We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prohm Roth Guesthouse
Ranked #178 of 529 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent a few nights here with Meang and his family end of December last year.

Location: right next to pub street, but, far enough away that you can't hear or see any of it. The location could not be better.

Prices: absolute bargain

Staff: all very friendly and helpful

Extras: we used tuk tuks provided by the guesthouse. The drivers were excellent. The price was very competitive and with no need to negotiate or haggle which made life a lot easier. We only had time to do 3 days at the temples so didn't see any of the other core attractions but they can arrange anything you need.

Room: we ended up a room with two double beds, air con and ensuite. Everything was clean. beds were comfortable. Ensuite was very basic, but at the price absolutely fine.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PorthosLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 225 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Run by family members, very accommodating, walking distance to a variety of dining, Tuk Tuks available at the guesthouse to take you where you want to go, tours can be arranged, breakfast was included..... just a great place to stay, so friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCM81328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our 2nd hotel out of 3 during our 8 day stay in Siem Reap. We decided to stay here given the great reviews on TA. The rooms were good and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was also good. Wifi worked well and location was very convenient. The other guys at the hotel were very nice.

Only disappointment was the manager himself. We had a reservation before getting there but he made us feel that the couple that had walked in without a reservation before us would have the first choice. Luckily, the situation was avoided and we got the room. He was nice sometimes but most times he made us feel that he was doing us a favor when we asked for any information or wanted to extend our stay - to the point that we just decided to not extend our trip and we found a much better place at an excellent price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abhimanyu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at Prohm Roth Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Happy New Year everyone!
First of all, we'd like to apologize to the guests for such a feeling when you entered our place early morning. Just imagine of booking a room a few hours before arriving is not always good in such a peak season. We're very busy & didn't get to block rooms availability that night; luckily we had a room open for them for 3 days as booked. If our guests were not happy with us, why did they ask for extension of stay? This happens a lot. How could I adjust any room for them if they told me a night before. This is the case. So they had to move to another place. We're always happy to accommodate everyone, no discrimination. Yes, we can't please everyone if they don't understand our situation & position. We wished we had bigger place for you all. Cheers, it's 2013 now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had stayed in Prohm Roth Guesthouse just 3 days ago for 2 nights. I won't go around saying things like 'this is the best guesthouse I've ever stayed in', since my impression had always been that guesthouses are more personal and cozy compared to hotels, and Cambodians are really nice people in general.

What I can say is the Meang was a very good host. He helped make arrangements for our Angkor Wat tour in advance, and the guide Sim Sopheaktra (who is sadly not on Tripadvisor, though you can Google him out) was really fantastic. Being a local himself, his recommendations were great, and talking to him was an enjoyable way to learn more about the city and its culture. Meang shared with us that he does not believe in price discrimination based on the tourist season (i.e. his prices are constant throughout the year), and at US$8 per person per night at such wonderful location I've got to admit that we've got a really good deal indeed.

What is arguably the strongest point of the place is the location. Admittedly, the guesthouse is located in a quiet street, but it was lit and felt perfectly safe. It's hard to believe that it is a mere 2-3 minutes walk from the every busy Pub Street. Call me complacent, but it feels really good when tuk tuk touts ask you if you want a ride all the time, and get surprised when you tell them you are walking. :)

Only minor complaint I have is that the blanket is a bit too thin, and don't expect the bathroom to be a posh-looking one. However, the critical point is that hot water was consistent, so if you are a no-frill type of person this place is definitely good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starfrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at Prohm Roth Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Happy New Year!
Again, just another pile of sincere appreciation to you our guests for your encouragement and recommendation. We know our services are still average and limited due to some circumstances but we plan to do a face-lift of our property and make this place a more pleasant so everyone get to enjoy more later this year.
We have nothing to give back to you for your kind support and inspiring words beside making our team aware that we need to work harder each day so rewards will follow us.
Thank you so much also for granting jobs for our tuk tuk driver and guides. We're very glad that your trip was fruitful & memorable! Your trustworthiness in us gives us so much joy to live by each day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had a blast staying here, and during my 6 night stay it did feel a bit like coming home every day after seeing Angkor. Meang, the owner, is extremely helpful and the staff are all very friendly. Breakfast was included in my room price, and they did my laundry for me every day. The nights were quiet, despite being only a 2 minute walk from Pub Street.

I even left a few things with their laundry service and Meang has been very helpful in trying to get them back to me. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C1211M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After slightly rough start in Cambodia, this guesthouse restored my belief in Cambodians :)

The staff was friendly and really helpful, English was not a problem (and won't be if you are reading this 20 years from now - the very young generation was studying English every day :)).

I'd rate them the best I have seen in my two months in Thailand and Cambodia. Location is great, it is hard to ask more from the rooms in the price range, and the staff can help you with everything you need during your visit there and beyond.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iseppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at Prohm Roth Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

There is always a big bunch of 'grateful hearts' for every time a guest or more are accommodated and served at Prohm Roth. We are the bunch of young boys and girls who lean on your special patronage. And your precious presence is our greatest inspiration. We owed so much to someone like you and to thousand others for the good words and kind hearts. We'd to wish everyone with great year end and start 2013 with brighter & stronger speed!

Meang and band of brothers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Located about 50 m from pub street, this is a wonderful guesthouse to stay in. It is affordable, with clean, convenient rooms and extremely friendly staff. The service is pretty great. The staff made all the arrangements for us, from helping us get laundry done, making travel arrangements and even helping us make food for my baby. Would definitely recommend staying here.

PS: ignore the pool rating. I accidentally clicked on rating and had no way of removing it. This place does not have a pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SreeramRamamoorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#11 of 384 in Siem Reap
2,308 reviews
0 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#4 of 384 in Siem Reap
954 reviews
0 mi away
Minea D' Angkor Boutique
Minea D' Angkor Boutique
#2 of 4 in Svay Dangkum
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#105 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,461 reviews
0 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#37 of 384 in Siem Reap
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prohm Roth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prohm Roth Guesthouse

Address: #251 Pub Street Extension, Old Market Area | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 0063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 529 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $9 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prohm Roth Guesthouse & Tours gives you the real "Local Flavor" that you craved for! It has large & clean rooms with double/twin/triple/quad all with private en-suite, hot shower, fan, air-con & windows. It offers a very distinctive & dedicated guest services by Meang and his brothers & cousins! They honor every guests, respect their privacy and honesty is their prime policy. It's the taste of a local family, good quality-run guesthouse located on Pub Street, Old Market Area, 50 meters from scenic Siem Reap river, in Siem Reap City! Very peaceful, safe & great sleep at night is strongly guaranteed. Please contact us for accommodation and tours! We have a good, responsible & reliable team of drivers and guides for your tours need! Great appreciation to those who had stayed with us in the past years and those who are on their way! "Patronize local business helps local economy" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prohm Roth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prohm Roth Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing