We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The River Garden Siem Reap
Ranked #60 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Traveled with friends but my partner and I had a room to ourselves. We were pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded - we had a lovely room on second floor, very comfy bed, large terrace. We absolutely loved the food especially the local Khmer choices, so we ate lunch in the hotel during our 3-day trip! The free breakfast is simple but well thought of. The saltwater pool was lovely, such a great place to relax in before and/or after exploring the city. The staff was so so so friendly and helpful with their recommendations too. Location is out of the "busy" area of Siem Reap - for us this was an advantage, place felt exclusive and relaxed. Getting a tuktuk though is not that difficult, there are some waiting just outside the hotel during the day. But at night, you'll either have to wait a bit until a tuktuk passes by or walk to the main road (about 10 minutes). Definitely staying here again if I return to Siem Reap!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 310 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

The River Garden is a great boutique hotel. The hotel has just a few rooms spread out over the property with stone paths, lush plants, and tiny ponds. The restaurant serves an extensive menu of Khmer and Western food in the open air restaurant. The pool has plenty of chairs and sitting areas is a wonderful place to relax after a long day spent exploring. We enjoyed the Cooks in Tuk Tuks class, particularly the experience of being guided through the local market.

There are places in Siem Reap where you can stay for cheaper, and there are places where you can stay in greater luxury, but I can't imagine finding one that provides a better experience. Exploring the temples of Angkor in the Cambodian heat is exhausting, but having the River Garden and its beautiful setting to return to after each day was better than any other Siem Reap hotel experience I can envision.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We loved this hotel. It was small and personal. Great restaurant and a lovely pool surrounded by greenery. Our room was amazing (deluxe balcony) with a huge balcony where we could relax with a glass of wine.

Room Tip: We felt the balcony rooms were worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnmaur26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is lovely, the gardens are beautiful and there are little huts dotted all around the pool to relax in out of the sun. The pool is also amazing with waterfall and a pretty bridge. The staff are fantastic and are always there to help.
The food is a good mix of Khmer and Western. We visited many times during our month in Siem Reap and not one dish disappointed. They also offer cooking classes "cooks in tuk tuks" which are very popular although we did not get around to taking part. Definitely worth a visit even if you are not staying here.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Slightly bad start when the night porter asked us to pay up front when we arrived after a very long journey. However, things only improved. The room was lovely. This place has really thought through the little details, they had provided guide books in the rooms, drinking water (purified) for free which they constantly top up. There are really nice touches such as an early morning blessing by the monk in the restaurant. Their breakfasts (buffet style) were absolutely superb!! The homemade pumpkin bread is delicious. The animals; fish (which eat the mosquitoes, you are provided with some fish food in each room), ducks (which I fed at breakfast) and hens were a lovely touch. Their waiting staff were all fantastic, really smiley and helpful. We did a street food tour with Deborah the owner and really enjoyed our evening. Tuk tuks out front so no need to walk too far from your door. Absolutely recommend this place!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Travelgolightly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. I just had my second stay at River Garden and it continues to be a beautiful place to relax in Siem Reap.
The staff are wonderful , the food is fabulous and the garden and pool a relaxing place to while away the hot hours in the middle of the day.
My children and I were very sad to leave and will definitely stay there again. Thank you Debra and Graham!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Have visited this hotel three times and never tire of it. Situated in a quiet part of town, it is a real oasis and only a walk or bike ride from the centre of Siem Reap. The food is quite delicious, the staff helpful and very friendly and the owner's dogs quite delightful. The rooms are beautifully kept with artful decor and I can't think of any reason to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 with a balcony are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therivergarden, Owner at The River Garden Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thanks Sally, it's great to have return guests. Glad you like the company of Honey. We have one guest who stays regularly for 6 weeks and she even requests the dogs in her room for the length of her stay!
Your comments are appreciated and hopefully we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
Angkor Village Hotel
Angkor Village Hotel
#72 of 376 in Siem Reap
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#73 of 376 in Siem Reap
848 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#77 of 376 in Siem Reap
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#60 of 376 in Siem Reap
536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#19 of 520 in Siem Reap
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Garden Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Garden Siem Reap

Address: Wayism Road | Treang Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: $35 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The River Garden Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The River Garden Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing