet contemporary hotel nestled in a very quiet residential district midway to the famous Angkor Wat temple and the City Center of Siem Reap. Located in Siem Reap, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute motorbike ride from Angkor Wat. It has an outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and offers a free one way shuttle service to the city centre daily.Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is 1.6 km from the Angkor National Museum and 2 km from Angkor Shopping Centre. Free pick-up services are provided from Siem Reap International Airport.Traditional Cambodian décor and hardwood furnishings feature throughout the non-smoking guestrooms at this Siem Reap Boutique Hotel. Each offers views of the greenery, and is fitted with a TV with cable channels. Guests can enjoy a body massage, or rent a bicycle to explore the area. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel provides car rental services and free parking. Travel arrangements can be made at the tour desk. The restaurant serves a fine selection of local and European dishes. Outdoor dining options are also available.Clean and spacious with Khmer-style decor...All rooms are clean and spacious and include high quality cotton duvets and feather pillows, complimentary wireless Internet access, bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and bathroom accessories. The decor is traditional Khmer style with contemporary elements and elegant accents. The management and staff at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel also strive to offer it's guests immaculate service to make every stay at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing