We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Value in Siem Reap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prohm Roth Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prohm Roth Guesthouse
Ranked #126 of 480 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Value in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Booked Prom Roth via email a couple of days before flying in to Siem Reap. They were very helpful, including picking us up (family of five) from the airport at 8:00 am, then organising a van and guide for the day. Prices were very reasonable. Staff at Prom Roth were so helpful. I recommend this Guesthouse for families wanting to spend their money on food and experiences rather than accommodation that they will be too bust to spend much time in. The rooms were fine, AC with ensuite. Just not fancy. It's the helpful staff that makes the place special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at Prohm Roth Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Mr. Steve,

Warmest Khmer New Year's greetings from everyone at Prohm Roth. My family and I really thankful to you and your family for staying with us. We hoped that your 1 day, 1 night's trip in Siem Reap was worthwhile and memorable one! We thank you so much also for taking time to write this review for us. Every word from our guests mean as support and encouragement for us here and will remind us to improve ourselves also. We would like to wish you & your family with all the best, success, happiness & stay safe always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    64
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
75
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had 3 nights at Prohm Roth Guesthouse ad it was defenitely our best guesthouse in Cambodia!

Mr. Meang, the guesthouse owner, is very friendly and helpfull and he make you feel like at home. He speaks excellent english, and both he and his family work tirelessly to make your stay as good as it can be. The staff wake up early to get you breakfast to take to Angkor Wat for sunrise, they help you get good bikes for touring, they arrange cabs for long day tours with reasonable prices and drivers with good english skills.

The guesthouse is also very close to Pub Street but very quiet, clean and cheap (14 $ @ night for a double room with fan, own bathroom and cold water)

I will recomend it to everybody!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed at the Prohm Roth Guesthouse for 6 nights and it was wonderful. The location is perfect. Close to the action, but you don't have to hear all the action as it is set back a few blocks from Pub Street. Meang is super helpful! When I'd wake up in the morning I would be greeted with many "hellos" and "good mornings!" I love how chill this place is. So relaxing. Also, the SOFTEST bed I've had my entire month-long trip in SE Asia. So comfortable!

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights in Feb 2012. The guesthouse is in a great central location, easy walking distance from Old Market and Pub Street areas and just over the river from Wat Bo Road. The prices are better than any other I could find for such a central location. I had a twin fan room with en suite bathroom. The room was clean and spacious. I only stayed a couple of nights and had lived in Siem Reap for a few months previously as a volunteer so I didn't use any of the travel or tour services but the staff were always very friendly and polite. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Located across from Wat Prohm-Roth near pub street, but far enough from pub street that it is very quiet and peaceful.

Our room was large and very clean. The beds were comfortable, the AC was excellent, and the bathroom was nice.

The real reason to stay at Prohm-Roth is the service; Mr. Meang speaks excellent english, and both he and his entire (large) family work tirelessly to make your stay as good as it can be. He answers e-mails until 3am every day making and altering reservations- we changed our travel plans twice during our trip and he were able to accomodate us anyway. The staff wake up early to get you breakfast to take to Angkor Wat for sunrise, they help you get good bikes for touring, they arrange cabs for long day tours with reasonable prices and drivers with good english skills. They even match you up with other guests for longer, more expensive activities to cut costs on transport even though they're not getting a commission. And they do it all with a smile.

And even though the service is incredible, the prices are excellent. All told, our 5 night stay in Siem Reap with about 2 days worth of dawn to dusk tuk-tuk rides and miscellaneous other expenses (waters) cost $125. We were absolutely thrilled at the value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danibren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at Prohm Roth Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Dear guests,
We are at Prohm Roth Guesthouse really grateful to you for your kindest words after your stay with us. We know that we can't do everything for everyone but we all do our best to ensure that our guests are safe, stay in good and clean rooms. I have a big band of brothers & cousins helping me here while finishing their final year high school and attending 1st year college. I'm teaching these young boys the importance of family spirit and values of hard work. We are truly inspired and encouraged by your ever sweetest patronage. You're the main reason of our existence. Our family business has grown well through the turbulent years due to your tremendous support & kind understanding. We're looking forward to serving you more in the years to come!
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Phrom Roth Guesthouse is by far the best place I've stayed during my whole trip around South East Asia. It is situated in a quiet side street but still only 5 mins walk to the buzz of Pub Street and the markets. These are the things which make it so wonderful: The free bus station pickup, the free breakfast (great coffee and scrambled eggs!), spotlessly clean rooms, and the happy greetings everytime you enter the guesthouse :) There is also a lovely area to sit out the front and usually family members around which gives it a great homely atmosphere. The manager Meang is very honest, helpful and considerate when it comes to making sure you have the best possible stay. All round great value!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulricehamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Realy good hostel with very friendly and helpfull staff. Superb location, near to pub street. If you ask in reception about tours or busticket you get alot of help....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raxszeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at Prohm Roth Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear guests,
We never get to say it enough how much my bunch of brothers, cousins and uncles really GRATEFUL to you and thousand others for supporting our family enterprise. We know we're NOT perfect and need to improve our services more. We're just upgraded more rooms and look forward serving you more! We'll do our best to serve those on their way to Prohm Roth Guesthouse & The Prohm Roth Inn!
Blessings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#88 of 311 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
0.3 mi away
The Moon Villa
The Moon Villa
#62 of 253 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avie Moriya Villa
Avie Moriya Villa
#53 of 253 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor Breeze
Angkor Breeze
#63 of 480 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neth Socheata Hotel
Neth Socheata Hotel
#81 of 480 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prohm Roth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prohm Roth Guesthouse

Property: Prohm Roth Guesthouse
Address: #251 Pub Street Extension, Old Market Area | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 0063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 480 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Prohm Roth Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prohm Roth Guesthouse & Tours gives you the real "Local Flavor" that you craved for! It has large & clean rooms with double/twin/triple/quad all with private en-suite, hot shower, fan, air-con & windows. It offers a very distinctive & dedicated guest services by Meang and his brothers & cousins! They honor every guests, respect their privacy and honesty is their prime policy. It's the taste of a local family, good quality-run guesthouse located on Pub Street, Old Market Area, 50 meters from scenic Siem Reap river, in Siem Reap City! Very peaceful, safe & great sleep at night is strongly guaranteed. Please contact us for accommodation and tours! We have a good, responsible & reliable team of drivers and guides for your tours need! Great appreciation to those who had stayed with us in the past years and those who are on their way! "Patronize local business helps local economy" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Prohm Roth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prohm Roth Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing