We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prohm Roth Guesthouse
Ranked #162 of 483 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

After being scammed at the Cambodian border, hassled by the taxi mafia, and hounded by street kids, coming to Prohm Roth Guesthouse was like a breath of fresh air. The staff are so friendly, helpful, and eager to please and our twin en-suite room was very comfortable and clean. We used one of the their tuk-tuk drivers, Seenin (spelling is probably wrong, sorry!), to get around Angkor Wat and he was a delight to have have along. Really sweet guy and a considerate driver (the best we had in our two month trip). It was wonderful having people we could trust be a part of our Siem Reap experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuixoticRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    64
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
75
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in a twin-bed fan room with en-suite, which was basic but very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and funny. We always enjoyed chatting with them and they gave us good advice regarding the Temples of Angkor.

We used their tuk-tuk driver for two days, which was very good value. The guesthouse is in a quiet location but very close to the main drag in Siem Reap.

Make sure you go to Blue Pumpkin just round the corner!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Macindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We (7 friends in our mid 20s) had a wonderful 3-night stay here at Prohm Roth Guesthouse recently. We were met at the airport by the guesthouse's tuktuk drivers on time, check-in was quick and all the arrangements made went on smoothly without any hitches.

The guesthouse is a short walk away from Pub Street and offers great value for money considering the rate included basic breakfast with coffee already..

But best of all, Meang, our host made the trip a lot easier and memorable for us, initially helping us hire a van and then connected us with a friend of his - a very knowledgeable guide (Long) who brought us around Angkor Wat, Ta Phrom, Angkor Thom, Pre Rup, Banteay Srei, Beang Mealea & Khampong Pluk - all in 2 days! He helped us surprise our friend who was celebrating her birthday on the 2nd night we were there. And finally, Meang also helped us secure bus tickets to Phnom Penh on very short notice..

Overall, Prohm Roth is a well-ran guesthouse in a great location that offers value for your money. Maybe its rooms/bathrooms need some improvement/repairs and it may not be the luxurious accommodation you are looking for, but who cares, its service that sets it apart from the rest..

/Ken (Feb 26-29, 2013)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spent 4 nights here, staff were very friendly and helpful, helped with travel arrangements, organising trips etc. Free computer use, nice breakfast and great location very short walk to pub street and night market. Room quite basic but bed clean and comfy and for the price a real bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepsiscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Best part is the location. 2 minute walk to Pub Street but is tucked away on a backstreet which keeps the noise levels down. The rooms were clean and basic, twin fan with private bathroom for only $9! Great Value!

We also booked a full day temple tour with Sennin (sp*) who works at the guesthouse. Very friendly and attentive to our needs. For $15 he took us out on his tuk tuk for the entire day. Half way through our camera battery died and we had to go all the way back..rookie mistake, but he didn't care. This was the best way to see the temples if only doing a 1 day pass.

We had a long talk with the owner one night who is a very interesting man. He has seen and learned a lot and looks after his staff like family (some actually are) he has very good intentions and expectations for his family and wants the best for them. Genuine guy.

One piece of caution, do NOT take the cheap night bus. We booked last minute through the guesthouse and only the cheap newer one was available. Only book if you have to and if you are shorter than 5'5"...

Room Tip: This is quite a bit of construction in the back, stay towards the front if you have the option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chadilac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Oh dear horrible experience, we stay there and book in hotelworld. When we get there we realize that people have the choose to have breakfast or not, but for us it was included and we was forced...that can be ok but when you are not taking breakfast cause you are going early and you have to pay it you start to feel a bit not happy. The staff was ok but the leader brother seems to take all decision for everyone and he speaks to his customer like if you are a child, i HATE THE WAY HE TREATED US. I will never go there or recommend this place because of him.

Concerning the room its ok but you can find quiet the same room half price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alexandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at Prohm Roth Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you truly for your time spent in writing the review after your stay with us. How do you define 'rude' in a proper sense when you kept asking us about the room prices so many times. We wished you would understand about our basic AC rate from $13/night for single occupant without breakfast. You booked a double room with AC $17/night with breakfast for 2 people. My brother deducted some amount when you didn't take breakfast those mornings.. How hard it was for you to NOT understand the matter and even come to complain here after debating with my brothers? We're not saying that you were sent by our competitors to mess our reputation. Our guests should be happy when we did not raise room rates during the super busy season..You and your husband/partner were one the recipients and our great guests..
All the best to you Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent a few nights here with Meang and his family end of December last year.

Location: right next to pub street, but, far enough away that you can't hear or see any of it. The location could not be better.

Prices: absolute bargain

Staff: all very friendly and helpful

Extras: we used tuk tuks provided by the guesthouse. The drivers were excellent. The price was very competitive and with no need to negotiate or haggle which made life a lot easier. We only had time to do 3 days at the temples so didn't see any of the other core attractions but they can arrange anything you need.

Room: we ended up a room with two double beds, air con and ensuite. Everything was clean. beds were comfortable. Ensuite was very basic, but at the price absolutely fine.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PorthosLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#98 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#161 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#175 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor Breeze
Angkor Breeze
#62 of 483 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Soksan Square
The Villa Soksan Square
#60 of 483 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prohm Roth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prohm Roth Guesthouse

Property: Prohm Roth Guesthouse
Address: #251 Pub Street Extension, Old Market Area | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 0063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 483 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prohm Roth Guesthouse & Tours gives you the real "Local Flavor" that you craved for! It has large & clean rooms with double/twin/triple/quad all with private en-suite, hot shower, fan, air-con & windows. It offers a very distinctive & dedicated guest services by Meang and his brothers & cousins! They honor every guests, respect their privacy and honesty is their prime policy. It's the taste of a local family, good quality-run guesthouse located on Pub Street, Old Market Area, 50 meters from scenic Siem Reap river, in Siem Reap City! Very peaceful, safe & great sleep at night is strongly guaranteed. Please contact us for accommodation and tours! We have a good, responsible & reliable team of drivers and guides for your tours need! Great appreciation to those who had stayed with us in the past years and those who are on their way! "Patronize local business helps local economy" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prohm Roth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prohm Roth Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing