We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful little hotel”
Review of The River Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The River Garden
Ranked #51 of 300 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Stayed here after it recently opened for a special price of $25 for a room. It was still under construction, so there was a little bit of construction noise. I think it will be nicer once they put in their pool and finish the landscaping. I think the normal prices are a little higher too.

The place was super clean and the restaurant was simple but quite nice. The place is run by an Australian couple and staffed by locals, who are all friendly and offer good service.

They arranged a great tuk tuk driver for me for the three days I spent there who was extremely friendly and courteous. They arranged for the driver to meet me at the airport with cold drinks and towels, which was a nice touch. They offered a number of other tour packages, which looked like pretty good deals.

The location is a little far from the central business district with restaurants and bars. However, it's only a ten minute ride for a dollar into town. Frankly, the town didn't seem to offer much other than noise and other tourists, so I found the quieter location farther out to be more pleasant.

Oh, and free wifi too.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank seshunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 310 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2007

We wanted a quiet clean and comfortable guest house to stay at during our visit and this is exactly what we found here. The River Garden was the right balance in Siem Reap.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room we stayed in was spacious and super clean. From our room we looked out to the garden which was lit up with candles during the evening. The restaurant served a yummy breakfast, delicious bread and tropical fruit.

The driver that they had assigned to us was friendly and safe, and we loved that he met us at the airport with a cold drink and cool face cloth before taking us to the guest house. He was also on the ball at all the temples and whenever we came out to find him he found us first, he was great.

This place made our stay comfortable and I would recommend it to our friends. The new pool will be a great addition.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank expat_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Madlen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Karine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank May11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank anne1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therivergarden, Owner at The River Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
1.8 mi away
Sala Lodges
Sala Lodges
#20 of 361 in Siem Reap
382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#66 of 361 in Siem Reap
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
FCC Angkor
FCC Angkor
#78 of 361 in Siem Reap
866 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#8 of 361 in Siem Reap
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#5 of 507 in Siem Reap
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Garden

Address: Wayism Road | Treang Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 300 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: $35 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The River Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing