We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
423
86
9
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
86
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ponheary ly foundation rooftop lounge restaurant guide dvds to borrow wat bo road tuk tuk dvd player pub street restaurant recommendations cambodian family laundry service clean rooms free water third floor common areas angkor temples perfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 521 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We were made to feel so at home at the Seven Candles by a family of wonderful and inspiring people

Thank you! It was you guys, as well as staying at such a lovely guest house, that made our stay in Siem Resp an absolute delight. Oh, and thanks for setting us up with a great guide and the best tuk tuk driver too!

Date of stay: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seventy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I stayed at Seven Candles Guesthouse for 10 days in October 2010. I previously stayed here in 2002 and visited in 2007. The guesthouse has expanded and remodeled since we were here in 2007 and greatly improved since 2002. I was traveling with my mother and we had separate rooms. We were there as volunteers with the Ponheary Ly Foundation and also as tourists.
The rooms are spacious and spotless, have A/C, small TVs with international cable, mini fridge, nice quality linens and beautiful hand woven silk kramas (Cambodian scarves) hanging on the wall. Rooms in the new wing have enclosed showers stalls in the bathrooms and the others have just an open shower in the bathroom. There’s wifi for a small fee.
There are thoughtful touches like a local favorite restaurant list, two free bottles of water per day, laundry service for $2 per kilo (just leave laundry in basket outside door before 7am and you‘ll have it back same day), comfortable common areas with computers (use your $5 access card), small library for guests, hot water pot in the room for coffee and tea. Our rooms in the back of the hotel were very quiet.
One caveat, this is a guesthouse, not a hotel. What does that mean? It means it’s important to have realistic expectations and know your limitations. There’s no soap and shampoo in the bathrooms, so bring your own. It’s not uncommon to see grasshoppers, geckos, and sometimes frogs in the hallways at night. Yes, there are bugs here, but this is Cambodia. There’s no pool (but I think they have an agreement with a local hotel where if you want you can use their pool for $4/day).
Finally, let’s not forget the good that is associated with this place, the Ponheary Ly Foundation and the Ly family (including all the adorable children) who live here in the house too. Of course, there’s no pressure to participate, it’s just a good place to stay and Ponheary, her brother Dara, and sister Marina are excellent licensed guides to the temples of Angkor. Room rates change with the season and availability (as with most guesthouses in Cambodia) so make sure to email and ask for the rate (in general a room is $10-$20 per night).
Finally there is a wonderful breakfast (about $2.50 per dish) served every morning. The eggs, pancakes from scratch, and Khmer noodles are all fantastic.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wired2theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I stayed in Seven Candles Guest House for a little over a week while volunteering with the Ponheary Ly Foundation (who manages the guest house) in January 2010, and I have already recommended it to others visiting Siem Reap. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable. Laundry service available for a small fee. You are also within walking distance, a short bike ride (bikes available for rent) or a quick tuk-tuk ride to all of the the Siem Reap tourists areas, including Pub Street and Old Market. Internet cafe down the street and a 15-20 minute tuk-tuk ride to Angkor Wat. Or, do what I did and take a self-guided bike tour of Angkor Wat and surrounding temples. The Seven Candles management makes you feel like part of the family, and will ensure that you are comfortable. Don't forget to ask how you can help the Foundation. Highly Recommended!

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WestCoastRestless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My 12 year old daughter, her friend and I spent 17 nights at Seven Candles In August of this year. It was our third visit to Siem Reap and our second stay at Seven Candles.

The Good:
Rooms are spacious and clean, with comfortable beds air conditioners that work well, hot and cold showers, TV and fridge.
Bed is comfortable.
Hot pot and coffee/tea service provided.
Common areas are also clean, and very welcoming and comfortable.
Computers for internet use and photo download if you didn't bring your own.

The Great:
The Ly family and Lori welcomed us warmly as one of the family.
The relaxed atmosphere that makes everyone feel at home.
The reasonable price.
The Ponheary Ly Foundation.

The immediate area has a variety of restaurants that serve good food at crazy cheap prices. We particularly liked Star Rise Cheese Sandwich and Home Cocktail. There is also a small and friendly market on the corner for food and drinks that you might want to keep in your room.

It is only a short tuk tuk ride to the Old Market/Pub Street area of town, yet it is away from the busy area so it feels relaxing.

Tours with Ponheary and Dara (Englisih) and Marina (French) can be easily arranged and are excellent.

Being involved in the Ponheary Ly Foundation work is a great way to give back, and if you get a chance to teach in the schools, you certainly learn right along with the children. Working with the PLF has changed the way my daughter and her friends view school, life and themselves. Invaluable experience.

Value for money at Seven Candles; absolutely.
Having stayed in all sorts of places, from the Peninsula hotels in Tokyo and Bangkok, to an unfinished room with well used bedding for a night on Naxos (Greece), and all types of places in between, I can honestly say that Seven Candles ranks in my top 3 stays ever, anywhere. The top stay cost 20 times more, and the number 2 place no longer exists (and also cost 5 times more).

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The room was spotless (and I am a clean freak), the service was outstanding and the people who work here are great- involved in the fabulous Ponheary Ly Foundation, doing amazing things for the poor schoolkids in local villages. I loved my room and slept as well or better than I sleep at home in this comfortable bed! Can't recommend it more- FANTASTIC!!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank terrycos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews