We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy boutique hotel with 5 stars hotel service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #194 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I and my girl friend stayed in this cosy and homely feel boutique hotel on 27-29 March 2012. Upon our arrival at the airport in the sunny hot afternoon, we were recieved by a very friendly driver, name Py. His friendly attitute, plus the warm and sincere smile gave me a very good first impression that the Cambodians are warm friendly people. Our enjoyable plus memorable short holiday in Cambodia start from this moment. We were driven to the hotel by a tuk tuk which I initially thought we might be having a hell ride like in one of the neighbouring country. To my surprise, Py is a cautious and patience driver. In our next 2 days in Siam Reap, our journey from point to point were in his safe hands. Big applause to Py, well done!!!

Just as the name implies, we reached Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel which was indeed a shining new boutique hotel in Siem Reap. Its a lovely villa with a quiet atmosphere. Once again, we were warmly welcome by the hotel staffs, start from the security guard at the entrance, some other staffs along the way to the entrance, right to the staffs at the front desk. Everyone was so friendly and their warm welcome made us feel at home.

The front desk staff gave us a simple but message clear briefing on where are the places we should visit, plus all the relevant infomations. He also helped us on the next 2 days travel arrangements, fixing up the early (5am) transportations pick up as me and my beloved girl friend would want to watch the beautiful sunrise at Angkor Wat. We were very pleased and satisfied with all the places we visited and arrangements he made for us, everything were well executed.

First thing caught my attention the moment the room door was opened, was the Jasmine fragrance smell. I love that. The room was classy, big, airy and lofty, traditional, with a large strong wooden carved bed and a balcony. It is also fitted with a TV with cable channels.

We had breakfast at their restaurant twice, which was delicious and very much enjoyable. Great service from their F&B staff, whom as usual, always with a gentle and sweet smile.

Throughout my stay, all the staffs did everything to make us feel at home. Everybody were friendly and helpful.The only regret was we were unable to stay longer as we need to visit another place/country, The City Of Romance, Dalat City, Vietnam.

In Shining Boutique Hotel, you will never be lack of high standard service and warm friendly smile. Its a boutique hotel but with 5 stars hotel service. Thumbs up for the management and all the staffs, well done!!!

HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!

Do not hesitate to contact me at naviblue1@hotmail.com shall anyone need any clarification/enquiries.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 7, partly facing the main road. If you prefer a much quieter room, perhaps you shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank naviblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannak, Manager at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thank you for your time to write your value recommendation on tripadvisor about our services and staffs. we are happy to see your recommendation and promise to work harder to offer best service to you and our future customers. I and my teams thank you and hope you will come back visit Siem Reap again one day. On behalf of our team, i wish you have a good luck and success in life

Best Regards,
Vannak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 369 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

I booked the package 3 nights with Tuk Tuk and one Khymer dinner and one hour Khymer massage (at the Hotel) and Buffet Dinner (excellent) and Apsara Dancing Show and was very pleased. Instead of taking the Tuk Tuk to the town the driver took me again to the tempels (I had asked for it after I made the booking) - at no extra costs (small and large circuit). It is convient located to visit the temples and if have no wish to go out at night (because you would have to take a Tuk Tuk to town (always available).
Yolande (59), Switzerland

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Yolande B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Our quiet room at the hotel had the usual size with a large wooden carved bed. The staff is friendly and helpful. Due to our schedule we only had breakfast at their restaurant once, which was delicious. It was closed for lunch on another day.

The hotel has a lot of beautiful wood furniture, which is amazing to look at but it can be a bit overwhelming to see it everywhere. They were repairing their swimming pool so we could not use it but it looks new now.

The hotel offers a tuk tuk service to downtown. It takes about 5 to 7 minutes. Please make sure you know where you want to go. We had a bad experience that we wanted to go to another hotel (only 5 minutes away from the hotel) but the tuk tuk driver drove us to a very different hotel towards the airport (which is the opposite direction). At the end the detour took us over 45 minutes and we were very frustrated. A day later the same tuk tuk driver dropped us at a restaurant of our choice without a problem. I hope our bad experience was a single incident.

We choose the hotel because it was between down town and Angkor Wat and it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFOMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have been in the hotel for six weeks and the stuff did everything to make me feel home. My room got cleaned every day and everybody were friendly and helpful. It is good situated to visit Angkor Wat espacaly if you like to go there for the sunrise or sunset, because it is just a short ride. You get bicycle for fri.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Anja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannak, General Manager at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thank you for your help to drop your value recommendation on tripadvisor about our services and staffs. we are happy to see your recommendation and promise to work harder to offer best service to you and our future customers. I and my teams thank you and hope you will come back visit Siem Reap again one day. On behalf of our team, i wish you have a good luck and success in life

Best Regards,
Vannak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

It is a very beutifull building with charming hard wood interior. Very impressive entrance.

Nice, big, airy and lofty rooms.

However there are a few things that could be better.

After 8 hours bus travelling, it is annoying to be exposed to a hard sales pitch from the manager. He did not let us get a room or get our luggage there before he started the sales pitch. The tour-rates are the same all over the city. The guide was very poor. He spoke very poor english, but even worse, he did not know anything about the sites, and could not answer any of our questions - often he did not even understand them. So we can not see any reason to choose this hotels guide.

The location meens, you have to take a tuk-tuk everytime you have to go to the city. The hotel provide a free ride downtown once a day. It is annoying not to be able to walk to the city (it can be done, but it is very hot and takes ½ hours).

The pool is quite small and there is only 3 sunbeds. The coffee at breakfast is undrinkeable. There were no kettel in the room, allthough there should be. The error was corrected when we asked for a kettel.

More of a problem is the fact, that the AC is very small for the big rooms, and I cant see the room be really cool in the hot summer. The rooms are also very dark due to the hard wood furniture and lack of light. The hot-water tank only has hot water for one shower, so two people cant shower after each other, and it is impossible to fill the bathtub with hot water. There were no hot water in the wash basin.

Apart from the manager, the rest of the staff is very friendly and serviceminded, allthough their english is very limited. Beds are nice and two pillows to choose from. Real duvets and not just blankets.

For the price, the rooms are good (refrigerator, wifi and large beds), but location is a real drawback. Also, there is a lot of minor things, that they could do better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Very nice Hotel with super STAFF!!!!!!!!!!( Khim, "The Second"- driver, general manager and all staff very friendly ) Hotel situated in quiet district. Just 5 minut from the city centre. Khmer massage was Fabulous.Hotel with swiming pool -super relax. Transfer from and to the Airport was for free.
Me and my Wife realy thinking about next trip to Cambodia and we will back definitely to Angkor Shining.
Mariusz & Lilly

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MariuszSlupsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at 3 hotels during a 11-day tour at Siem Reap. The first one is too noisy and the second is too expensive. Finally, we settled at this hotel for the rest 6 days. Since it is near the entrance to angkor wat, every day, we rented two bikes to explore the area. It was great fun!
The hotel is very clean, everyone takes off one's shoes before entering the lobby. In the room, there is a straw sheet on the floor, and you can pick a pillow from various pillows on the bed and lie down on the sheet. It is cool. The best thing is, the room attendants seem to know whether you are in the room or not, and never bother when you are in, though there is no "no disturbing"sign. There is a small salty-water swimming pool in the yard. Under the hottest afternoon sun, the water is still cool.
Shortcomings:
The room is a little dark. Reading in bed is impossible.
Breakfast is not enough for me to eat. Maybe I've got a big stomach.
For those who want to eat and drink and stroll around the old market, the location is not ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank titikiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
#240 of 384 in Siem Reap
3 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo.
Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo.
#120 of 384 in Siem Reap
281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#152 of 384 in Siem Reap
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#181 of 384 in Siem Reap
136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#105 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#156 of 384 in Siem Reap
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Address: 560, Group One | Kok Chok Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $25 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shining Angkor Boutique HotelJust as the name implies, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel indeed shines as the new boutique hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It is a 21 rooms classy, traditional yet contemporary hotel nestled in a very quiet residential district midway to the famous Angkor Wat temple and the City Center of Siem Reap. Located in Siem Reap, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute motorbike ride from Angkor Wat. It has an outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and offers a free one way shuttle service to the city centre daily.Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is 1.6 km from the Angkor National Museum and 2 km from Angkor Shopping Centre. Free pick-up services are provided from Siem Reap International Airport.Traditional Cambodian décor and hardwood furnishings feature throughout the non-smoking guestrooms at this Siem Reap Boutique Hotel. Each offers views of the greenery, and is fitted with a TV with cable channels. Guests can enjoy a body massage, or rent a bicycle to explore the area. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel provides car rental services and free parking. Travel arrangements can be made at the tour desk. The restaurant serves a fine selection of local and European dishes. Outdoor dining options are also available.Clean and spacious with Khmer-style decor...All rooms are clean and spacious and include high quality cotton duvets and feather pillows, complimentary wireless Internet access, bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and bathroom accessories. The decor is traditional Khmer style with contemporary elements and elegant accents. The management and staff at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel also strive to offer it's guests immaculate service to make every stay at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing