We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LynMiller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #173 of 354 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“LynMiller”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

It felt like a home away from home. The manager and staff are soooo friendly and accommodating, always ready to help and make things as pleasant as possible. The decor is absolutely stunning, with dark, wooden ceilings and furniture fit for a king (or queen!) The rooms are fantastic! Loved the fact that the hotel is just down the road from the Central Markets and so close to almost anywhere you want to go in the city. I'd recommend this beautiful boutique hotel to anyone and everyone!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynMillerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    121
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
72
126
36
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Inside it looks like designer's 5* - everything is made of carved wood with love and care. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and cozy - greatest beds I've ever met. The location of the hotel is very nice - 10 minutes by tuktuk to Angkor or Night Market but the place is very quiet. Breakfast could have a bit more choice.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony and big wooden beds are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaZ309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Now, please remember this hotel is a boutique hotel, so it is smaller than some of the rest, also do not expect feather down comforters, marble bathrooms or anything you'd see at a Hyatt. With that said, the hotel is excellent! The hotel was very nicely decorated with wood, trees and flowers throughout. The hotel was clean, quiet, friendly and convenient.
Our family of four recently stayed in the Family room, which provided 2 large single beds and 1 large double/queen bed. The beds were pretty firm and the pillows were nice and plush, but after a long day out, they were more than adequate. The room was large enough for the kids (ages 2 and 7) to move around nicely. There is a small safe and refrigerator in the room and two closets. The bathroom was okay with all the necessities like soap, shampoo, towels, toothbrushes and hairdryer on request. Despite the lushness of vegetation and humidity, I only saw one bug in our room the whole week! Very clean hotel. Overall the rooms were very clean and always serviced promptly when we left for the day.
The staff, whether it was the front desk, housekeeping, tuk tuk drivers, waiters or manager, were all outstanding and more than helpful with our hundreds of questions. They helped us plan side tours, find shops and different restaurants to eat in town.
The pool was a nice size with a waterfall feature and great for our kids to swim during the late afternoons. Usually, there was never more than a couple other people at the pool (if any). If needed you could have drinks or food delivered to the pool.
Despite what others say about the restaurant, it is very good. We ate at the restaurant everyday for breakfast, in which they have all the western style breakfast items such as eggs, bacon, pancakes, french toast, coffee, juice etc. Now for lunch and dinner, I had one meal I did not like very much, but that was just me personally, but my wife liked it. All the meals are presented nicely and the chef does an awesome job with freshness and presentation. All meals are priced from about $4-6 each. Drinks were $0.75 to $1.50, depending on what you got, like water, coke or beer. I highly recommend the Yellow Curry and Lok Lak. I even went to the kitchen to watch the chef in action, which was than great. Others complain about dirt of flies, yes that is somewhat true, simply because the restaurant is outside with fans, so it can be expected.
The two tuk tuk drivers we had were Chou and Sonar (probably misspelled) and were more than helpful and even told us about things we saw to help us understand. They patiently waited on us everyday and were so friendly!
As for tours, definitely go to Tonle Sap and visit the Floating Village. Also, if you can visit the tour company Beyond Escape, do it! With "Husk For Communities Organization", They provide non-profit tours to villages to help out the communities and see how they live their simple Cambodian lives. It provides for a unique experience outside of the temple tours.
Overall, the hotel was most excellent and we highly recommend to others. What makes the hotel awesome is how quite it was, the cleanliness and how the staff would go out of their way to help. If you have kids, this hotel is more than great for accommodations. We would definitely stay here again! Thank you Shining Angkor for a great trip!

Room Tip: If you have kids, book the family room for only a few dollars more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Shining Angkor boutique (Sab) is a four story building with with stunning handcrafted woodwork filling it. Any one piece alone would be stunning yet this hotel contains hundreds! The staff are very helpful and knowledgeably about the area. The location in my opinion is prime as it is half way between town and Angkor wat, and the hotel provides a free tuk tuk ride each day. The restaurant food is ok so I would advis e that u eat your breakfast an then eat elswhere for everything else. All in all a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Pros:
- Large, clean rooms
- Location is only minutes from downtown and temples
- Quiet hotel
- Breakfast included
- Very nice, helpful, and approachable staff
- Great pool, perfect for hot weather and after long day of sight-seeing!

Cons:
- Hot water runs out quickly
- Had brown out each night we were there (they resolved them quickly though)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipablo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The rooms could be cleaner, I had lizard droppings in my room. But overall cleanliness is still acceptable. My stay was in November, 4 days. Staff are friendly, making it feel hospitable. Breakfast area has limited tables but it's all cozy. It can be a little dirty with flies flying around, but breakfast was good. The hotel tuk tuk transfer service is prompt, our flight was delayed but the driver waited for 2 hours for us. They have free tuk tuk service to bring you to town from 7am - 7pm. Good location between the city and Angkor Wat and other temples. Bicycles can be rented at $2 for house guests.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorytown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three day stay at the Shining Angkor. The majority of the staff spoke English, which made it easier for us. The decor of the hotel is beautiful and the furniture is stunning. I coveted every piece of furniture for my own home, which is unusual for hotel furniture. Our room was most comfortable; would you believe not two, not four but SIX pillows! There were bath robes and a nicely stocked bathroom with face clothes and hand towels plus bath towels and robes and slippers. Kettle and tea plus fresh fruit in room. We had a balcony room with two comfortable lounge chairs. The hotel is a little out of the main town but free tuktuk service provided. I would recommend you go to their web site and get a promotion deal which can include a car and driver, etc. The manager and staff did their utmost to make sure we enjoyed ourself and the tour guide they arranged, Ten Lyping, was fantastic.
If we return to Cambodia I would certainly want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Silk D' Angkor Residence
Silk D' Angkor Residence
#160 of 354 in Siem Reap
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#155 of 354 in Siem Reap
39 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#147 of 354 in Siem Reap
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#156 of 354 in Siem Reap
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#63 of 354 in Siem Reap
644 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
#140 of 354 in Siem Reap
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Property: Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Address: 560, Group One | Kok Chok Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 354 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shining Angkor Boutique HotelJust as the name implies, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel indeed shines as the new boutique hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It is a 21 rooms classy, traditional yet contemporary hotel nestled in a very quiet residential district midway to the famous Angkor Wat temple and the City Center of Siem Reap. Located in Siem Reap, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute motorbike ride from Angkor Wat. It has an outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and offers a free one way shuttle service to the city centre daily.Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is 1.6 km from the Angkor National Museum and 2 km from Angkor Shopping Centre. Free pick-up services are provided from Siem Reap International Airport.Traditional Cambodian décor and hardwood furnishings feature throughout the non-smoking guestrooms at this Siem Reap Boutique Hotel. Each offers views of the greenery, and is fitted with a TV with cable channels. Guests can enjoy a body massage, or rent a bicycle to explore the area. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel provides car rental services and free parking. Travel arrangements can be made at the tour desk. The restaurant serves a fine selection of local and European dishes. Outdoor dining options are also available.Clean and spacious with Khmer-style decor...All rooms are clean and spacious and include high quality cotton duvets and feather pillows, complimentary wireless Internet access, bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and bathroom accessories. The decor is traditional Khmer style with contemporary elements and elegant accents. The management and staff at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel also strive to offer it's guests immaculate service to make every stay at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing